We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older but very nice resort!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Pebble Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Treasure Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sand Pebble Resort
Save
You added Sand Pebble Resort to your Saves list
12300 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Older but very nice resort!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a smaller older resort but very clean and very nice. Super nice front desk people and very helpful. It is right on the sand on Treasure Island. They have a very clean pool and jacuzzi and plenty of pool lounges. You never have to reserve any here. They have a few activities during the week and a super nice welcome party for the guests, live music and all.

Room Tip: This is a time share resort so you have to trade in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    32
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
35
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nutley, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We checked in very late on a friday - the front desk gal, waited for us , gave us all the codes and we were off. So relaxing, right on the beach. Room was much larger than we expected with a huge balcony that over looked the pool and ocean. Ac/worked great, unit had a full kitchen, there were activities each day that kids enjoyed. The beach was spotless, and full of families enjoying their time together. We had a really nice time.

Room Tip: Definately try to get a room over looking the pool. We had one of the "07" rooms those are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, USA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Generally my husband and I travel alone (not with family) and stay in 4 or 5 star places, so I should preface this review with that info. All in all, the Sand Pebble Resort provided a great, reasonably-priced family getaway for ourselves (adult children in our 20s/30s) and our elders, plus one teen. An easy 40 minute drive from the Tampa airport, right on the beach, walking distance to John's Pass, and easy access to several golf courses (within 30 min), jet ski rentals, boat rentals, shopping, etc. The "3" bedroom 2 bath condo (3rd bedroom is a "lockout") is really not what one would hope, and there were/are no pictures on the Sand Pebble website to show it. The 3rd bedroom is more like a living room with small kitchenette, and a horribly uncomfortable foldout double bed/couch. We were the ones supposed to sleep in there...thank goodness my father-in-law switched us and we could take the 2nd double bed in the 2nd bedroom. Consider this place more of a 2 bed/2 bath, with room for maybe one person on the couch in the lockout.

Cleanliness of condo was just ok. Some things, especially in bathrooms, were looking older and shabby. Beds in 2nd bedroom were ok but not incredibly comfortable. Plenty of extra linens and such provided though.

Excellent pool; had no trouble getting chairs and never had to "reserve" our spot. Jacuzzi is cooler than typical jacuzzis but that was ok-- still warmer than pool. Great beach and very easy to access from resort...just a 1 minute walk out to the water.

Overall, an economical place to take 6-8 people. Condo itself won't blow you away, but if you stay outside like we did most of the time, it was fine!

Room Tip: 3 bed "Lockout" not really a 3rd quality bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This property is stunning, don't expect your points will get you the best apartment, they won't, this is a property where the owners come back year after year after year, so your luxury points will get you the properties on the side - but when you come to the apartments on the front you have made it. You walk in through the front door and look straight to the ocean, through the hall past the kitchen through the dining - lounge and onto the large balcony and there it is, 100 yards away, the magnificient ocean. The rooms are large and airy, good air-conditioning and ceiling fans, full kitchen - no washer but there is a laundry on site. Beds are comfortable and good showers. The pool is big, smaller pool for little people, hot tub. Lots of seats and beds by the pool, none of this - towels bagging chairs - just doesn't happen. this is perfect, good walking, plenty of good and interesting restaurants, good shopping mall within 15 minutes - want a piece of heaven, then come here

Room Tip: ground floor - friday to friday - all rooms have a view either beach or inter-costal waterway this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We've been owners here for the last 4-5 years and look forward to it every summer! Replying to OMG! Where do I start? person: as far as the elevator , TAKE THE STAIRS IF YOU'RE NOT HAPPY WITH IT! This place has some years on it and renovations are in place! Relax a little! They've been updating rooms, furniture, etc. And you can't just add an elevator at the snap of a finger! Longtime families have been coming here for a very long time. The place is clean, the staff is very friendly, and do everything they can for you during your stay! The pools, patios, etc are always kept clean and they have fun stuff planned off and on all week for adults and kids! We've made some good friends here and look forward to another summer!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I had some HGVC points I had to use before they expired so we booked this last minute exchange with RCI..I have not been in the area previously so had no preconceived idea re the area. Area is a bit touristy but this property is north of the main drag and just south of the John's Pass "historic" village (read very Touristy) There is construction going on at this location - replacement of elevator as well as common area around garage - many parking spaces are blocked off by construction equipment. The very small lobby has some very tired furniture and the check in area just off the elevator looks like the very cluttered back office which should not be visual to guests..but it was...not very inviting. Person who checked us in gave us a bunch of papers and said to take a look and if we had any questions, we could call. Not very friendly, although other people who worked there that we came in contact were friendly although I have to say not very polished.. I was surprised to see that they have won
annual awards from RCI for their service...different standards I guess. The outdoor hallways were dark and not well maintained - the door to our room was very tired looking and dirty - not inviting at all...the room was nicely laid out although again the furniture was tired and in need of updating and the linens were very thin - kitchen in dire need of remodel - bathrooms were
dated but clean/basic - they had a huge walkin type closet which was great . Their cleaning staff must have been having a bad day when we checked in...we still had what appeared to be a large koolaid spill in the refrigerator and there were crumbs on the kitchen floor...Having said this, the views were absolutely beautiful - we were in room 303A - large windows in bedroom and balcony off the living room. It was because of the views that I didn't suggest that we go elsewhere.

We didn't use the pools or hot tubs although the kids seemed to be having fun there - we just bypassed and walked directly to the beach which was just steps away....again this place has a terrific location. They are very near a nice Publix Market as well. They have 3-4 gas grills which were off the pool area. It is obvious that people come here on an annual basis - everyone seemed to know each other and people were very friendly...we gave some of our beach stuff that we didn't want to drag home to a family and the kids said "see ya next year"...I think if they would just put some money into the facilities, this place could be really nice...you can't change your location but you can update your property and also work on customer service ....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This has got to be one of the worst experiences of our lives. We stayed from May 5-12, 2012. The elevator is horrible. When we arrived on Saturday, there was a line into the parking lot waiting on the resorts single elevator. Granted, they are installing another one but people having been complaining about this problem forever. When we got to our room, it was a lock-out with a murphy bed. The mattress was so hard I could hardly walk the next morning. The carpet was so disgusting that we had to wear flip flops the entire time to keep from having black feet. The "Meet and Greet" was so redneck it was ridiculous. I felt like I was in a biker bar. They served pretzels that you could scoop out of a baking pan. There was a sign for beverage options that read....White, Red or "Pink" wine. However, based on the clientele, this was quite adequate. To top it off, the next to last day, I went to the office to get a copy of their rates. It was then that I discovered I had traded my Edisto Island week that I pay $150/night in maintenance fees for a room that they were renting to anyone off the street for $70/night. RCI has once again screwed me over!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Pebble Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebble Resort

Address: 12300 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Treasure Island
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Sand Pebble Hotel Treasure Island
Sand Pebble Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Pebble Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.