We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#21 Tropic Terrace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island to your Saves list
Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11730 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in Treasure Island
Mooresburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“#21 Tropic Terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Now these condos are tiny but AWESOME! Nice décor, good comfortable king sized bed, a portable air conditioner in bedroom (huge plus), granite counter tops, full sized fridge and one beautifully tiled shower. We too are landlords and we do our own maintenance on 15 units in TN. When you can impress my husband you did good! Hats off to the lady who owns #21! We will come back!

Room Tip: I really like 21 for a one bedroom but if you want a two bedroom, get the retro unit from the 60'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over the fourth if July. Our room was adorable and retro styled. We loved it!!! Everything was clean and impeccable. We will be going back. We were within walking distance to many eating establishments, bars and shops. Not to mention the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bevandbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very happy overall. I tried to find a hotel/motel for Memorial Weekend but had a hard time finding a place that did not mandate 3 night stay. This ended up be much cheaper than a lot of other hotels in the area. So I was worried about the quality. Totally worth i!. When we first checked in the fire alarm was chirping and within minutes of reporting it, the front desk person was at the door with the new battery. The unit was refurbished with a murphy bed. Bed was ok. Too small for us tall people but fairly comfortable. Room is small but that's not why you are there. The pool was clean and actually spent more time there than the beach. Motel is technically on the beach but it is a good 1500 yards from the water, which is a long walk for my husbands knees. The beach is at a public access point so crowded as well. But beach is beautiful and was worth being there for the sunset and early morning before crowds. It is convenient to Johns Pass and is at a light which makes it easy for getting in and out. Would totally come back but would ask for a room with regular bed. Also pro and con. We were allowed to check in earlier than the 3oclock which we had to do because office closes at 5 and had plans that would not let us make that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabrena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were very satisfied with the location and price of our stay. The pool and grounds are beautiful. The shuffle board and grill area provide a nice addition to the yard. It is on the beach, only a short walk to the water. The service was great and felt very welcomed and cared for.

A few cons: there was a cockroach in our first room, but we were quickly moved to a new room within an hour; our room was very outdated, with many over-wired outlets, chipping paint, old windows and dorm-room fridge; the stove was dirty and burned very easily, even at 25 degrees below required temp for a pizza and shortened time; the water turned hot and cold very quickly while taking a shower, causing us to first yell from the ice water, then yell from being burned ; Our sink didn't have a stopper in it; there is dry rot at the bottom of the bathroom door frame; the door to the bathroom doesn't close all the way; and lastly, there was long dark hair stuck to the top of the comforter.

Seeing some of the other rooms, I think we just got very unlucky and got a bad one. Unfortunately, you don't get to choose which room you get to stay in. We did enjoy our time, especially since it is so close to St. John's Pass, and it has a ping pong table to play on when the weather isn't ideal. All in all, it was a good place for the price (just stay away from unit 12).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahundt32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Susan from Indiana says This review specifically refers to unit #32. My husband and I suffered health concerns due to the unit's dirt, sand, dust bunnies, especially when the AC or the overhead fans were on. The dust bunnies and dirt on the bed headboard were so bad that we felt dirt and sand in our mouths at night, and my husband was coughing up sand. This unit is way overdue for an update. The kitchen and bath are old and outdated. All of the knick knacks attract dirt and lend to the outdated look.
The property is very nice, beautiful pool, lots of chairs and tables in the grassy area and beach front. The beach walk-way is wonderful. I would return to the property but we would rent one of the other units that has been updated and are clean.
The Condo Owners that we met were friendly and engaging and the staff was helpful and efficient. Lovely area, nice property, but be careful what unit you rent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This review is for Unit #12 only. As each unit is individually owned, I cannot comment on the others, however my husband did get a look into the unit next door while it was being cleaned and said it was much nicer! The good: unit was clean, kitchen well equipped, AC worked great, plenty of TV channels, nice location on beach, complex seemed safe at night and was quiet. The bad: blinds on kitchen window would not close (had to hang towel to cover window), there is no place in bathroom to set anything (i.e. shelf for razor, toothpaste tube, make-up, etc.,) plus no stopper in sink to prevent something from falling in and being lost, bathroom door sticks and really doesn't close all the way and makes very loud noise when dislodged/opened, shower water temperature suddenly becomes extremely hot or cold during shower (husband & I both experienced being burned at different times during our stay), bathtub drain cover is disgusting, towels very old, thin & scratchy, no mattress pad on mattress (just seems dirty), no hair dryer in bathroom (office didn't have one either, had to go buy one), only space for 1 suitcase in closet & no other luggage racks provided. The owner of this unit could do just a few easy, inexpensive things to make it much nicer. As it is, we won't be going back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurenat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl F, Manager at Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Unit 12 is scheduled for renovations this spring as soon as our busy season slows down a bit. The owners plan on re-doing the unit, painting, and updating the bathroom. We'll post photos when complete. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Treasure Island hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Dont judge a book by its cover on this one! My wife and I stopped and looked for availability at several places and found Tropic Terrace, outside looks dated but once you walk into that lush courtyard with a gorgeous pool you are transported back in time. We had a nice 1 bedroom unit on the first floor that had been remodeled and was just perfect. The staff John and Paul where absolutely great to talk to and very helpful. I would recomment to anyone in the area looking for a great economical place to stay right on the beach. Kudos!

Room Tip: Call directly and the staff will help you choose a nice condo, they are all privately owned and diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#27 of 47 in Treasure Island
3.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#21 of 47 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#13 of 47 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#28 of 47 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#3 of 47 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#19 of 47 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island

Address: 11730 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island by Travel Resort Services, Inc. - Our suites will offer a welcome respite after a day spent walking the beach, jet skiing, parasailing, fishing or doing any of the other activities that are offered in our area. We also offer free internet, cable TV, local calls, coin laundry, shuffleboard court, BBQ grill with picnic area and free parking. We are offering incredible weekend rates all summer long. Come play on our beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Terrace Of Treasure Island Hotel Treasure Island
Tropic Terrace Treasure Island
Tropic Terrace Of Treasure Island Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing