We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mardi Gras Motel

Mardi Gras Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Treasure Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mardi Gras Motel
11965 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5195   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 43 hotels in Treasure Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

My best friend and I need an inexpensive place to stay for a few days and stumbled upon this gem. The owners are a sweet Italian family who were very accommodating. The rooms are everything an more than you could ask for in a motel. Clean, neat, and complete with a fridge. They also have efficiencies available, though for $45 a night, the motel room is perfect! Cute pool area, and beach access right across the street are also bonuses. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We spent 10 days in Treasure Island and just got home today. It was awesome to stay at the Mardi Gras Motel. I chose it from other reviews on Trip Advisor prior to this trip which was very helpful. Being familiar with Treasure Island was a huge help and I knew the general area of where Mardi Gras was. Krystyna and Jesse are awesome hosts and will go out of their way to accommodate you. We met some great people who come here year after year and we will definitely return in the future as they do. Very clean rooms and a fully equipped kitchen, right down to coffee filters. The pool is heated and great and the outside patio furnishings are very comfortable. Nice thick towels in the bathrooms as well - this beats the chains hands down!!


I would recommend the Mardi Gras to anyone who is looking for a quiet vacation paradise in Treasure Island, you will not be disappointed. Price is very fair as well. I look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Driving around Treasure Island looking for place to stay for one night and not spend a fortune is not bad if there's time. Understanding it must be an average place, that's the way I took it. The price is fair when compared to everything else in the area. The owners are nice. The place looks nice, almost picture perfect.

Although rooms was clean, it smelled like people had smoked in it (it had NO SMOKING sign in it, but it stank of cigarette smell). Bathroom was clean and nice. The bed is not the most comfortable (nothing like your own bed at home...).

Room Tip: Go smell it before committing to it, even the sheets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kópavogur, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Good place. Very kind owners. I loved it and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I took a chance this Labor day and decided to go with an old school motel in walking distance to Johns Pass. We got there and the owners were awesome, very friendly and kind. We stayed on the second floor and the place was more than what we needed. It had two full beds and a pull out couch, a fully furninshed kitchen and good size bathroom. I loved it. It was like a little family cottage. The pool was awesome and everything was well lit at night. It was soo tranquil and peacefull I did not want to leave. Much better than another corporate hotel ripping you off like most others do. I loved it and would recommend it to everyone. We will definately be back!!!!

Room Tip: Located directly across the street from beach access, a cute ice cream shop and a Circle K...and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We planned an impromptu trip to Treasure Island. I traveled with my sister, her three kids and our parents. We stopped at several motels/hotels along Gulf Blvd from Passe-Grill Beach, St. Pete Beach, Treasure Island and Madeira Beach. Everyone was completely over-priced or the rooms were quite scary!

We happened upon the Mardi Gras and we were so happy that we discovered this gem of Treasure Island! The owners were so friendly and welcoming. We needed two rooms and needed one of the rooms to be downstairs so that it would easily accommodate my father who doesn't walk very well. The owner said that it would be around an hour before my parent's room could be cleaned but if they didn't mind putting their things in the second room, we could have adjoining rooms downstairs. We were 10 steps from a beautiful pool and a 2 minute walk from the beach.

The rooms were very clean. My sister and the kids and I stayed in the efficiency room with a full kitchen and the main area contained a full size sofa, two double beds and an easy chair with ottoman. The 32" flat screen t.v. was quite nice as well.

If I'm not mistaken, we paid around $115 for both rooms (total). This was less than some nasty motels wanted for one dinky room with just one double bed.

We will definitely be back to the Mardi Gras and we plan on staying longer next time. This motel is highly recommended, family friendly and a bargain without sacrificing comfort, cleanliness or location!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

We had a great time at Mardi Gras. We were there with our son and his family. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. The owners were very kind and gracious to us. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mardi Gras Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Motel

Address: 11965 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5195
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Mardi Gras Hotel
Mardi Gras Motel Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mardi Gras Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mardi Gras Motel to your Saves list