We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset vistas beachfront suites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites to your Saves list
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12000 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sunset vistas beachfront suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The condo was clean and spacious. We had a gulf front room, very beautiful view of gulf and sunsets. The food was good at the cafe. Everything was very nice. The staff was pleasant. We would stay here again. I wish the bed was a king not queen. There is a circle k across the street and publix down the street. You will want to bring ice or wait till you turn ice maker on and wait more. I was very impressed to see handicapped lifts at the pool and hot tub. The beach was clean and very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    360
    106
    39
    28
See reviews for
701
146
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4, with two boys aged 9 and 10, booked this hotel through Allegiant Air on about 3 week's notice. The price for airfare for 4 and the hotel for 7 nights was almost too good to be true. We had our concerns (as in, how good could it be for this price?!) but we needed a vacation and this fit our timeframe and budget.

The drive from PIE airport was a quick and easy 30 minutes and check in to the hotel was friendly and smooth. From landing to baggage to opening the balcony door of the room, it was an hour tops. PIE is a small airport and easy to get in and out of quickly and is much easier than flying into Tampa.

The room was clean, had an ocean view from the staggered decks off of the side of the hotel, came with assigned covered parking and elevator and stair access in either direction. There is a small, affordable cafe that serves breakfast and lunch. Every meal we had was great. Facing the Gulf was a good sized pool and a Tiki bar serving your favorite adult beverages. They offer complimentary corn hole/bean bag toss boards for use and there are several tables and room to move around on their deck. You can also bill food and drink to your room so you don't have to carry a wallet to the pool or beach.

The beach was wide and clean and chairs and umbrellas were available to use. Tropicana Stadium is 15 minutes away so you can easily catch a Rays game while in town. Restaurants are plentiful in both directions of the hotel and there is a great shopping and dining area in John's Pass about 5 minutes down the road. There is also a convenience store directly across from the hotel for all the miscellaneous stuff you need; beer, soda, a deck of cards, chips etc.

The rooms were not huge but had all the essentials. Basics like plates, glasses and utensils were provided. There is a full kitchen, dining table, couch and chair in living room and 3 flat screen TVs (one in each of two bedrooms and in living room). Cable TV is provided so if you get a rainy week like we did, you can make the most of your down time and nights.

We'd visit again, would recommend it to friends and family and had a great time. It is not the Ritz or even an upscale chain hotel, but when it's 95 degrees and you're wearing a bathing suit most of the day it doesn't really matter, does it?!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Last minute booking turned out great. older building but neat and clean. Beautiful sunsets. Lovely cocktail bar with stunning views and very friendly bar lady. She was very friendly and helpful. Advised us on restaurants and things to do. We enjoyed many fabulous cocktails here.. Not cheap but was worth it. Nice apartment. Crockery and cutlery not so clean on arrival. Perfect for self catering stay with kitchen. Breakfast okay but not great. Great pool and jacuzzi. Also enjoyed the beach. Conveniently situated with all shops and restaurants nearby. Short drive to Clearwater Marine aquarium. Definitely worth a visit. Friendly welcome. Overall good value.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradenton, fl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

My mum and I have stayed here multiple times now- and it never disappoints! Everything from the very accommodating front desk staff ( Kay and Krissy are wonderful and nothing was too much trouble!) to the well appointed rooms to the gorgeous beach- we are anxiously awaiting our next visit to this outstanding property.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have put a review on here even though we didn't book it through Sunset Vista but booked through Crystal Palms to stay in one of their condos at Sunset Vista which was one block up & on the beach.

Crystal Palms were still technically our 'front desk' & worked together with Sunset Vista.

Confirmation of our stay came through near to the time of visit from Crystal Palms, which included directions & where to check in. They informed us at check in that we could also use both sites amenities & not to hesitate to contact crystal palms for any questions etc, provided room keys & parking passes. Very polite staff & a very easy check in.

No negatives to report or issues we felt throughout our stay. There was a leak found in the master bathroom from the ceiling light. We quickly got in touch with the front desk at sunset vista as we thought it needed urgent attention. 3 men came from crystal palms & sunset vista within minutes & the matter was sorted. Excellent.

Our apartment was 3 bedroom staring straight at the gulf on the second floor 205/206, very clean, loads of towels & toiletries, huge kitchen with all the necessary. There was no noise at night from the bar below. Our room was cleaned & towels changed every day (crystal palms policy maybe). Pool was lovely & again cleaned every day. There was a community box near the pool which everyone was welcome to use the pool toys, good idea & most people did.

Great location, nice staff, lovely apartment. Thank you Crystal Palms & Sunset Vista

Room Tip: Room 205/206 faced straight onto the gulf, the parking bay was also located right underneath so very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We appreciate the lovely review. The three bedroom unit mentioned is now part of the Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites inventory and has even been upgraded this week! Thanks for the nice comments. For consistency of the product and suite locations it is recommended to book directly with Sunset Vistas in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moseley, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Very spacious 2 bedroom suite with beautiful gulf views! The condo was very clean and the property well maintained. There was an on-site cafe with cooked to order breakfast and lunch items which were tasty and VERY fairly priced. There was also a tiki bar located at the entrance to the beach. Great service and pricing as well! I have to say that we never used the pool while we were there but instead spent all of our time on the beautiful white sand beach. We were able to rent chairs and paddleboards very easily. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks for this helpful and "fantastic" review. We are glad that the Cafe and Beach Bar met your needs and exceeded your expectations. We agree that our beach is next to none!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is the perfect location for a beach vacation. The beach itself was spectacular. Clean. Soft sand. Never over-crowded. The shore at Sunset Vistas is not nearly as deep as the hotels that are just 2-3 doors down, (which have a quarter mile hike through the sand before you hit ocean.) We lucked out on this detail, for sure! SV has loungers, umbrellas or clamshells for rent, and there is a free “take what you need, leave what you don’t” beach box. Some days it was over-flowing with floats, knee boards, chairs and toys. Other days it was completely empty by the time we got there. Hit or miss, but a nice feature.

There were two pools. The kiddie area had a nice sized, zero-entry pool with fountains. Deepest part was 1.5ft so it’s ideal for independent toddlers. There’s also a hot tub in this area. The second pool is a good sized, clover-shaped pool ranging from 3-5ft deep. There are plenty of chairs around the perimeter of the pool and a separate deck with a bunch of loungers.

One downside to the beach/pool, is that they do not supply towels! They encourage you to use hotel room towels at the pool and gladly swap them out (if you call the front desk), but they don’t like for the towels to go to the beach. In my opinion, the hotel needs to invest in a proper towel exchange. We’ve visited many different types of water-front properties and this was the first time we had to go out and buy beach towels. That was disappointing.

We had a couple minor housekeeping issues when we first go into our room but aside from that (and the towel issue) we are so pleased with the facility and the kindness of the staff. They were always tending to the grounds in some form. The front desk staff was warm and kind, even remembering our names. Little things like that make you feel very comfortable.

The units were exactly what we needed, a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment with plenty of storage, a full kitchen & a washer & dryer. We were on a lower level and towards the front of the building (close to the street, rather than the beach). Although I would have liked a better ocean view I did appreciate the quiet of being away from the pools. The accommodations were more than adequate and quite comfortable. Other perks of the property include a ping pong table, workout facility, café (I had a great little breakfast sandwich every morning for just $4), and a beach bar.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms will be in the front of the building. The best ocean views will be towards the back and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are delighted the writer enjoyed our beach and resort, very helpful suggestions (we do listen!). We look forward to welcoming you back and our staff appreciated the very nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites

Address: 12000 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Hotel Treasure Island
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Resort
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.