We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place I ever stayed in my life!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Molloy Gulf Front Motel and Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Treasure Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Molloy Gulf Front Motel and Cottages
Save
You added The Molloy Gulf Front Motel and Cottages to your Saves list
10164 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Treasure Island
Oneida, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst place I ever stayed in my life!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have a video of the huge roaches running everywhere and they were even in the bed, on top of that they refused to give us our money back!! Don't sleep in #1....The roaches were at least 4" long
I wish I could get the pictures to up load...you would never believe what we went threw for the couple of hour that we stayed...had just drove 13 hours to pick up our grandson and all we wanted was a place to sleep...turned down the covers and here they run...DONT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't sleep in #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    3
    3
    8
See reviews for
16
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Loved the location, and staff! awesome view ! couldn't get closer to the beach. The only complaint I have is that the sofa bed was totally uncomfortable. I hurt all week, The last night was the worst, We had something made the bed feel like it was a big bar our backs. And the wi-fi was iffy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have Loved this place since I literally ran into it in 2001!! Went back a few years ago,but Now,can never find availability!! Everybody must've found out about it!!want to go back for 'the holidays' when i can see the x-mas parade on the bay,and the bikers parade!! Love to be there for the 4th!! U can walk to bars and restaurants!! Really Love Everybody There- Birgit,Ernie and Dianna!! Hi Guy's !!
Love Vicki

Room Tip: Rooms I've stayed in and seen,are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is our fourth stay at the Molloy and it wont be our last. The motel is basic but has everything you need, sitting and dining area, kitchen, bedroom (with double and single beds) and bathroom, complete with tub and shower. The rooms have been upgraded slightly since we were last here and the rooms have flat screen tv's now and new kitchen appliances.
We stayed in a room on the ground floor with beach view. The location of this motel is what sets it apart from the rest along with the friendly owners Ernie and Birgit who are always on hand if anything is needed.
A lovely stay, we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the beach are great with fantastic views, especially the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catherine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Last minute trip to area! Lots of places to choose from.

Motel room - double and single bed - fine for single woman needing place to stay while visiting family booked at more expensive hotel a couple of blocks up Gulf Blvd. Price was right and owners (Ernie, his wife and Diane) very attentive to guest needs. Minor hic-up with rowdy group celebrating birthday all day into night - had to speak to them myself to quiet them down.

Would be nice to have lounge chairs by small pool but wonderful being able to step right out onto sand. Room plain but spotless, microwave, coffee maker, small fridge, toaster. No maid service - not a problem for me - able to exchange towels as needed.

Definitely will stay here again for some R&R.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveton, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here July/August. Our room was great! Yes a little dated, but otherwise CLEAN and COMFORTABLE! The service here was awesome! We made great friends, other guests and had a fun time! We were married there August 1st, right on the beach! The owners made our wedding very special. We will be going back year after year!

Room Tip: The gulf views are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My family discovered the Molloy Motel in 1972. The current owners purchased it shortly thereafter. Birgit and Ernie are wonderful people. Although the Molloy is definitely dated, it is clean, and I was actually very comforted when I returned in 2010, to find the same artwork and bedspreads that were there in the 70's when I was a child. I now take my children to the Molloy. We own a timeshare in the area and choose to go to the Molloy because of it's retro-charm.

I have also found that IF I spot a maintnance problem or cleaning issue, I can go to the cleaning person, or Ernie, and they take care of it. As for peeling cabinets and linoleum, yes, it's time to fix it...but certainly don't change the overall decor.

Room Tip: The cottages are the best, but hard to get unless you make an early reservation. Poolside rooms get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#25 of 45 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
#4 of 45 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina
Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina
#19 of 45 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#28 of 45 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.9 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#2 of 45 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg / Treasure Island
Residence Inn by Marriott St. Pe...
#8 of 45 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Molloy Gulf Front Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Molloy Gulf Front Motel and Cottages

Address: 10164 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
The Molloy Gulf Front Motel And Cottages Hotel Treasure Island
The Molloy Gulf Front Motel And Cottages Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Molloy Gulf Front Motel and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.