We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bilmar Beach Resort - Great Laid Back Place to Chill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bilmar Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bilmar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bilmar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, Indiana
Level Contributor
185 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“Bilmar Beach Resort - Great Laid Back Place to Chill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We recently stayed a couple nights at the Bilmar on the way back home. This is a fantastic facility. Every luxury is provided onsite. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They really try to make your stay special.
We had a ground floor room which allowed us to easily access the beach or the parking lot.
There is a small restaurant in the middle of the beach side of the resort that offers breakfast, lunch and supper as well as drinks and live entertainment, whether it be a great guitar/singer and his world class air guitar accompianist, or karaoke.
Sloppy Joe's is at the south end of the complex. They offer a full bar and varied menu sure to offer something for most tastes.
I can't say enough about the staff or the location. A large sand/shell beach leads to the gulf where many were enjoying the water and sand.
There is a vendor that rents chaise and canopy combos all along the beach.
Just across the street (which has a crossing light and is taken very seriously when you cross) is a Walgreen's if you happen to need anything they carry. There is also a bar, Ricky T's? which has live music and was very busy while we were there. Next to Ricky T's is a nice ice cream shop with great ice cream and candy from the distant past, Clove gum, Teeberry gum, rock candy and much more. Down the street, canty corner across intersection from the hotel is a great T shirt shop with some great deals and tons of different products.
The beach is very wide at the Bilmar which allows for a spring fling called the Bands on the Beach (I think) which allows people to actually drive onto the beach much like they do at Daytona Beach. There is a volleyball net about fifteen feet behind the hotel on the sand as well as game boards, and another volleyball net across the beach sidewalk on the actual beach..
We left the morning of the big band show so we didn't get to sample the foods, music and other beach activities that were setting up that week.
While we were there, we got to see two weddings performed just across the beach sidewalk from the Bilmar. The Bilmar is set up to provide settings for weddings on the beach and receptions afterwards.
If you are in the area, I doubt you could find a more romantic, laid back place to spend your time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    417
    124
    41
    30
See reviews for
436
499
41
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Have stayed at this establishment four times over the past coupleof years,and every time the place seems to exceed itself year in and year out,the outside appearance is a welcoming site well maintained at all times as well as the beach front area and the poolside area,the front desk staff treated us as if we familly (Ciera,Heather,Shauna,Kym,and who every else i missed)
fast check and check out ,took care of any problems that we might have had promptly
The rooms were neat and clean and the housekeeping staff did an excellent job
Kudos to Chris for maintaining the the place, and to Clyde for running such a well run
establishment.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

My sister Maureen and I from Ontario, Canada shared Romm 212 which had a front door just above the hot tub and sliding back doors to our private balcony on the Gulf of Mexixo. We shopped at Publix and Walgreens just across the street. We did not have a car but had no problem getting to places as lots of stuff is really close, especially restaurants. We took the sunshine trolley one day and went to a couple other beaches on the way to downtown Clearwater. Ride all day $ 4.50.
We loved our Bilmar room. Big, spacious, clean and a marble bathroom shower seperate from the dressing room area. Five days in February came and went fast and we would luv to return. Special Hello and Thank you to Michael, at the front desk.
A truly amzing, caring person who helped choose what type of room to get. On leaving,
I told him that every night at 630 as we watched the sunset on the Gulf, we drank a toast to him for making our stay so much more pleasant because of our balcony. Also excellent service provided by our maid Tammy. Very good at her job and most pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We're 40ish and stayed at the Bilmar with our 6 year old boy/girl twins and had a great weekend in May. Our room was clean, the staff was very friendly and attentive. Our specific room had all the comforts we could expect. The bathrooms were clean as were the carpets and furniture. We stayed on the 4th floor and had a great view of the beach...sunsets are beautiful! Besides being directly on the beach, the location is perfect for family needs since Publix (supermarket), Walgreen's (beach stuff) and even a McDonald's (coffee) are all within a 5-minute walk or less. They have at least two pools that we used and they were a great way to end our day on the beach. The beach/pool bar was great and located overlooking both the beach and one of the pools. All in all, I would recommend the Bilmar to friends and family looking for a great value in a beach resort in the St. Pete Beach area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Because we had a 7 day stay the reception staff had put us in the tower block with a great view of the beach and coastline. Room was bright and clean, maintained throughout our stay by the friendly staff. Any maintenance problems such as safe lock-out were dealt with immediately. The receptionist Ricky was particularly helpful in finding a local dentist who was required ASAP. Sloppy Joes restaurant and bar were always buzzing and although our room overlooked this area, we were never bothered by noise. Breakfast at Bazzies Bar was very good and the staff very bright and cheery, the only negative here was an order from the menu of a tender beef sandwich proved to be uneatable. Staff changeover was likely to be the cause of this. Ideal position to the centre of the resort. Would recommend breakfast and evening meals at Ricky T's.

Room Tip: Ask for 647 in the tower block
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

The Bilmar exceeded my expectations. The room was immaculate; from the granite countertops, the comfort of the beds, and the full kitchen.The bathroom was nice also it had a separate vanity area from the toilet and shower. The cleaning is important to me and they did a great job. The food at Bazzie's Beach Bar wasn't bad it was rather good. We stayed in the gulf front efficiency room 118 with a walk out to the beach with a little porch it was wonderful.
Our location was perfect! The view was gorgeous. My only complaint is that the ocean is a bit far away from the hotel. Although the hotel is on the beach, it's a few minute walk to get out to the ocean but not bad There is a sidewalk that runs a good half mile maybe more down the beach for runners and walker. There are cabana's and umbrellas for rent on the beach. You can also print your boarding pass for free in the lobby. The staff was the best! Publix, & Walgreens are across the street and John's Pass Boardwalk is just down the road about a mile. Also about 20 minutes straight down central at the other end is St Petersburg with the Pier and lots of cafe's and shopping. I would definitely come back to the Bilmar sometime in the future!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

My husband I visited the Bilmar this past week-end for our anniversary and it was more than we could have asked for. The location and the views from the gulf front efficiency is absolutely amazing. As stated in the other review, Publix, Walgreens, and restaurants are all with in walking distance. We parked the car on Friday and did not move until we checked out. We ate breakfast at Bazzie's beachfront both mornings and it was delicious. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. My only complaint would be that we stayed in room 218 and the grout needed to have a good deep cleaning. Other than that the whole room was very clean. We have definitely found our new beach spot for the summer!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bilmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilmar Beach Resort

Address: 10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#7 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#9 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bilmar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Bilmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilmar Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Bilmar Beach Treasure Island
Bilmar Hotel
Bilmar Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilmar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.