We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just 'Hosts'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whispers Resort at Treasure Island

Save Saved
You added Whispers Resort at Treasure Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whispers Resort at Treasure Island
279 104th Ave, Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More than just 'Hosts'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a perfect 2-week stay at the Whispers-Resort. I stayed with my 7-year-old daughter in one of the appartements. In the mornings and evenings we were able to see the dolphins swim by, right in front of the resort, which was absolutely amazing. The location was beautiful and very peaceful. The appartement was good in size, clean and had everything we needed (the bathroom is a bit small). We were mostly 'running' around and just stayed in the appartement from the late afternoon. It is perfect for families, who like to explore the area and are not looking for a 5-star-hotel. There were tons of things to do, just short car rides away (Johns Pass is a 2 min ride, Tampa Zoo 40 min, Florida Aquarium 40 min, Mote research center 30 min etc.) My daughter enjoyed the pool very much and the fishing right on the peer of the resort. The sandy white beach is just a short walk of about 10 minutes away, as well as a big grocery store. There are restaurants and shops nearby (walking distance). The price-performance ratio was very good and I don't understand the bad ratings at all.

We want to thank the landlords, Jeffery and Sharda, for their hospitality and we were very impressed with their passion for the resort! To us they were more than just hosts! Thank you so much for everything!
Franziska & Hannah F.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmsolomon, Owner at Whispers Resort at Treasure Island, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind review, we are always doing our utmost to bring a very personal touch and to meet all our guests.

I wish you a wonderful Xmas!

Warm Regards

Jeff and Sharda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    14
    5
    13
    32
See reviews for
32
30
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
treasure island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

1 bedroom and a pull out sofa bed. Do not rent this unit if you have more then 2 people. Sofa bed is worn out. It is our first night here and I slept in my car as I guess I will have to do the rest of the week too. Way to expensive for sleeping in the parking lot. Other then that not bad , pool and dock area needs cleaned up but pretty nice.

Room Tip: Good price if you dont have to use the sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmsolomon, Owner at Whispers Resort at Treasure Island, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Friends,

I am astonished to see this here. It is the first I have heard of this. It is rather bizarre in my experience.

I am completely baffled why they did not contact me.. That is the logical thing for someone to do. I keep air mattresses as well and they could have had one. On top of a pull out sofa, or on the floor it is quite comfortable. Like a Sleep Number Bed, you can set your level of comfort.

I cannot imagine that they slept in their car let alone that the car was more comfortable than a sofa.
One could sleep on the sofa rather than in a car and be more comfortable.

If they had a problem and choose not tell me about it, how can I help them?

I will say this about my sofa beds, they are not old.
I recommend them for small children. I do not recommend them for large adults or for a couple of adults because of the necessity of having a thin, fold up mattress.
The mattress is designed to fold up and the fact is that the base is a collapsible spring base like a trampoline that also folds up. in the comfort department they are not idea. This is true for all sleeper sofas.

An adult should consider a pull out sofa if they are seeking to save money on lodging, and are willing to put up with some level of discomfort for the sake of price. And especially if they dont mind this sleeping on a pull out sofa. They are not for everybody.

Having said all that, I am certain that this person did not sleep in their car. And if they did without telling me, it is unfortunate because I could have helped them.

Sincerely

Jeffrey Solomon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The arrival to Florida started off a bit topsy turvy as the airline lost our luggage. We arrived at whispers resort with a lot of stress and panic. The property owner was there to greet us and show us around the property, which I have to say, is the perfect getaway from all the fast paced NYC life. I had told him about our problems at the airport and without even thinking about it he took my information and insured us he would take care of it and to start enjoying our vacation. Easier said then done. Sure enough he had tracked down and organized our luggage to be delivered to us. We stayed there with a great sense of being taken care of and letting go of stress. The room was very clean and everything was provided for us. I highly recommend this place. Best bang for your buck hands down and the most beautiful beach I have ever seen. Calm waters and talc powder like sand. I can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmsolomon, Owner at Whispers Resort at Treasure Island, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Seth,

I am happy to have helped you.

I also appreciate your kind comments.

We feel that it is only small and caring mom and pop places like ours that can give the kind of personal attention that we do.

I am glad that you were able to chill out and relax as soon as you got here and that we could help to make that happen for you.

Best wishes

Jeff and Sharda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Mind over Matter...If you don't mind , it doesn't matter. Whispers is a place that is somewhat outdated if you compare it to the pristine marble condos built today. We found that there were many things that outweigh the glamer of the new condos here. If you can ignore lose door handles, broken light switches and older plumbing and enjoy the great garden, excellant location, waterfront dock and private santuary then you will enjoy Whispers. Our bed was a bit saggy and the couch uncomfortable but the place was clean and well stocked with whatever you need to live . PET friendly too. Would I return....yes .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmsolomon, Owner at Whispers Resort at Treasure Island, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Hi Joseph,

Thanks so much for your kind comments.

We do keep close to our "raison d'etre" our reason to be, our mission statement.

Whispers is a 50's / 60"s original and a bit of Florida heritage.

Sharda and I resisted the developers through the "McCondo's" boom in Florida.

We could have sold out for a couple of million bucks but we have a higher goal, to preserve our local history and the authenticity of a traditional Florida Experience for future generations.

We like to say that Whispers is Bee Wop a Doo from a more innocent time of the corner drug store and before cookie cutter motels mushroomed across the landscape.

The garden is a labor of love. Twelve years ago when we took over the property it was a paved over concrete sterile thing. We replaced it with loads of tropical plants, bushes, trees and palms and today we have a REAL Florida tropical garden full of ferns, ginger, bamboo, palms and real avocado and mango trees. Lush and thriving.

We are always looking for ways to improve and if that means a harder or a softer mattress, just let me know.

We have genuine feather beds that are very comfortable, but there are those that like a real hard sleep and we can switch it out for you.
If there ANYTHING that will make your stay better and more comfortable we will do it.

JUST ASK!

All the plumbing and electric was replaced a couple of years ago when we renovated the condos, and installed a new pool.

Have a great summer,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I was saddened to see the bad reviews and had to comment, my family of 4 stayed here a couple of years ago we were looking for "affordable with a kitchen and a comfortable bed within walking distance to the beach" we got all that and more the tropical landscaping they have done is very pretty lighted up at night and we had a small private patio to relax, the kitchen worked for our needs, the furniture was not fancy in any way, so what, the beach is so close who cares about the couch, all in all, for the price of staying in a super 8 you get a comfy little place to call home for your vacation, if you expect fancy please feel free to pay more, lots more, its treasure island after all!! My only suggestion is some pool heat Jeff, in june the pool is too cold to use unless you are 10 and dont care if y6our lips are blue!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmsolomon, Owner at Whispers Resort at Treasure Island, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thanks so much for your review.

Our goal is to preserve and provide an authentic Florida Vacation from the "Good ol' Days" when many of us came to Florida with our parents.

When we packed up the family in the old "woodie" station wagon and headed south.

The developers were right on our heels begging us with cash offers so that they could tear us down.
So much of Treasure Island is gone and we are delighted to keep a unique and authentic bit of real Florida.

Every condo has a unique theme, such as Africa, England, the Orient etc, because these are places that we have lived or have loved.
And Florida is nothing if not eclectic!

We hope you love it as much as we do!

Thanks so much for writing in!

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is not a resort. Dirty, unkept, out dated......I could go on and on. We were very disapointed by Whispers on every level. The place is very old and has not been kept up. Walkways need to be dug up and replaced then maintained. Dirty and cracked. Fountains could be charmimg if painted and maintained. This is the theme through out Whispers, a quiant place that could be fabulous if only the owners put some money into it. The funriture in our unit was very old and tatered.Mismatched. Had to put a sheet over the couch to cover the old dingy cover which was on it. The chair and couch sat so low from being old that we had to put pillows in it. Stove was rusty and burners did not sit flat. Dishes were dirty and had to be washed before use.Toaster was rusted out as well as tea pot, could not use it to boil water. Other pans were worn out and unuseable too. Floors dirty, unit was bad.Towels were mismatched and STAINED! Bed was ofcourse old and sinking in the middle. So many pads on the bed that the bottom sheet did not stay put.The private patio outside the untit---I'd never want to sit out there, dirty as well. I could go on and on but I think you get the idea.
Pool was dirty, did not dare to go in it. Not only is there too much shrubbery but a huge rubber tree sits over the pool which means that leafs are always in the pool and walk ways. Floor of pool was dirty as well. Furniture around pool is old and ragged, not a pretty sight.
Location is by an busy intersection, Whispers is on a busy cross street that connects with the main street so the traffic noise is very loud, coupled with noisy neighbors in the building next door made for a far from quite retreat at Whispers.
Owners seemed like nice folks but do not put much into the property, Whispers needs a 100% renovation and THEN professional maintance.
So believe the negative reveiws that you read here, they are 100% true, do a drive by and a walk through and you'll get the true picture.
The positive is that Whispers is close to the beach and Publix.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmsolomon, Owner at Whispers Resort at Treasure Island, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
It is unfortunate that a person can affect the livelihood of an owner without a thought as to what harm they are doing.

Sharda and I have put our heart and soul into Whispers and in keeping this property in balance, updated but still a 50's era traditional Florida resort.

Do we keep the original colored bathroom fittings and tiles that you cannot replace these days, or do we re-make the bathrooms with modern beige tiles from Home Depot?
These are the kind of decisions we continually make.
We opted for the first option.

Like a vintage car, you see fewer of them as time goes by.

Where one person sees a treasure another sees junk.

If a guest has an issue we do respond to it because we are very responsive to our guests comfort.

One guest, complained that the front door was rusted on the bottom where the door meets the ground.
We replaced the door right away!

As far as cleaning is concerned, we do it ourselves with the help of some wonderful gals who have been with us for years. if you do have an issue, if we did overlook anything, or if you need something special, just let us know and we will be there!

One guest liked cooking and she told me that she would love to have a certain type of roasting pan and other assorted types of cookware. Although she was only here for a week I went out and got her $100.00 worth of brand new cook ware!
(No charge of course).

Another lady had hurt her neck the week before coming to stay with us. She told me that she was in a lot of pain and discomfort and was not enjoying her stay.

I went out and bought her a medical neck brace.
(No charge of course).
It helped her to sleep and get around in greater comfort.

There is simply no excuse to complain and not seek solution, unless if you simply want to be vindictive or mean.

My policy is to take care of ANYTHING within my ability to do so, to make your stay a great one.

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Whispers for 3 weeks recently and really enjoyed this charming escape. As soon as you walk through the front gate you feel that you've entered your own private tropical garden in the middle of a bustling beach community. Our condo was clean, comfortable and well equipped for our needs. The beach, great restaurants and grocery store were only a short walk away. I recommend Whispers to anyone who is looking for the quiet charm of "old Florida". We really felt at home and look forward to returning again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmsolomon, Owner at Whispers Resort at Treasure Island, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Angela,

Thanks so much for your kind comments, it is certainly a pleasure to have met you all.

I appreciate your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

By the way, the mango trees are in full bloom right now and we hope to have a good crop to share with our guests!

Best wishes to you,

Sharda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whispers Resort at Treasure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispers Resort at Treasure Island

Address: 279 104th Ave, Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty lodging in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright and Cheerful Unique Themed Decor Boutique Resort.......Your choice of One and Two Bedroom Condominiums Plus a 3 Bedroom House!.....Fabulous waterfront location in the heart of Treasure Island..... *** Close to Shops, Dining, Supermarket, Water Sports, Beach Trolley.....This Unique Heritage Property has been Updated in Fall 2012..... *** Full Kitchens with full size Appliances, Stove, Microwave, Fridge. *** All Appliances, Cookware, Dinnerware included. *** Iron, Hair Dryer, Linens, Beach Towels. *** Tiled throughout *** Large Size Feather Beds offer a Luxurious Sleeping Experience. *** Pull Out Sofas in Living Room *** Free Wi Fi *** Free Cable 70+ Channels *** Large Flat Screen TV's *** DVD Player, Stereo System *** All Ground Floor Suites with Private Patios..... Water Front with Lush Tropical Gardens....... *** Heated Pool *** Large Fishing Dock *** Bay Front *** Dolphin Watching *** Boat Mooring *** BBQ *** Very Private and Secluded. *** Fully Fenced. Children and Pets Welcome. *** Free Parking.......Beach Access take your car or a short six minute walk....... *** Close to Historic Johns Pass Village - 1 mile *** 20 minutes to Down Town St Petersburg and Tropicana Stadium *** 35 minutes to Tampa International Airport and Clearwater Airport *** 45 Minutes to Busch Gardens *** 45 Minutes to Hard Rock Casino *** 90 Minutes to Disney, Universal and Sea World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whispers Resort at Treasure Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispers Resort At Treasure Island Hotel Treasure Island
Whispers Resort At Treasure Island Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispers Resort at Treasure Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.