We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would definitely go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheri Lyn Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Treasure Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheri Lyn Motel
Save
You added Cheri Lyn Motel to your Saves list
11705 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Treasure Island
LAKELAND FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“would definitely go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was a quick weekend escape since we just live an hour inland. We have stayed at another motel and a condo in the exact same area previously. For our money's worth this was definitely the best bet for just two nights. First of all I like the fact that you can just stay for a night or two. We ended up getting 4 different rooms. I definitely would recommend the efficiency over the regular room especially since it is only a $5 difference. The rooms was glistening clean. Although we did not use the kitchen they were well stocked if you needed to cook..Each room was a little different in appearance but I was impressed with all of them. Each room had a little table and two chairs in front of them to relax. Pool area and courtyard were very appealing. Front office person was very friendly and eager to please. One pillow was little hard. Our bathroom sink was a little small since it had no ledge. Our A/C unit was a little too noisy for me at night but I don't think the other rooms had the same problem. But I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    17
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
37
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

us girls stayed here at Cheri Lyn Motel and it was excellent. Clean friendly and easy to get to the beach. Look out I'm coming back. I enjoyed my vacation. I would give this top billing. Right across the street was a trolley and there free yes free cab rides. the sunsets were out of this world. the owner's were right on site at all times in fact i looked myself out of my room no problem they were right there. there was a game room outside shuffle board and the pool was very very clean. the only problem with me was it wasn't pet friendly, i would have like to have taken my dog.

Room Tip: I stayed upstairs in room 25 nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Let me start with the staff. They are so sweet and attentive. We had never stayed at treasure island and was leary about renting.
The hotel is lovely, very clean and the grounds are kept immaculate. Its an older hotel which has been renovated wonderfully. Our room was on the ground floor and had a full size kitchen. The full size beds were very comfortable and the updated bathrooms were great too.
We are a family of 4 and the room was fine.
The hotel is across the street from the beach but not a big deal at all.
Would definitely return.
I only wish it was pet friendly

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, but our friends room upstairs was just as nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We read the reviews and felt pretty good about what we booked, however until we arrived there was a little doubt. That was immediately put to rest on arrival. The owners have done a fantastic/excellent job on preserving Florida history. The pictures from others are exactly what we arrived to. The room was very clean and modern and comfortable. The Cheri-Lyn is located directly across the street from amazing beach, the pool area of the motel is in excellent condition and well maintained; it's within walking distance to numerous restaurants and shops, and Johns Pass. Other reviewers have commented on it being a gem, lovely etc, very accurate. We definitely will return.

In fairness, although not an issue for us, Gulf Blvd is the main road along the coast seeing a lot of traffic that creates some noise. Others commented that this was an issue, I remind all that this applies to all accommodations along this route. This noise never really entered our room due to a/c running and when outside by the pool etc, we never really even noticed it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Finally found a clean and friendly place to stay that was also a bargin. Going back in June gona cancel our resevations for the fancier place down the road an stay at Cheri Lyns and looking forward to years of vacations spent there PLEASE just dont change...

Room Tip: Only complaint light outside door to bright when sleeping (not that bigga deal)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just got back from a great weekend at Cheri Lyn Motel. The motel is VERY clean. The owners are always on site and are very friendly and willing to help in any way they can. Loved seeing Shadow and Lucy too. The motel is right across the street from beach access which makes it very convenient. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena N.Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Cheri Lyn for 2 weeks in January 2012 and returned again for 5 weeks over Christmas 2012/2013. We were more than happy on our first visit so didn't consider staying anywhere else. It is great value for money, as we did compare other motels on our first visit. We found it clean and comfortable. The owners; Trisha, Dan and Dave are on site and are always friendly and ever ready to assist in any way they can. It was a very homely place to stay and we easily made friends with some of the other holiday makers. There must be something special about the place as many of them have been coming back for years upon years. It is beside a junction which may not suit everyone but we got used to it. The rooms are quite large and have been renovated recently. The motel is just across from the beach with easy access to shopping by car or trolley bus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheri Lyn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheri Lyn Motel

Address: 11705 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Treasure Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#5 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Treasure Island, Florida motel located at the heart of it all. The Cheri Lyn Motel’s central location gives you easy access to everything Florida’s West coast offers and much more. Here on the island, you will find an assortment of resturants to tempt your palate, featuring some of Florida’s fresh Gulf seafood. Shopping, entertainment, and watersports are just minutes away. In addition, Treasure Island is less than an hour and a half away from most major attractions, including Disney, Seaworld, Universal Studios, and Busch Gardens.Call now to make your reservation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cheri Lyn Hotel Treasure Island
Cheri Lyn Motel Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheri Lyn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.