We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently Located Small Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11125 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Conveniently Located Small Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at the Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina for one night after attending a concert in Tampa. For those unfamiliar with the Tampa Bay area, Tampa does not sit directly on the ocean front, so we chose this hotel on St. Pete Beach for its convenience and proximity to the interstate that feeds into the city which is 51 minutes away. After reading the mostly positive reviews about this hotel, we were happy to discover the truthful amenities for ourselves. We would highly recommend choosing the Treasure Bay for its value in comparison to the other St. Pete hotels in the area, many of which are older structures which appear to be designed to ride out hurricanes. The interior of the Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina has been completely renovated with granite counters, flatscreens, and a great little workout room with a wonderful view. The hotel sits across the street from the ocean but has unobstructed views through the city beach with easy access to the ocean and for watching incredible sunsets. The hotel sits on a bay waterway, and rooms facing east have a beautiful view as well. Some may even prefer that side. We loved the coffee bar on the second floor, both for an evening refresher after our long trip and again in the morning. We did not see the breakfast muffins others have mentioned, but a Waffle House is next door. The front desk is extremely pleasant and helpful, and the management does a good job of maintaining their little gem of a small hotel with the exception of the hallway carpeting needing a good steam cleaning from heavy traffic. Although hotel rates in general seem to have gone through the roof, we were very happy to have found all of the positive reviews from others that brought our attention to this convenient value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    234
    61
    22
    12
See reviews for
188
263
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Patchogue, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed in Treasure Island for a vacation and really did not know what to expect when it came to the hotel. With the amount of money we spent on the 9 night stay I really did not have much of a high expectation. Arriving at the hotel after driving for 24 hours straight Ms. Hayde greeted us and got us into our room immediately. The rooms were big and when we opened our back door we walked right out to the pool. It was clean, the beds were so comfortable, everyone was so nice and lovely to be around, and everything is in walking distance. I really want to put a big thank you out there to Ms. Hayde and Ms. Cathy who went above and beyond to keep us smiling and always gave us their recommendations when it came to food or what to do in the area. We will be visiting again soon and will be staying in the Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina every single time. I really hope that they do not change a thing there and keep doing what they are doing because it is an amazing facility.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel and I was pleased for the most part. Upon arrival we were interested in doing some snorkeling or something along those lines. The front desk attendant told us about Charlie's Charters, which I would recommend very much. They were very entertaining and knowledgeable. The front desk attendant set up the trip for us. The hotel is kept pretty clean and no one was loud at all. The beach is just across the street. I would recommend renting a car if you stay here if you do not bring your own transportation. I figured my girlfriend and I could save some money and just take the Trolley that come every so often. We went up the road a little bit to go "site see" and we waited on the bus for awhile. If you are looking to just relax at the beach, then this place is good for you. There aren't any real attractions that are anywhere close. The breakfast in the hotel is just muffins and stuff, which works for me. Overall, this hotel is a decent place to go compared to the other places that are around there. The area its in isn't a nice area, but it was threatening or anything. Just a little dated. I would stay at this hotel again, they worked hard to keep us comfortable and it was well kept.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

As a newcomer to the bay area I was checking out the local beaches and heard a few travelers chatting up Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina.- and they were obviously impressed. Several months later I had some visitors from home and recalled those comments and made a reservation.

What a great hit! Very courteous staff, awesome upstairs SUNSET deck, quaint marina on the
waterway behind (very nice rooms) , convenience...Oh for those unfamiliar, Treasure Island offers the most beautiful beaches, pristine cool white powder sand and glorious glorious sunsets!

I am now planning a family reunion at the Hotel. It's an ideal spot and economical for the
ammenities offered. Thanks to all there for a great experiance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I traveled to the St. Pete area for a wedding--and stayed in this hotel in part because of ratings and reviews, which were good. The cost was also a major factor.
However, we found this resort to be better than even the welcome we received at the hotel of the wedding nearby. The management goes beyond the call of duty to make you feel welcome.
It's spotless, smells good, and has a shuttle outside to nearby hot spots. The beach is just across the road and I had a view of the waterway just behind with Ibis, Herons and the like flying by.

For Believers who are traveling. This is the place to stay. Hotel Equities, with which this hotel is associated, leaves not just the Gideons Bible in the drawer, but a Prayer Line card for emergency prayer needs, the Gospel of John, and a booklet about the purpose of your God-given life (Rick Warren).
Support this chain of hotels please.
http://www.hotelequities.com/properties/hotels/

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Recently back from a 2-week trip to Florida during which we stayed 5 nights at the Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina in Treasure Island. We obtained an excellent price through Expedia but were apprehensive about what to expect.

Check-in was very simple, all of the staff very helpful and friendly, and we were impressed as the hotel itself was of a good standard with large well equipped bedrooms, small kitchenette area (with coffee machine, microwave and fridge but no cutlery/plates), effective air conditioning, a powerful shower with piping hot water and plenty of storage space. Outside there was a swimming pool and outdoor Jacuzzi which were regularly cleaned.

We had a room on the top floor (Room 306) which had views of the Gulf beach across the road (about 3 minutes’ walk). We were worried that there would be traffic noise but this was negligible once the patio doors were closed and the air-conditioning turned on. The rooms on the other side of the hotel overlooked the marina but we preferred the Gulf view.

The hotel does not have its own restaurant but does provide all-day tea and coffee facilities in the residents lounge on the first floor. There is a small gym, laundry facilities and ice machine. An added bonus to this hotel is the large open terrace on the first floor which has views towards the Gulf beach. We often sat here eating food we’d purchased from Publix supermarket nearby!

As mentioned earlier, all of the staff were very helpful and friendly but two particularly stood out. Haydee (pronounced Heidi) and Tammy (who was being trained by Haydee) gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived, providing us with all the information we needed about the hotel and surrounding areas with suggestions on where we might want to eat (together with any relevant discounts). Each day they greeted us like long-lost friends and seemed interested in what we had planned for the day. They made us feel so welcome.

Haydee also resolved a problem for us. At the start of our break our sleep was broken by a couple in a neighbouring room who would go out celebrating until the early hours of the morning (5 a.m.) and then have difficulties gaining access to their bedroom, resulting in shouting, slamming doors, etc. After 3 nights we reported this to Haydee who in turn discretely spoke to the guests with the result that they were much quieter.

If you are looking for a small, friendly hotel situated close to the Gulf beach with very reasonable rates this is definitely the one. What it might lack in amenities compared to the bigger chains it more than makes up for in its staff. We would definitely go back to this hotel if visiting Treasure Island again.

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms have views over Gulf Blvd to the beach/sea, odd-numbered rooms have views over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I just came back from 5 days and 4 nights in Treasure Island, Florida. My husband and I stayed at the Treasure Island Bay Hotel and Marina. It is right across the street from the Beach. The people that work there were polite and nice....but 3 stars....PLEASE !!! My husband and I have been to Mexico 5 times at hotels from 3 stars to 5 stars....and this hotel is no where in the same league. The rug in the lobby, and on stairs is old and stinky. That really turned me off. It also is not what I consider a hotel....it is a motel, and as far as they go, it is fine. But I expected more, But I should have be a bit more careful....most of the time, you get what you pay for, and this hotel was several hundred dollars less then the other nicer ones. So I got what I paid for....maybe less, with that stinky rug. Also out of the 4 nights we stayed there, we only had our beds made up once. I told them, they need not change the sheets, but I didn't think that meant they would skip the beds, too !!! The mattress was comfortable. They have internet access in lobby. No breakfast, not even bagels or doughnuts. Just coffee and tea. They do have a work out room. The place is ok, but no way on earth is it a 3 star.

Room Tip: I paid more to get "a view of water"....our side of the hotel had the beach, the other sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina

Address: 11125 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#13 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#13 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Paradise ... Beautiful beaches, incredible views overlooking the waterfront marina and gulf!o Conveniently located across the street from the Gulf of Mexico and Bay Front on Boca Ciega Bay.o Beautiful new marina - come to Treasure bay by land or sea!o Refreshing Heated Pool and Relaxing Spa.o Fitness Center, Coin Laundry, onsite ATM.o Rooftop Seating on Sundeck with Stunning Gulf Views.o All rooms have private patios/balconies.o Public Beach across from the hotel with children's play area, volleyball and cabanas.o Walking distance to dining and shopping.o Located within one mile of John's Pass Village and Boardwalk featuring fabulous restaurants, entertainment and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Bay Hotel And Marina
Treasure Island Bay Hotel Marina
Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.