We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property OK for price, excellent location, very poor manager service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Penthouse Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Treasure Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penthouse Beach Club
10182 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
miami
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Property OK for price, excellent location, very poor manager service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Excellent location. For the price, there's really nothing more to expect. You are directly on the beach. Very long walk to get there, but nice beach, though. Very poor manager, no people or customer skills whatsoever. If she is to be rated, the property to would be rated zero of five. Other than that, the site and support staff were ok. Place has plenty of potential, but will never be realized with current management. Won't stay here again. Wouldve been a 3 of 5, but manager hurts the place.

Room Tip: pick another resort. There's plenty to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I have been going to the Penthouse Beach Club for the last three years. My friends and i always have a great time. The location is fantastic. The pool and beach are really really nice. The grocery store,restaurants,Pubs and shopping are within walking distance. And John's Path is just about a mile down. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My girlfriend and I checked into Penthouse Beach Club in Treasure Island, FL on June 4, 2011. We were staying there for the following week and were scheduled to check out on June 11, 2011.
Throughout the first part of the week we noticed several large roaches in the stairways and around the facility. We avoided these bugs and just assumed that it was due to the humidity and being in a different location. While in our actual room, we encountered a couple of the bugs as well. There was no food left out or open containers in the room that would normally attract bugs. We were careful to make sure that everything was sealed and cleaned up as to not encourage an infestation.
During the week, we were generally in the room relaxing and watching TV by 10 pm and did not see many of the bugs as the lights were on until we went to sleep. On Thursday, June 9 we decided to stay out later and had the lights off as we were out of the room till approximately 2 a.m. We came home around 2 a.m. to find 2 of the roaches waiting just inside the door once we turned the lights on. I proceeded to check the rest of the room and killed nine total roaches. This was very disgusting and made our room a place where we could no longer bare to sleep.
We decided to go down to the office and call the number located on the door. The woman that answered was very rude and acted as if we were putting her out by calling this late which we apologized for when she first answered. We explained the roach issue and the woman tried to tell us that they were Palmetto bugs and not roaches and that they were normal to be everywhere in FL. She also offered to move us to another room. I personally don’t think that the bugs just liked our room and that moving to another room would do nothing other than put us in another roach room. Also, not knowing at that time what Palmetto bugs were, we looked it up and they are in fact roaches.
Due to the fact that it was late and were had no desire to stay in any room there, we told her we would just figure something out for the night and then discuss it in the morning. We decided to drive to a 24-hour Wal-mart and purchase roach spray and see if we could take care of the problem for the evening. Upon our return to the condo, I sprayed the entire perimeter of the room and proceeded to kill another seven roaches bring the total to 16 roaches that were crawling around our room. This was just too much and we proceeded to pack up everything and hope that no roaches had made their way into our luggage or clothes. We then loaded the car and slept the rest of the night in the car.
In the morning we went to the office after it was open and tried to explain the situation and requested a refund of our yearly maintenance fee as it was obvious to us that things were clearly not being maintained. The lady at the desk was not very understanding at all and acted as if this was a normal occurrence. She said that she could not do anything and that we would need to speak to management who would not be in for another 30-45 minutes. We were also told that because the timeshare was in my mothers name that they would have to be the ones to resolve the issue. We were tired from being up all night trying to resolve their bug problem and were very frustrated as it was ruining our vacation. We decided to contact my mother to try and get the issue resolved and we wanted to get far away from the roach infestation.

Room Tip: unless u like bugs and rude service, stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, MN
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

This resort provides some of the best beach access on Treasure Island, and is the main reason we return every year! The resort is "vintage" but has its own charm. It is quiet and has an uncrowded heated pool. The units are small (studio) but a nice place for two people to live for a week - comfortable bed, stove, microwave and refrigerator. A small balcony has a beach view. The resort does not have any scheduled activities but are plenty things to do nearby. John's Pass, good restaurants, free botanical gardens (at Largo), terrific Pinellas and Fort Desoto (no park entry fee) bike trails are close-by for biking, roller blading, or walking. Another nice advantage of this resort is that you won't spend half a day with anyone high pressuring you to buy a week. If you are interested, just ask at the front desk for a copy of any resales available - they are very reasonable! Don't expect flash and glitz, but if you like the beach, this is a good place. In process of updating.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I have been going to The Penthouse Beach Club for 26 years ! My parents have a time share and we as a family have shared some amazing times there. If you're looking for luxury and to be pampered when you should really be enjoying the Island. Than this is not the destination for y'all. I come here every year from Canada and I'm in love with the beach, locals and the island itself. Sure some things should be updated within the room(s) and penthouse, but they are trying. But the cost for a week and the fact that you have a kitchenette at your disposal is quite "fair." The swimming pool is wonderful and views of the island from the top of the Penthouse are breath taking. I loved going every year with my parents and I'm going to keep going with my with my wife and son for years to come.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Unit was small but cozy, staff was friendly and helpful, old building but well maintained, ten feet from beach, walking distance to restaurants & market, views of bay & gulf of Mexico from balcony, spent a pleasant week.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

What a disappointment. From the outside it looked very nice. Some plywood covering ???? The units are not very nice and somewhat outdated. They were painting and the smell of paint was nauseating. They should have said this at the time of booking. The water coming out of the taps for the week was brown. The only plus is you are right on the beach and on the bus route. But there are plenty of places on the beach near a bus route that are much nicer. Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Penthouse Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse Beach Club

Address: 10182 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Specialty lodging in Treasure Island
Also Known As:
Penthouse Beach Club Hotel Treasure Island
Penthouse Beach Club Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penthouse Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Penthouse Beach Club to your Saves list