We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bilmar Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bilmar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bilmar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Treasure Island
nb tx
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice but......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It is nice but not really worth the price. Bathroom is tiny. Rooms are small at best. But the biggest complaint is the distance from the water. Wow barely consider this on the beach. Booked expecting a beach front room only to get a room on the 4th floor facing the beach. Just not the same thing. Probably would chose a different place

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    347
    105
    35
    28
See reviews for
337
414
32
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The bilmar was a good place to stay. Right on the beach with two restaurants and two pools. There are bettter and worse places in the area. It is close to Johns Pass which is a good place to go. This is a good place for kids but the rooms are not great.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Clean resort with LOTS of young people vacationing with families during March/Spring Break. There is a rooftop patio for teenagers to congregate, play pingpong, and hang out together. Two pools and a lovely beach. Beautiful new Dolphin Path is a .85 mile/1.36 km concrete walkway beachside where you can run, walk, bike, rollerblade, etc. On-site Bazzie restaurant has decent food and prices. Rooms clean and well serviced daily. Efficiency small (no oven, no dishwasher, full refrigerator) so I recommend paper plates and microwavable choices for meals in the room. Walking distance to Publix, Walgreens, McDonalds, and good restaurants. Negatives - two weddings on a Saturday night that we were not told about....music and noise went on and on right outside the room.

Room Tip: Stay gulf side to have a view of the beach. Larger efficiency rooms on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a great stay at Bilmar. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Marty at Bazzies went over the top to make sure we had a great time. We had an awesome view of the beach. They have two pool areas, one on the beach and more open, and one was protected from the wind. The room was clean and updated nicely. Very close to Johns Pass and other activities. We went to the family movie night under the stars and really enjoyed it.
It was almost perfect, here are some things to know: Sloppy Joes food is very mediocre (Bazzies breakfast was outstanding). On Friday night, you can hear the music and traffic from the surrounding bars in your room. The beach is not white powder. Mix of shells and sand, not horrible, but not perfect.

Room Tip: The views of the beach are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here in Feb 2013 for 3 nights as part of a trip round the USA. Selected this hotel as it was described to be relaxing, on the beach and the room had a balcony. It is on the beach but the other statements are incorrect. On initial check in i mentioned the balcony but the member of staff told me the room i was booked into did not have a balcony, i questioned this and asked for an upgrade as it was our honeymoon but was told that he couldnt change the room. We were dissapointed to find we had sliding doors looking onto the beach but other hotel guests were sitting right outside our room. The first morning we were woken by noisy staff at 6 am, shouting to each other outside our room door. At 9 am the same morning the fire alarm testing went on for over an hour and at 10 am the housekeeping hammered at our door. My husband said i was in the bathroom having a shower and housekeeping seemed annoyed that they could not come in to the room. We were woken the next 2 mornings at 7 am by staff sweeping at our door and talking to each other or moving trollys past our door which sounded like a train going past. The room was dated and the floor was filthy, we had to wear flip flops everywhere other wise our feet would be black with dirt. We had a kitchen in our room but there was not any dishes or cutlery to use, we asked a member of staff to fetch us a couple of forks and she had to come into our room to check as she couldnt beleive we did not have any cutlery or dishes, she said there should be a cupboard full of items for use in the kitchen but we did not have this cupboard. The shower was also very awkward to use due to the seat for elderly or disabled as when folded up it limited the size of the shower. The hotel was not full so we could have been moved to a different room. We were glad to leave here and it spolied part of our honeymoon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear AJN,

Please accept my apologies that your experience at the Bilmar did not meet your expectations during your recent visit. The noise issues you described early morning have been reviewed with the housekeeping and maintenance team to avoid this for our guests in the future. Because the housekeeping team does not start until 8:30am I have to assume night security or another team member had to clean something up prior to the housekeeping staff arrival. From the research I can find it appears your reservation was made through Orbitz for a Pool Side Efficiency which is an oversized Efficiency but not located with a beach view or balcony. In an effort to meet your needs the desk agent moved your room to a Gulf Front King Studio with a first floor patio and direct beach access ( other than the private patios the remainder of the beach behind the resort are available for guest use). This king bedded studio offers a microwave, refrigerator and wet bar sink but is not designed to supply the dishes and flat ware found in the kitchenettes provided in Deluxe Studios and Efficiencies. The room right next to your studio has a kitchenette which may have confused the housekeeping staff that tried to assist with cutlery. I wish we could have offered further alternatives but the resort was near sold out status over the mid February dates you visited us. I also apologize if the state required fire alarm tests disturbed your stay. All tests were conducted after 10am to minimize any inconvenience but I agree these unexpected sporadic tests were less than welcome while guests were lounging by the pool. The entire Bilmar Team strives to deliver an outstanding guest experience and we value the feedback of our valued guests to improve on this goal. I welcome the opportunity to regain your confidence in our facility and services on your next trip to the Tampa Bay Beaches area. Please let me know if I can assist with any future visits to the Bilmar Beach Resort.
Sincerely, Clyde Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Right near the beach. Good location for my family. My son loved being so near the beach and just about everything. The staff was quite nice. The room was nice and clean, well kept and neat. Staff everywhere were polite. We had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at the Bilmar in September for 2 night during our wedding. The hotel has recently due a big renovation and looks wonderful for its age. The rooms were great and the property was well kept. The pool were nice but a little small. Lots og great things to do in the area and a beach bar and Sloppy Joes on property, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilmar Beach Resort

Address: 10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#10 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bilmar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bilmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilmar Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Bilmar Beach Treasure Island
Bilmar Hotel
Bilmar Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilmar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.