We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites to your Saves list
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12000 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Treasure Island
Uxbridge
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Nice place to stay if you want beach front. Had a room on the 5th floor with a lovely view of the gulf and beach. The room could use some updating and yes the floors and carpet are dirty. Make sure you bring something for your feet or they will be black when you leave! Towel service was terrible! They say you get fresh towels every 2 days but we had to track someone down on the third day and never got anymore for the rest of the week. Pools and grounds are kept lovely. Pool guy was there everyday, cleaning and testing. Nice and close to John's Pass ( about 10 min walk). Front desk was very helpful ( Kay ). We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms closer to beach have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
We appreciate the review and suggestions and will strive to improve the floor cleaning and step up shampooing carpet. We do find this can be partially attributed to sun sprays and tracking in from hallways and outside balcony. Our housekeeping staff does maintain a log of towel service and possible DND signs. With numerous guests in room it can happen that not everyone in the suite knows when the service has been completed.. A quick call to the desk and we will always be glad to exchange towels or deliver. We are happy overall to see your strong rating and will recognize the specific employees!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    356
    104
    38
    27
See reviews for
686
139
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We spent three days on a family vacation, loved the rooms and the beach view. Loved the short walk to the beach and the pools were great.
It was great to be so close to John's Pass. Loved having the little Cafe right at the condo, although having only one girl working tables and cooking was a bit odd when busy. She could have used some help. Although she was happy and did not seem to get flustered.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
It is great to hear such a positive experience and we appreciate the patronage!
Sometimes it can take a bit to find a fill in for an ill employee but we are happy your cafe experience worked out well. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful ocean and beach views in this 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite which my parents and my 2 girls and I stayed in for a week. There is limited parking with only one spot per unit but they were accommodating and found us an additional spot for our 2nd vehicle. The suite was a bit small but nicely finished. Don't plan for regular, large meals in the suite as the kitchen offers only the essentials and nothing more such as no colander or mixing bowls. It also seemed like a big deal to get additional towels other than every other day and no beach towels. They also weren't generous with toilet paper, paper towels, dishwasher soap or trash bags. I always felt we were putting them out by asking to replenish these items or get fresh towels which was annoying for $2600 for a week. They also don't clean the room at all unless you stay longer than a week and it tends to get pretty dirty with the sand and being oceanfront. In lieu of these complaints our overall stay was great and we very much enjoyed the beach, pool and hot tub, tiki bar and the workout room as well as convenience and proximity to other area amenities such as John's Pass, Dali Museum and much more.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Most guests find our resort a great match for a family with the full kitchen (sorry we can not anticipate every cooking need but we are happy to handle a special request), a washer/dryer in the room, and select housekeeping service. Additional housekeeping services can be arranged upon request. Never hesitate requesting towel service as different parties tend to use different amounts, we do begin with 8 sets upon arrival. Overall we are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our beautiful beach and pool facilities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Room was filthy, I walked the across the carpet and feet turned black. We started the week with 3 towels and ended with 2. I washed the towels and the cleaning lady took them. But have no fear the front desk will sell you soap so you can wash their towels for them. Furniture and pillows looked shabby and dirty as well. The day we left , we went down to load the car and had not checked out yet, the cleaning lady proceeded to throw our drinks and beach toys in the trash after she had separated them out keeping what she wanted. After complaining to the front desk, they offered to retrieve our toys and drinks out of the trash. Who wants crap out of the trash? Save your money go somewhere else that actually has towels and toilet paper. Maybe the newspaper in front of the door was ment to be toilet paper. That would match the quality of the room.

Room Tip: Drink lots of alcohol, because that is the only way this place is acceptable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
We regret that this reviewer did not discuss any issues upon arrival or during their stay. We are sincerely sorry that this guest was not pleased with their visit. We do provide 8 sets of towels upon arrival, perhaps they missed the second bathroom supply which in the unit was a 1/2 bath as it was an ADA furnished suite as requested. Most guests find the washer/dryer a nice convenience with wet swim wear and towels but the desk gladly will provide additional towels. Inspection of the carpet immediately upon seeing the review did not observe dirty carpeting, even with a white glove test. This party was quite upset that the housekeeper was premature in thinking they had departed when the luggage was all removed. Our housekeeping supervisor was immediately available to correct the situation and apologized. Each bathroom in every suite has a spare roll of toilet paper, and amenities are replenished every second day the guest stay. We hope this party will give us another chance when the weather cooperates more that the week of their visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I booked a suite here earlier this month for my son and his bride to stay in for a short honeymoon. We also used the suite to entertain some of our guests and for the bride and her party to use prior to their beach wedding. The staff were very courteous and accommodating, especially the security man who helped us find parking for our cars. The suite was beautiful and well-equipped.

Room Tip: All the suites are nice. If you want a beachfront, you can request one. The rest are beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Congratulations on the nuptials! We are so happy to be part of the successful happy event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsdale, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had 4 adults staying in the 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath unit at Sunset Vista's. The unit was clean on our arrival, check in was swift and we were soon quite happily settled. A few "mechanical issues" were quickly tended to by very helpful maintenance. Housekeeping is suppose to come every other day to empty garbage and leave fresh towels. The first time they came we did not get towels and the second time we did not have garbage emptied. A call to the front desk very swiftly got us everything we ever needed, towel, TP, sheets for pullout bed, etc. The area is well suited to a family vacation with good restaurants, groceries, shopping within a mile or so. Not the area to be in if you are 20 something and want to party! The beach is beautiful, no seaweed, great walks. The pool area was clean and much nicer than I anticipated. I do wish the other residents would use the "Kiddie Pool" for the kids instead of the (small) hot tub as it was often filled with children to the point of not being able to even get in. There is a small bar near the pool/beach that was nice for a tropical cocktail or two.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony with ocean view. Ours was near the end of the building and we still had a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
We are so glad to hear of our quick response to any mechanical issues and towel requests.
We hope that every guest knows that minor hiccups can occur but our staff does pride itself in doing what ever it takes to make it right! We could not agree more that Sunset Vistas is the perfect family resort and in a great location to maximize your vacation activities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Loved staying at this place. Great views, wonderful rooms, fantastic beach! We will definitely go back there. I could not believe how huge the beach was! We walked for a long time. We went down there for Gasparillapiratefest . Great time. Hire the limo service to take you down there and back. Ask at the front desk, they have the limo number.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
The beach is amazing on Treasure Island we are glad it exceeded your expectations!
Thanks for the great review and the suggestion about limo services (some free) for area transportation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites

Address: 12000 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#7 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Hotel Treasure Island
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Resort
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.