We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Higher is better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Surf Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surf Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11040 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 hotels in Treasure Island
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Higher is better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed on the second floor overlooking the pool equipment. It was noisy sitting outside when this equipment is running. The view was nice, but as other reviews mention, the beach is very wide here, and consequently a long walk. It would be much better to be on the 6th floor and then you would not hear the plumbing sounds, and be away from the pool equipment.
The bed was very comfortable. Great beach view. My only complaint was that you could hear the plumbing noise when other units above were running water. I did like that there were 3 TVs. Everyone had a choice if they wanted it. The kitchen/living/dining space was small but fully equipped. Another bonus is that there were 2 bathrooms. Lots of privacy. Parking is an issue if you have more than one car. There were some guest spots at the front of the hotel, but these were first come, first serve, and local parking was minimum $10./day. On Labor Day weekend, it was busy, and my friend had to search for parking. During the week, parking was not an issue.
We were able to walk to restaurants, shopping. Great time with my family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfBeachCondos, Manager at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear whitebirdofparadise,

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we thank you for choosing Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC as your home away from home. We look forward to your return visit with us soon!

Sunsational Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    90
    23
    11
    3
See reviews for
229
70
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Where to start? This place is awesome! We were going to stay in Orlando while on vacation but thought maybe it would be nice to go somewhere with a beach. We had stayed in St. Pete's for our anniversary 28 years ago and remembered driving by this area then. After reading reviews here on TA, we rolled the dice on this place, and won.

The rooms are immaculate. Cleanliness is such a big factor for us. The room had everything. The views from our balcony were incredible. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms. So much space. The kitchen had everything we needed. The balcony is huge and has doors from both the living room and the master bedroom. It is located right on Gulf Blvd and is within walking distance to everything including a Publix grocery store, a Walgreens and several great restaurants ( Ricky T's being our favourite ).

There were a few bumps in the road during our vacation. The pool and hot tub were both down for the last 3 days of our stay. While we love the beach, it would have been nice to have the pool too. They did offer us the use of their sister site just a 5 minute walk up the street, so that was not a deal breaker. The elevator is super slow too but that only seemed to be an issue on the day we arrived with our luggage. Most days we had no issue and we also decided to walk down the stairs for exercise. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful ( Eva if my memory stands correct ).

So having said all of that,,,we can't wait to book it again next September. We loved it! The area of Treasure Island is more of a local's kind of place and less like a touristy hangout. Our kind of place.

Room Tip: As stated before, every room is great. We chose to stay on the top floor. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfBeachCondos, Manager at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Bobbert63,

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we thank you for choosing Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC as your home away from home. We look forward to your return visit with us soon!

Sunsational Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I'm giving this four stars with a few caveats. We rented directly through the owner so I won't comment on the interior condition of our condo, but will review the property and surrounding area here. It's true that this condo is technically beachfront and you will have a nice view of the ocean, but the water is quite a long hike from the building. Factor this in if you have small kids, are handicapped, or are 7 months pregnant like me and don't want to do a lot of walking in the hot sun.

The pool area is small but nice, with loungers, umbrellas, and a hot tub.

There are plenty of shops and restaurants and a Publix grocery store within walking distance across the street, and John's Pass Village has even more options just down the road.

The building has one elevator but it's very slow and smelled strange.

The parking situation is a potential negative. You only get one tight parking space per unit, and there is only one guest spot for the entire place. If you have 2 couples/vehicles sharing a condo, the other car is out of luck. You will have to find parking several blocks away or park in front of the building and hope you don't get towed.

The beach was just okay in my opinion. The sand had a lot of shells instead of the powdery soft sand I'm used to on the Gulf, there was the long walk to shore (seriously, you could stay across the street at any other beach and still have a shorter walk), and there were tons of stingrays in the water when we went.

I did enjoy the paved sidewalk running behind the condo - nice for taking a walk or run, and there was also a public playground on the beach to the right if you have kids.

Overall, we got a good value for the price we paid, but I will probably look elsewhere for our next beach vacation, mainly due to the conditions of the beach here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfBeachCondos, Manager at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear bananafishfever,

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we thank you for choosing Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC as your home away from home. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We will address all issues immediately. We look forward to your return visit with us soon!

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Theses condos are just the best place u can take your family. They r 2 bedrooms and r fully stocked with everything that u need!!! The view is beautiful and all the staff is amazing. If u r looking for a getting away for a great price u should really check them out!! They have a heated hot tub and a hot tub. Go check them out :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfBeachCondos, Manager at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear MissyWhite,

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we thank you for choosing Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC as your home away from home. We look forward to your return visit with us soon!

Sunsational Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This place is very good. Nicely furnished and very clean two bedroom, two bath in the heart of Treasure Island, Fl. I was there for the pool and view of the gulf. The office staff were very friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend this resort and plan to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfBeachCondos, Manager at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Judi P,

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we thank you for choosing Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC as your home away from home. We look forward to your return visit with us soon!

Sunsational Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our stay at Surf Beach was average. I did stay there a few years back and thought it was awesome. For some reason they have let it slip a bit in the expectations. The furnishings were outdated & worn. The blinds had been repaired several times and were very hard to work with. The room was for the most part clean. Had some issues with sheets on one of the beds had not been washed. The room layout is great and the beach is beautiful. A bit of a walk but very nice.

Room Tip: May want to look at it before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfBeachCondos, Manager at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Nsanney,

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we thank you for choosing Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC as your home away from home. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We will address all issues immediately. We look forward to your return visit with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was first time staying at this property and I was very pleased. I was in town for the Yankee baseball series with the Tampa Bay Rays. This property was a perfect on the beach and a 20 minute drive to Tropicana Field. The front office staff was very friendly and answered all our questions. Surf Beach Resort sits directly on the beach and there were resturants within walking distance. The 2BR 2 bath was perfect for two couples traveling for the game. Nicely furnished and large enough for two adult couples to move around freely.

I would certainly recomennd this property and plan to return there on my visits to the Beach or during baseball season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfBeachCondos, Manager at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Chick S

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we thank you for choosing Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC as your home away from home. We look forward to your return visit with us soon!

Sunsational Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Beach Resort

Address: 11040 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Surf Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.