We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value, great for family vacations!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island to your Saves list
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11320 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Treasure Island
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good value, great for family vacations!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at the Tahitian for 7 days in March 2014. Not sure why this place gets all the negative reviews. If you want 5-star accomondations do not stay here plain and simple! That is not what it is. However, it is a great value for working families who are traveling on a budget. We were not expecting high class. What we were expecting was a clean apartment (we rented the larger one bedroom with the full kitchen and it worked great for us. The staff kept the room clean daily, were extremely friendly and accomodating. Maids cleaned the room every day even though we were not expecting that. We have stayed in other facilities like this where it is pretty much on you to keep it clean.

Anyone with half a brain who does their research up front is going to realize this place in not the Hilton. It is an older hotel (which in a way I thought was kind of cool). Does it need a few fixture updates - yes! You can't beat the location, right on the beach with walking access to pretty much everything. Kids loved the heated pool and the sun deck.

We would definitely stay here again! Happy travels!

Room Tip: The apt suites are definitely quieter as they are seperated from the pool area. Of course, if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    131
    45
    18
    36
See reviews for
141
94
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

If you are a budget traveler who doesn't mind living in filth, the Tahitian "Resort" in Treasure Island is the place for you. I read the reviews prior to staying at the Tahitian, and everyone noted that although the property was shabby and outdated, it was kept very clean and the service was good. Well, they must have fired their competent cleaning staff, because our cleaning person did very, very little. We stayed in an apartment across the highway from the main hotel, and despite tips we left daily hoping for better service, she never: washed a dish, cleaned a surface, washed the floors, sink, or tub once in a week. We had to buy our own Windex disinfectant to clean the rooms ourselves. Evidence of how badly our rooms were cleaned prior to our stay was apparent in the dark grime stains on the paper towels after we finished cleaning the tables, counters, etc. that first day. On top of that, as other reviewers have indicated, literally everything other than the paint on the walls was shabby and old and used to the point of breaking (think: flophouse), and none of it appeared to have been purchased after the year 1980 except for the drip pans on the stove that did not fit! The only benefit of this hotel is its location on the beach and one free parking space. That is it. No joke. My friends and I are not fussy, but this place was a complete dump and not at all well cleaned as other reviews indicated, which was the only selling point other than the location. This "resort" is begging for Gordon Ramsay's "Hotel Hell" to come knocking. Tips for the hotel manager: Try repairing the exhaust fan in the bathroom and adding some hooks to the bathroom and main door to allow guests to dry their bathing suits and towels. I'd also suggest instructing your cleaning staff what is expected of them on a daily basis, as ours did not at all meet what I expect is her job description.

Room Tip: If you would like to choose a good room at the Tahitian, DON'T STAY THERE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersport, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We recently stayed here after we made a reservation at Jefferson Motel & Apartments and got there and had no room!! We called the Tahitian at the last minute and Dawn at the front desk got us 2 rooms and was very helpful and accommodating. We got maid service everyday, the staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean. The power went out 1 day while we were there but had nothing to do with the resort. The weather was incredible and the pool was the perfect temperature so the power outage didn't even matter. We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

A nice, pretty location, and reasonable quality room, at a price on the low side of what I'd expect.

One major drawback is that their office closes at 10pm, and after that there is no service available. They partner with another hotel a very short drive (though a significant walk) away, and you can pick up keys there or other simple things, but it makes checking in late a hassle, and you can't get anything fixed when they're closed.

Internet quality was very poor when I was there, and due to their office closing before I found out, I didn't get to report it until the next day. Even though I stayed two more days after that, and reported it each subsequent day, it was never fixed.

Sunset and sunrise were both very beautiful.

Room had a kitchen with fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The management at the Tanitian Resort offers pleasing and affordable accommodations with friendly, polite, and caring team of employees. For instance, during our recent seven-week stay at the Tanitian, we found our housekeeper, Lyndell, and guest service personnel, Nancy, gracious, dependable, and eager to please who take great pride in performing their duties. Can't beat the location to the beach along the Gulf, nearby food market, pharmacy, post office, convenience store and cafes plus other amenities. Can't think of anything I dislike about the Tanitian. My wife and I will return to the Tanitian next year with secured reservations for a 60-day stay.

Room Tip: Various types. Choose the room that fits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have been staying at the Tahitian for quite a few years and you just can't beat the value. Although the room are a bit tired and could use some updating, they are clean and comfortable. The beach is right outside the door and the pool is clean. Dawn in the front office is very friendly and goes out of her way to find information for you. Tahitian guests are invited to the weekly cocktail party at the Thunderbird, and this is a great event that is not to be missed! Amy, at the Thunderbird, is just super and obviously loves her job.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainy River, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was our first time at the Tahitian Resort on Treasure Island and we had a great stay! We had a pool side room with a kitchen. We could look out our one window and see the ocean or stand on the balcony and watch the kids swim in the pool. The staff were awesome. There is a safe in the room which was great to have. Many of the people staying there are snowbirds and very helpful with what things not to miss seeing or doing. We had our 9 year old and 14 year old with us. They loved every minute of being there. The beds were super comfy and we also had a pull out couch. There is lots to do close to the hotel and walking along the ocean collecting beautiful shells was a highlight. We would definitely go back!!!:)

Room Tip: Pool and sand toys are NOT available, so bring your own or there are a ton of souvenir shops just do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#25 of 45 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina
Treasure Bay Hotel & Marina
#19 of 45 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 stars 656 reviews
0.7 mi away
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
#4 of 45 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#10 of 45 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#2 of 45 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bilmar Beach Resort
Bilmar Beach Resort
#12 of 45 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island

Address: 11320 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#19 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island Hotel Treasure Island
Tahitian Hotel Treasure Island
Tahitian Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.