We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be excellent but needs improvement in cleaning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites

Save Saved
You added Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12000 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #13 of 43 hotels in Treasure Island
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Would be excellent but needs improvement in cleaning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay this property.

Pros: right on the beach, spacious, full kitchen, friendly service, kid friendly, kiddie pool, two hot tubs, covered and reserved parking

Cons: cleanliness is not up to par with a property that you are paying so much for, smoking in unit balconies prevented us from enjoying our units balcony as we don't enjoy second hand smoke, lack of some items in kitchen, showers need to be re caulked, shower curtain had mildew/mold, stains on bed sheets

All things considered we will probably return as the three bed three bath penthouse has a spectacular view and was perfect for a family of 6 adults and two kids.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    500
    337
    98
    37
    25
See reviews for
632
129
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

All in all the property was well kept, great beach, great staff, and great location. You can walk to many restaurants and tourist spots from this location. The rooms however were a little dated and dirty. There were hairs on our bed (probably from the washer/dryer from housekeeping), dirt on the floor, what appeared to mustard stains on the walls. It definitely could use a fresh coat of paint. The railing on the balcony was missing a screw so one railing wasn't secured 100% (dangerous!). A little attention to detail could go a long way. The room just felt a little dirty too. However, I don't think it really reflects the hotel itself and a little maintenance would make this property outstanding! I would definitely stay again and hope to come back in the future.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of the Gulf from the balcony, but I think paying a little more to get a Gulf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The fact that we chose to return is a good testament to our satisfaction with the property. The beach is just a few steps away from the edge of the hotel. It is a good beach with soft sand. We have stayed over Labor Day as well as spring break time in March. There were busier days and slower days, but I would never call the beech crowded (for my definition of crowded, think Waikiki, Clearwater Beach, etc.). Some of the other guests were definitely party-oriented, but we were never bothered or disturbed. That said, we've never been to the adult pool. We spent our pool time at the kiddy pool and it was never crowded. I think the location is ideal for a family with small children since we could easily access the grocery store and do most of our own cooking. Plenty of restaurants are near by, so if one didn't want to cook it would be very easy to find a good alternative. For the price, the limited housekeeping service is frustrating, but they happily provide extra towels, etc. if needed. The hotel assigns parking with dedicated spots for each room. This is genius since the license plates suggests many, many people drive from Canada, the Midwest, and the Southeast. My only real complaint is the floor (which is a newer tile) is incompatible with the casters on the furniture. On some evenings it was as if the folks above us were in perpetual motion. That, or they chained a small dog to one of the chairs and set it loose around the room. All in all, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at Sunset for 3 nights before heading over to Disney for a week. Everyone in our party had an excellent time! The rooms were very clean and the gulf view was perfect! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The beach/pool bar was excellent as well. Prices are very reasonable (gratuity is included) but that beer will cost you. You can always stop at the local Publix or liquor store and pick up what you need which will cut down on that cost. Since we were only there for two days, we just stuck with the bar. Sunset Vistas is located close to John's Pass and other restaurants for dinner. Delosa's has awesome pizza if you want something quick. There is also a winery close if you are looking for something else to do. Overall had a great time and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have an awesome sunset. I'd request a room further from the elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed for a week arrived Saturday of labor day weekend and place was busy with Americans away for the weekend. Started off quiet by the pool on the Sunday but as the day went on got busy with families around the pool, same on the Monday and one lady came and put towels on chairs at 10:30 and then didn't come to the pool until 2:30 and when she did there were 10 of them all adults who then proceeded to put music on which was loud for everyone to hear, there were signs all around the pool saying no drinks in pool but that was ignored and almost all the Americans were drinking in the pool when children were playing. From Tuesday onwards it was very quiet and the rest of our stay was very relaxing. The apartment looked a little tired but was well equipped and comfortable with a view over the gulf, towels were changed every 2 days. There are plenty of places to eat and drink a 10 minute walk away at John's Pass especially liked Gators. The reception staff were very helpful and welcoming. The beach was right next to the hotel and as you walked over to the beach there was a huge box with leftover chairs umbrellas inflatables that people had bought and left on site for residents of sunset vista to use which I think was a brilliant idea as 2 beds and an umbrella was available to rent for $20 for the day on the beach which is expensive. Overall a great stay and a lovely location

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at Suset Vistas for 3 nights from 8th September. We booked the Junior Penthouse and our family and friends booked the 2 bed condos facing the beach too. The staff at Sunset Vistas are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. The Manager David responded to al of my e mails quickly and provided me with all the information I needed to plan our wedding and stay at the hotel.

The accommodation was clean and we were offered clean towels every day. The cafe serves a great breakfast and has a relaxed atmosphere. I saw that some reviews said the area was a little run down. We didn't think so, we had a great time at Johns Pass which is about a mile up the road, we wished we could have stayed longer. The condo has everything you need including kitchen facilities and a washer/dryer. The TV is fantastic too.

I will be coming to stay here on our next visit but I will do a longer stay. There are cheaper accommodations around the area but I think the price of Sunset Vistas accurately reflects the location and quality of the accommodation. They have a large pool and a whirlpool spa and the tiki bar is right by the pool. I had a few nice cocktails here. This place is great for family, friends and couples. I miss it already :)

Room Tip: Stay at the section facing the beach, you get great views in the morning when you opne your curtains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

From the call to book our room to check-out, we had a fantastic experience at Sunset Vistas. our room was great, and the staff was ever smiling and helpful. I really wanted to be right on the beach, have access to a pool, and a Gulf view, and got all I wanted, and more. I've already recommended this place to a few friends and will definitely return myself!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites

Address: 12000 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#10 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Hotel Treasure Island
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Resort
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.