We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8 crazy girls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheri Lyn Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Treasure Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheri Lyn Motel
11705 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 hotels in Treasure Island
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“8 crazy girls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

us girls stayed here at Cheri Lyn Motel and it was excellent. Clean friendly and easy to get to the beach. Look out I'm coming back. I enjoyed my vacation. I would give this top billing. Right across the street was a trolley and there free yes free cab rides. the sunsets were out of this world. the owner's were right on site at all times in fact i looked myself out of my room no problem they were right there. there was a game room outside shuffle board and the pool was very very clean. the only problem with me was it wasn't pet friendly, i would have like to have taken my dog.

Room Tip: I stayed upstairs in room 25 nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    16
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Let me start with the staff. They are so sweet and attentive. We had never stayed at treasure island and was leary about renting.
The hotel is lovely, very clean and the grounds are kept immaculate. Its an older hotel which has been renovated wonderfully. Our room was on the ground floor and had a full size kitchen. The full size beds were very comfortable and the updated bathrooms were great too.
We are a family of 4 and the room was fine.
The hotel is across the street from the beach but not a big deal at all.
Would definitely return.
I only wish it was pet friendly

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, but our friends room upstairs was just as nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We read the reviews and felt pretty good about what we booked, however until we arrived there was a little doubt. That was immediately put to rest on arrival. The owners have done a fantastic/excellent job on preserving Florida history. The pictures from others are exactly what we arrived to. The room was very clean and modern and comfortable. The Cheri-Lyn is located directly across the street from amazing beach, the pool area of the motel is in excellent condition and well maintained; it's within walking distance to numerous restaurants and shops, and Johns Pass. Other reviewers have commented on it being a gem, lovely etc, very accurate. We definitely will return.

In fairness, although not an issue for us, Gulf Blvd is the main road along the coast seeing a lot of traffic that creates some noise. Others commented that this was an issue, I remind all that this applies to all accommodations along this route. This noise never really entered our room due to a/c running and when outside by the pool etc, we never really even noticed it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Finally found a clean and friendly place to stay that was also a bargin. Going back in June gona cancel our resevations for the fancier place down the road an stay at Cheri Lyns and looking forward to years of vacations spent there PLEASE just dont change...

Room Tip: Only complaint light outside door to bright when sleeping (not that bigga deal)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just got back from a great weekend at Cheri Lyn Motel. The motel is VERY clean. The owners are always on site and are very friendly and willing to help in any way they can. Loved seeing Shadow and Lucy too. The motel is right across the street from beach access which makes it very convenient. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena N.Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Cheri Lyn for 2 weeks in January 2012 and returned again for 5 weeks over Christmas 2012/2013. We were more than happy on our first visit so didn't consider staying anywhere else. It is great value for money, as we did compare other motels on our first visit. We found it clean and comfortable. The owners; Trisha, Dan and Dave are on site and are always friendly and ever ready to assist in any way they can. It was a very homely place to stay and we easily made friends with some of the other holiday makers. There must be something special about the place as many of them have been coming back for years upon years. It is beside a junction which may not suit everyone but we got used to it. The rooms are quite large and have been renovated recently. The motel is just across from the beach with easy access to shopping by car or trolley bus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here last year on spring break. We only slept here and were gone during the day. Rooms appear renovated by way of bathrooms having updated tiles, but furniture was old and uncomfortable. (Notice the website doesn't show the inside of the actual rooms?) Rooms had an odd odor. At night, people sit outside and get hammered; you will have a hard time sleeping since the sound travels thru the thin doors and you can hear partying til the wee hours of the morning. If you want a cheap place to party, this is for you. If you want a comfy and quiet place to sleep after long days out, I'd suggest a hotel where people can 't hang out outside of your room.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cheri Lyn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheri Lyn Motel

Address: 11705 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Treasure Island
#5 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Treasure Island, Florida motel located at the heart of it all. The Cheri Lyn Motel’s central location gives you easy access to everything Florida’s West coast offers and much more. Here on the island, you will find an assortment of resturants to tempt your palate, featuring some of Florida’s fresh Gulf seafood. Shopping, entertainment, and watersports are just minutes away. In addition, Treasure Island is less than an hour and a half away from most major attractions, including Disney, Seaworld, Universal Studios, and Busch Gardens.Call now to make your reservation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cheri Lyn Hotel Treasure Island
Cheri Lyn Motel Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheri Lyn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cheri Lyn Motel to your Saves list