We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilmar Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bilmar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bilmar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Treasure Island
london
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We have just stayed at Bilmar for 5 nights and had a lovely stay. There are 2 pools, 2restaurants brazzies and sloppy joes. We had breakfast at Bazzies which was very nice and there is live music here at sunset so you can relax watching the sunset over the sea. We had a sea view room with balcony which was great. Very clean, good sized rooms comfy beds. We had a balcony overlooking the beach which was lovely to be able to sit outside in the evening. These rooms also had a mini kitchen which was also very handy. Staff were really helpful especially Heather on reception who always made us feel welcome and nothing was ever too much. She also gave us the time to give us good directions to busch gardens. Heather is very good at her job and genuine in her interactions. If I was to return to TI I would definitely stay here again. It is not your 5* hotel but the best location an the best TI has for comfort, cleanliness and location

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    347
    105
    35
    28
See reviews for
338
414
32
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

For this vacation, we were going to do the "Disney" thing again. Instead, we agreed to break it up and spend 4 nights on the Gulf. White sands, beautiful sunsets. Quiet and relaxing. Scenic views. What more could you ask for?

Prior to our trip, we read all the reviews and thought the Bilmar would be a great place to stay.

Get to hotel. Our check-in goes smoothly. Now, needed to move vehicle to park near our room. Oops, need to back up and go the wrong way in driveway. No double lane to pull around and 3-4 vehicles blocked the one lane. Better get a parking spot so we don't have to use the lot across the street.

Go to room in South Hi-rise. 3rd floor. Elevator is slow. Get to room at end of corridor. Open door and all of our good feelings are gone. Scenic view? Not when your room overlooks the roof of the restaurant and their rooftop A/C units. We asked for another room, but "everything is booked".

Bathroom is EXTREMELY small. Room A/C unit is LOUD. Bathroom fan is LOUD and has a nasty buildup of dirt and dust on it. Room smells musty and is old and tired.

After going to Gulf, we used the south pool. Pool was very nice, but it had so much chlorine in it, I truly thought it was filled with salt water.

Went to dinner at Sloppy Joes. EXCELLENT for both service and food.

Now we head back to room with our kids (8 & 12). The "quaint" music from the bar across the street is now louder and intrusive. Combine that with a loud ice machine right outside our door and we were doomed (Remember our A/C unit? We do since we heard it all night).

Finally fall asleep only to be noisely woken up before 8am by the dumpsters being emptied outside in front of our door.

IF, the doors and front walls were better sound barriers, we could have tolerated it. But, with 3 more nights to come, we checked out and went back to Orlando.

PLEASE NOTE:
IF, you are a young couple or single, and want the nightlife, then the Bilmar is for you.

IF, you are a family, then I suggest staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept my apologies for your disappointment during your recent stay at our resort. I am sorry your room location detracted from your enjoyment of your beach getaway. While most of our rooms offer a fantastic gulf front view we do, like most hotels and resorts have some locations that are less desirable due to the restaurant on the 1st floor. We try to use these as infrequently as possible but during sold out days try to accommodate everyone in the room type they reserved. I don’t know if the front desk was made aware of the noise from the fan or AC but I am having both checked and corrected as necessary. We have also checked our pool records which are maintained twice daily and do not see any day the chlorine was out of an acceptable range. As your research indicated we are known for being a family friendly resort with many families returning annually for their Bilmar vacation. 183 of our 598 traveler reviews are from families and we are proud 81% of those rated us Very Good or Excellent. I regret we could not address your concerns during your visit and would welcome a chance to regain your confidence if your travels bring you back to the Tampa Bay area in the future. Sincerely, Clyde Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was the perfect place for a getaway stay. Great room price and service and best location on beach on TI. I live only 20 minutes away do I knew the best place to stay and I was completely satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My work takes me to all parts of the world and mostly I stay at one of the 5 star chain hotels. This time for my vacation also I very nearly booked myself in one of them but wanted a propoerty right on the beach for my little one to enjoy playing in the sand..... And thoroughly enjoyed staying here!! It has a relaxed and unsophisticated environment which is great for a beach vacation. Sloppy Joes was great as we ended up going there for dinner or lunch everyday. But the most remarkable part of Bilmar experience is the friendly staff who are always reday to help you and make your stay comfortable. the moment we met Shauna at the reception, we knew from her warm and friendly behaviour that we are in the right place!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a group of four adults stay at the Bilmar Beach Resort in October for a quick stress relief vacation. We arrived at 1 pm and tried to check in but our rooms would not be ready until the official check in time of 4 pm. We asked if they had a secure room where we could leave our luggage, or a room available where people who arrived before check in time could change into beach wear like many other beachside hotels/resorts have but they did not have either of those available. We left our luggage in the car and changed in a bathroom that was close to the front desk.

We stayed at the pool which has a bar right behind it with well made cocktails and food is available for purchase. We were called just before four for our rooms and checked in. The rooms were efficiencies with a full kitchen and bedding that was as we expected for a resort hotel, nothing special but certainly not low quality. The bathroom was nice with a changing/makeup room attached to it with a door divider. We had no complaints at all about the room or the hotel itself.. A changing room, and an area to leave luggage securely would have been a nice extra.The staff was very helpful and friendly to us. Checkout was quick and painless with no wait. I would definately stay at the Bilmar again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansonia, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hi sorry for the delay but just wanted to echo the words of my buddy Mary Ann.. Was also here for the Republican Convention and couldnt wait to get to see the Bilmar. And I was thrilled.. First Coty met us when we drove up...was very helpful all week long...he would anticipate you needing something before you had to ask. The front desk folks were all awesome...If you needed anything they either got it for you or told you where you could find it..My room was so comfy...Could have spent more time there and it was so great waking up to the sound of the ocean (yes even the hurricane was ok). Bazzies food was yummy.and so was Sloppy Joes... Just as good as its sister in Key West...After that week of food, was surprised that my plane got up into the air...HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend the Bilmar for a vacation, business hotel on the beach, just about anything..and the staff couldn't have been more gracious... Cant wait to come back..

Room Tip: The first floor near the parking lot and close to the main lobby was just great..Sunday night was bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Have you been to this part of Florida before? If so, you'll understand that there is a RANGE of places to stay on or near the beach. There are many old and dated hotels and motels and there are some higher end places too (although Treasure Island itself has fewer higher end properties.) If ON the beach is what you want, the Bilmar is your best bet. Beautiful views from your balcony, clean rooms and facilities and excellent customer service. Be careful, however, as much as I liked the Bilmar, it is not a luxury property. If the Four Season's or the Ritz is your usual choice, don't choose the Bilmar, you'll be disappointed. But other than that, I was impressed with the friendliness of the staff and the attention to detail the management embodied. In particular, I encourage you to meet the General Manager, Clyde Smith. Mr. Smith is everything a hotel guest hopes for in a manager. He is available. He listens. He makes decisions. Many times I have met managers who appear to use a policy manual instead of their brain. In summary, the Bilmar is a cost effective choice for couples, families and families with young children. You'll get clean rooms, pools, easy access to restaurants, a HUGE beach and evolved management. Try it. You'll like it.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear St. Louis Traveler,

Thank you for sharing your observations with your fellow travelers. I sincerely appreciate your generous comments about my commitment to hospitality and guest service. I assure you and other travelers that the entire Team shares this commitment and will always strive to exceed our guest’s expectations. We look forward to your return. Best Regards, Clyde Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilmar Beach Resort

Address: 10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#10 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bilmar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bilmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilmar Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Bilmar Beach Treasure Island
Bilmar Hotel
Bilmar Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilmar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.