We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites to your Saves list
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12000 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Treasure Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We love Sunset Vistas. We have stayed there many times, and it's such a nice place. The staff is always friendly and helpful, and they will go above and beyond to make their guests' stays enjoyable. The two bedroom condos offer full kitchens with granite countertops and two full bathrooms. The decor is up-to-date, and the gulf front condos have absolutely breathtaking views. And of course, the sunsets are magnificent! They have a very large heated pool, two hot tubs, and the best kid's pool, complete with little fountains. There is also a tiki bar facing the beach, and a cafe for those times when you just don't feel like making breakfast or lunch.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
It is very gratifying to hear such nice comments, thank you. Our staff appreciates hearing when they hit a home run!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    354
    104
    38
    27
See reviews for
680
135
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Myself, my husband, daughter, son-in-law and 2 grandchildren stayed here 4th of July week. It was our 1st time here and we rented suite 612N from a Treasure Island realty company through VRBO. Since we rented through a realty company, there is no maid service and any issues you have with the unit itself, you contact the realty company. The one issue I had with Sunset Vistas is regarding the lack of enforcing the pool rules. Non-enforcement of these rules makes it difficult for those who do follow the rules to get a table/chairs. The pools open at 9 a.m. and the sign at the pool entrances specifically states that reserving of chairs/tables at the pools is not allowed. Four of the seven days we were there, we witnessed one guest going to the pool area once the pool gate was unlocked for the pool man, reserving 5-7 lounge chairs and a table with 4-5 regular chairs. Then she would disappear until way after 9 a.m. There were numerous others that also reserved a couple of chairs or a table. Then some would actually get into the pool (roughly around 8-8:30 a.m. while the pool man was cleaning the kiddie pool or the hot tub). I called the front desk and informed them and was told they would get their pool staff to ensure the people were told to leave. When the staff arrived, they only told the people in the pool to get out but let them stay in the pool area. They did nothing about the reserved chairs/tables where no guests were present. The staff member at the front desk actually told my husband when he called, that he could go move their towels....REALLY??? and that certainly wouldn't start a fight, would it?!?!? Another issue is our reserved parking place was in the covered parking area. There were guests across from it that literally tailgated EVERY DAY and EVERY NIGHT, RAIN OR SHINE that we were there making it very difficult to park. They had numerous chairs set up beyond the parking space and one night they had a PIZZA PARTY with a table blocking the entire roadway. Besides those things, the unit we rented from the realty office was very nice, very clean and had a spectacular view of the beach and pool. We brought our own blow-up mattress for the kids because we have had bad experiences with poor mattresses in the pull-out couches in the past at other places. While neither bedroom had floor space for the kids' mattress, there was plenty of room to put it in the living room or the kitchen area outside the 2nd bedroom.

Room Tip: 612N gets the sunset views. We had a couple of days with high winds causing a lot of sand blowing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Five adults and a two year old...all family members enjoyed our stay in the lovely decorated 2 bedroom condo. Beds were comfortable and rooms were quiet...enough for a toddler to nap, even during the 4th of July week.The beautifully landscaped courtyard and sparkling clean pools and hot tubs really added to our ocean escape. Our granddaughter loved the fountains in the kiddie pool. What a great convenience to have a borrow box of pool and ocean toys (even a few donated beach chairs!) so that we didn't have to lug so much from our room each day. Service was quick and efficient. We had two minor issues in our room which were corrected immediately upon request. We also appreciated the convenience of the reasonably priced café right on the property...visited it 3 times in 5 days. Our only request would be to speed up the internet connection. Thanks, Kathy, for spending so much time helping us plan our Getaway. We'd love to revisit sometime. :)

  • Liked — our balcony with a lovely view of the pool and ocean
  • Disliked — slow internet
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a group for a family reunion. I enjoyed my stay. The room was clean and spacious. The kitchen was nicely stocked with cooking supplies. We also had beach chairs, floaties, and beach toys in our room.

I also really liked the cafe. It was reasonably priced and they had a nice selection of food and drinks. The cafe service was wonderful.

One of the few downsides to our stay was the pool and bar closes at 10pm.

Overall I liked it and would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Ar
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We rented 2 condos for our 3 generation family of 9 people. We rented gulf front condos which was really nice to have. The condos were a little small for 6 people. The other 3 people had plenty of room in their condo. There was enough bedding but the living area was a little small when we were all there, but most of our time was spent on the beach so it wasn't a deal breaker. The condo was clean but the furniture was a little worn. We bought groceries at the local Winn Dixie and cooked most all meals in the condo. The kitchen needs a few more amenities. There were no measuring cups and no cutting board, the knives were so dull you could barely peel an apple. They only gave us 1 dishwasher detergent cube per day, when I asked for more at the front desk she acted like I was asking for free food. The beach was very nice. The umbrella and chair rental were $30 per day, so we went to Walmart and bought some beach chairs and a $17 umbrella that saved us alot of money on our 4 days at the beach. The signs in the lobby warn you about stingrays but we never experienced any problems with them. Overall this was adequate for our family trip.

Room Tip: Spring for the gulf front view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just left Sunset Vistas today. Stayed there for 5 nights with my two teenage daughters. The resort was nice but rooms definitely need updating. We stayed on the North side of the building. When I booked the trip I requested a gulf view and if you go by the pictures on the website you will be disappointed. Yes you could see the gulf (barely) but your view is mostly the parking lot. We took a look at an empty gulf-front room and that is the way to go (rugs were filthy though).
The beach is beautiful but it is very expensive to rent chairs/umbrella....$35 per day for set-up. The pool was nice but very crowded and I noticed quite a few people were NOT hotel guests. We had terrible WIFI basically NO WIFI in our room. I had to go outside the "front" door to get any. I called a couple times and was told that it would be fixed but never was. We did enjoy the Cafe on site....the ladies were great and the food was reasonable. We ate breakfast and lunch there most days. Towels were changed every other day which was fine.
I would highly recommend St. John's Pass which is about 8 blocks from the hotel. There are lots of shops and restaurants there. Also if you want GREAT Italian food, travel 10 miles on Gulf Blvd. to Indian Rock Beach and go to Villa Gallace....AMAZING food. Will I return to Sunset Vistas? I would say probably but would make a better choice of rooms.

Room Tip: Stay in a Gulf-front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
While we appreciate this review we really do strive to be "great". We regret that this guest feels our rooms needs updating. We work on updates consistently, the upholstery, drapes and additional flat screens are all new this past year in all of our suites. We are installing new bed scarves next week. Professional tile and carpet cleaning are on-going throughout the year. Considering the carpet, they may have viewed a suite that was not part of the on-site rental program of Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites. We do offer Gulf Front suites directly over the beach. All rooms do have an angled balcony facing the gulf with at least some water view. Every effort is made to ensure our photos and web site are completely representative. We recently experienced strong thunderstorms that temporarily knocked out power and affected the WiFi. This was promptly repaired. We find, compared to other Florida beaches, that the prices by the City of Treasure Islands contracted vendor for umbrella and chairs are well below average. A Full cabana shade with two lounges is only $30 for the day ($15 for two hours) and they do offer multi-day discounts. We also provide a "share box" with many beach chairs on a first come basis. Our resort security provides frequent patrols of the pool area for non-guests and glass. I know our Cafe staff will be delighted with your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Check-in went slow, we had to wait awhile for our rooms, which was fine as we were going to get some lunch. Returned and they told us our rooms had been cleaned and ready for us. We got into our room and found that the rooms had two single bed bedrooms which is not what we were told by AAA when we placed the reservation. We were not happy with this as we needed a room with double beds, and a room with a single. Well we settled in for the night and found dirty towels hanging on the back of the bathroom door in both bathrooms, the bathroom floors by the tub were very dirty, and there were shampoo and conditioner bottles that were open left on the counters. YUCK!! We opened the couch for the kids to sleep on and could not find any sheets to put on the bed so we had to call down to the front desk again...when opening the couch, there was garbage and candy that was on the floor below the couch...UGGG vacations shouldn't be this stressful and we have to pay for this??? Took a shower that night and no light in the shower, no one around until the morning to fix it. The exterior of the place looks nice but you can tell inside that it is dated. This was to be a relaxing family vacation but when you have service like this, it just makes it no fun. Would not stay again at this resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We are disappointed that this guest would not return, by far our largest source of guests are "return customers". I encourage this guest to contact the Manager for further discussion. Perhaps our staff may have been hurried for the early arrival but there is no excuse for the condition upon your arrival. We certainly would have wanted to send staff right back up to correct the oversight or error in status. We clearly post that check in time is after 4pm on our website,confirmations and signage. We do our best to accommodate earlier arrivals when possible and they arrived around lunch time. All of our rooms have a queen size bed in each of two bedrooms and a queen size sleeper sofa. This is clear on our website as well as with our booking partners. I would always suggest viewing the Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites website for the most complete and accurate descriptions and photographs, and the guaranteed lowest rate. We do appreciate the feedback and will share this experience with our housekeeping staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites

Address: 12000 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#9 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Hotel Treasure Island
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Resort
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.