We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look No Further for a Great Cuban Sandwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Floridian

The Floridian
230 107th Ave, Treasure Island, FL 33706
(727) 367-6662
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: American, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Crystal Lake, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Look No Further for a Great Cuban Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I normally like to write several sentences, but this place can be summed up in just five words "The Best Cubans in Town". I've always ordered to go, but there is limited indoor and outdoor seating available along with limited alcohol service. They also offer other choices including soups, but the "star of the show" here are pressed (warm) authentic freshly-made Cuban sandwiches on authentic (and delicious) Cuban bread. The sandwiches come in small and large sizes....with the large being usually enough for two. Or to have a day or two later....they're still outstanding.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    72
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing cuban food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

One of the most authentic cuban sandwiches ever... Great rice and beans and cuban bread....tiny place clean and good service....

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Cuban Fare and More”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was intent on going to Dixie's Dog House for a Chicago dog, but it was closed. So I went to The Floridian next door. The place was busy, so I had to wait to order my two combos to go. But the wait wasn't long, and I had a free glass of water with lime while waiting.

My only gripe was that I ordered a tuna melt and when I got home I discovered that the "T" inscribed on the bag was for turkey! My wife wouldn't trade her Cuban, so I ate the turkey. It was OK, but not like the Cuban. Both came with black beans and rice, along with extra bread, which is always good with some hot sauce. The lesson for me was to order Cuban in a Cuban place. The turkey is now making me sleepy. Next time I'm going to get the spiced pork combo or the roast beef combo, which I've had here before. The former reminds me of Cuban places in MIami--just right.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cuban”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Every time in the St. Pete area I make my way to the Floridan to get the best Cuban Sandwich in the country. It is a very small sandwich shop but they always have a line out the door. I will be back...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife loves their black beans and says its the best that she has ever had. We try to eat there at least 1 every 2 weeks.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Floridian also viewed

Treasure Island, FL
 

Been to The Floridian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Floridian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.