We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value. Nice Rooms. At the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westwinds Waterfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Westwinds Waterfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10265 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706 (Formerly Westwinds of Treasure Island)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 hotels in Treasure Island
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Value. Nice Rooms. At the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My three sons and I just attended a conference in St. Petersburg, and wanted a location roomy enough for an 18, 21 23 and 56 year old group of four. Selected Westwinds Waterfront Resort based upon TripAdvisor reports, and was not disappointed. We reserved a two bedroom / two bath condo. Unit included a living rom, dining area and kitchen. All amenities were there, including a fullsized refrigerator, dishwasher, full-sized stove and all dishes and utensils. We were VERY PLEASED to find that the resort has two gas grills adjacent to the pool for use by guests. PUBLIX is one block down the street, and we bought some steaks to grill.

The pool was amazing, and heated to a very comfortable temp. However, Westwinds is across the street from the beach. We found ourselves enjoying the beach a couple of times.

Overall, this is an amazing find. The rates for the two bedroom condi were about half of a nearby hotel suite, making this a much better choice from the standpoint of roominess, quality and comfort.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
I thank you and behalf of myself and the staff here at Westwinds. It was great having you and your family stay with us and may I say your 3 sons were absolute gentleman. Looking forward to your return. Jimmy Dean, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    17
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
83
51
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We spent a month at Westwinds #304, and it was great. The condo was spacious, well-appointed and comfortable. The kitchen was sleek and modern, there was tons of storage and closet space, the beds were comfortable, and the view from our bedroom and living room was beautiful. We saw all sorts of wildlife in the waterway: dolphins, pelicans, herons and even a baby Loggerhead turtle. While there was no balcony, the outdoor space at the resort was beautiful and spacious, and there were 2 gas grills for us to use. We were one block from the Publix supermarket and walking distance to several bars, restaurants and shopping. Plus we were literally steps across Gulf Blvd. from the beautiful beach. Great location, great condo.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you very much Pat. It's alway inspiring when I see guests who make the most of their time on vacation and you certainly did just that! You and your party seemed to have the best time, even when the skies here in Florida were delivering what I refer to as not rain but liquid sunshine your spirit never seemed to diminish. Waiting on you return. Jimmy Dean, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Can't say enough about this resort. We went there based on the Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. First of all - Great Location, close to everything, beach, bay, marine rentals, restaurants etc... Then the staff - Jimmy & Kat and the other two ladies who were working were just wonderful, helpful, friendly etc... The Condo - Amazing, clean, well appointed, comfortable and just perfect. For the 5 days we were there it felt like home. Cooking on the BBQ in the back patio area, chatting with other guests. We will 100% go to this place again the value was great and it was just perfect for us with our other friends and their young daughter. The pool was really warm and perfect for little ones. LOVED IT!!!

Room Tip: Love the room at the
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Well, as I recall you certainly did have a great time! It was an absolute pleasure having you here, and please "come back sooner than later". I will pass your comments on to Kat and the rest of the staff. Thank you again Jimmy Dean, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights here and found it to be a very pleasant experience. The condo was nicely appointed and had a nice view of the bay from the bar area. The only negative I saw was the pillows were like rocks...take your own!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review. Your concerns will definitely be considered and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I strayed here in November 2013. We stayed in a one bedroom and were impressed. We returned for 9 days in January 2014 and loved it. The second stay was a LARGE one bedroom condominium with walk out patio (Unit 105) adjacent to the swimming pool. The units all have full kitchens, complimentary access to on-sire laundry, large living rooms and big closet spaces. We really enjoyed easy access to the local restaurants by walking and there is a beach walking path and park only 2 minutes away. The units are clean and updated and they are very comfortable as it is a smaller resort. Parking is free and the management VERY friendly. There are docks out back if you have a boat or just want to watch the local gents fish from theirs. There is a patio area for lounging and grill for your use. What a great place!

Room Tip: Bayside rooms are bigger and with views of the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Westwinds! We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future! JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This resort was great! We enjoyed the condo so much. It was very clean. Everything was up to date and modern. The view was beautiful. Also we got a covered parking space, so that was awesome! The pool was nice to have as well! The location was awesome! Less than a 3 minute walk to the beach. It was also right next to a publix (which is lovely if you're a last minute shopper like me). It was close to everything and the beach here is beautiful and spacious. The staff were super helpful and friendly. I would live here if I could.

Room Tip: We stayed in the superior king villa. It was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much sharing your kind review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here on Treasure Island. We look forward to seeing you back at Westwinds in the future! JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Suffolk, England
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

The greatest asset here is the location and convenience to amenities. Just a ten minute walk to the Publix Supermarket and several places to eat and drink.

The apartment was spotless and very we'll equipped. My one complaint was the bed was AWFUL, just worn out mattress and groaning headboard! There was a full kitchen, with all you'd need to get by for the week.

The beach is across the street, although a busy road, there is a pedestrian crossing with a flasher you can activate to safely cross. Make sure you set aside plenty of time for walking on the beach, it's so relaxing!

Tampa International Airport is a very easy 40 minute drive and an easy airport from a passenger perspective. You can even walk out of the terminal to your rental car!

I adored Ricky T's for a great bar and food scene, beware of the very generous portions. VIP Mexican Restaurant is out of this world. Both places are ten minutes on foot, if that.

Shopping is plentiful, expect to spend a day out the Ellenton Outlet Mall, where you'll give the credit card some excercise...

If you have a rainy day, make contingency plans to visit The Dali Museum in St Petersburg. Even if you are, like me not a Dali fan. I must confess to being a convert after the half hour free tour! Fancy a bit of culture, you won't be disappointed. Parking is plentiful, but $5.00.

Back at the apartment, I enjoyed relaxing at the private three dock Barbour, regularly frequented by pelicans. There are two gas barbecues, if you don't mind cooking after the myriad of foods cooked on them. The pool is very nice, plenty of seating around the pool.

The on site laundry machines are spacious and modern GE units. So you can keep up with keeping your clothes clean.

One rant about staff at the apartments: I found the attitude of the staff very odd, in the sense that you never had maid services. If you want clean towels or bed linen, you're expected to bring it down to exchange them. Yet you pay an up front $50.00 cleaning charge, as well as being expecting to take out your own trash when you leave! Excuse me, but who's paid $1400 to stay for a week?

Would I come back to stay? Only if the beds have new mattresses!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. All of your concerns will definately be considered. We do strive to have the cleanest condos on the beach and since these are "full sized condos" instead of small hotel/motel rooms which is the reason for an additional cleaning fee. Thank you once again and please come back in the future. JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westwinds Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwinds Waterfront Resort

Address: 10265 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706 (Formerly Westwinds of Treasure Island)
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#2 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwinds Waterfront Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snuggled between the Gulf of Mexico and Boca Ciega Bay in beautiful Treasure Island, Florida this bayfront resort offers affordable luxurious condominiums with coastal beach elegance.Just minutes from world class shopping, dining and entertainment this resort features fully furnished accommodations that offers all the comforts of home. Guests can cook a delicious meal in the fully equipped kitchen, barbecue and dine outside in the picnic area or just relax at the waterfront heated pool. If catching dinner sounds fun there is a boat dock for on-site fishing.Near recreational facilities, downtown Saint Petersburg and the world famous John’s Pass Village this resort is where you will want to be.Access to the Club at Treasure Island is provided to all guests where they can enjoy tennis, a fitness center, junior Olympic pool, tiki bar, and fine dining.This vacation paradise offers unparralled sophistication and style that is hard to find elsewhere. Make plans for your vacation your way at Westwinds Waterfront Resort.“Where the Beach meets the Bay” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Westwinds Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwinds Waterfront Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westwinds Waterfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.