We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Landlocked Ky Family Finds Treasure Island Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westwinds Waterfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Westwinds Waterfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10265 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706 (Formerly Westwinds of Treasure Island)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 hotels in Treasure Island
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Landlocked Ky Family Finds Treasure Island Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We visited with another couple to celebrate some Florida beach time away from the daily grind. From Top to bottom, the hospitality, the professionalism and kindness matched or exceeded our expectations aftrer reading about this great place in Trip Advisor.
You can see the sun rising in your bayfront window and you great sun through the day. What's great about their location is the hottest, blazing afternoon sun is blocked by the building so you don't get toasted late in the day. You get the view, the nice breeze and the best of the rest without burning to a crisp in late afternoon.
We can't say enough good about this wonderful place. They had everything and more for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant on site but many were within a 5 minute drive.We had a 2 floor bayside room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    17
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
83
51
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crestview, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and i just celebrated out 5 year anniversary here. From the outside it may not seem like much but when you walk in the condo it is great. The condo is clean and new.
The only problem we had was the sheets and towels. When i snuggled up in my bed i saw a few brown stains on the top sheet. I immediately looked for another sheet. We took the one from the closet which was not that much better but better. Then when i went to take a shower the towel had big black stains on it and other marks. It was just weird that these things got missed when they were so obvious. We told the office and they said they would look into it. I am hopeful that they will take care of it for future guest.
The location is good. It is right across the street from the beach. They also supply beach chairs that you can borrow. The docks on the bay are great! That was our favorite part. It is so quite and peaceful. They have big umbrellas for shade so you can just relax while in a lounge chair. It was very nice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

If I could sum up the Westwinds in two words it would be Hell Yes!!! My boyfriend and I stayed here Sept 12-16 and it were totally amazed by the huge condos this place has to offer. We stayed in the one bedroom villa. It was absolutly perfect. It has a huge living room, full kitchen w/dish washer, wine cooler, ice/water maker on the fridge. (check out the pics) There is a Publix grocery 2mins up the street. The place is super clean! Beds are comfy. Kitchen Has all the needed cooking utensils, plate setting for 6. Has a kitchen table, even a dining room w/table. Free wifi and on site laundry room. We did not have much of a view but there is a lovely pool area w/a dock to go fishing and grills to BBQ. There is also a beach that is right across the street and another beach about 10 minutes away that is really beautiful. The manager Jimmy and Dy are very friendly and helful. They had beach chairs at our disposal as well as towels and coolers they let us use. They also are very knowledgeable of the area and have alot of pamphlets of nearby activites in the office. The hotel is was very quiet and peaceful. It is the perfect place to spark a magical summer romance for couples or a great safe place to have fun for a family with kids. Either way, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This resort gives the best of both worlds relax on the beach or flash right out back..great views from rooms..all rooms very well appointed and comfortable. The local restaurants and shopping is fun and easy to get to. The staff is nice and helpful. Rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redington Shores, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

WOW!!!!!! Just a wonderful experience all the way around including the weather. These units are all full size condos with updated kitchens, furniture, bedding etc. Just across the street to the beach on the Bay with good viewing of boating and great fishing. Close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed for six nights at Westwinds. I would give it 3.5 stars because there are really nice aspects to the “resort”, and definitely some things I would change. On the positive side, I really like that you can rent for just a few days, rather than a whole week. We loved the floor plan of our unit – it's so nice to have king and queen beds and two full baths. The only thing I would have liked to add would be a balcony to enjoy the evenings. Our unit was a corner unit on the third floor, and we had a nice view out to the fishing piers, and also did not hear any outside noise at night. When we walked in we really liked the décor (beachy , but not cheesy beachy). We saw dolphins from the fishing dock in the mornings, and one dolphin swam right up to the dock in the evening.

Though the location isn't on the beach, it is an easy walk to the beach across the street. Westwinds has plenty of beach chairs, towels, umbrellas and toys for guests to borrow when you go to the beach. We didn't love the beach – the sand is full of broken shells, so my daughter didn't enjoy walking there. We took a day trip to Fort DeSoto and loved the powder sand of the north beach there.

It was a really easy walk to Publix and Sloppy Joe's as well as a few other local restaurants (VIP, Middle Grounds) from Westwinds. We loved having free use of the washers and dryers on the third floor, though one of the washing machines was out of order during our stay (not a huge issue because the resort wasn't at capacity). The little patio area looking out to the water has a few umbrella tables and chairs, and we enjoyed being able to use the grills outside.

We definitely appreciated having use of a full kitchen, including a refrigerator with ice maker and water dispenser. The kitchen was stocked fairly well, though there was only a set of 6 plates, silverware etc., which doesn't go far when you're cooking a lot. I found myself needing to run the dishwasher before it was full so that we could have enough silverware and dishes available for the next meal. There were also a few items I would really have liked to have: an oven mitt, a few more dish towels, containers with lids for leftovers and a griddle pan for making pancakes. The pots and skillet were all pretty scratched up – I assume they are non-stick, so should really be replaced.

Now on to the negatives. The information we received upon check in said linens and towels would be replaced on the fifth day, but we did not receive a change of linens/towels. The air conditioner worked quite well in the common areas of the unit and in the small bedroom, but the master bedroom was really stuffy, especially at night when we like it to be cold. The fan in the master only worked at low speed, so did not really help with the heat in that bedroom. We are pretty particular about our sheets and found the sheets here to be quite scratchy – the sleeping experience in general wasn't ideal, but I admit we are pretty spoiled when it comes to beds.

The pool is pretty small, a little dirty/slimy, and also deeper than I prefer (3.5 feet is the minimum depth, and it goes to 8 feet deep pretty quickly). We have a young child who likes to be able to stand in shallow water in the pool. I knew the pool was small from the photos, and we decided it would be okay, since guests have use of the nearby club with an olympic sized pool. On the day we wanted to check out the club pool, the manager told us things were changing with Westwinds guests' privileges at the club. If you plan to use the club membership amenity at Westwinds, be sure to ask exactly what is and isn't available before you book. We ended up not checking out the club, partly because we worried that they would not allow us in due to the changes.

The free wireless internet was not super reliable – my husband was not able to work in the evenings as we had originally planned. We had to be in just the right spot of the condo for it to work properly, and we frequently lost our connection.

Lastly, on the last night of our stay I noticed there were no lights lit up on the smoke detectors. I asked my husband to test them, and he discovered that all three units were disabled. It appears they were intended to be connected to a central alarm system of some sort, but they were all disconnected. I informed the manager (Jimmy Dean) of this upon checkout. To me, lack of functioning smoke detectors is completely unacceptable; I hope it was just our unit, and is not a problem with all units.

Room Tip: I would choose a third or first floor looking out to the intracoastal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for listing all the positive comments about your stay here at Westwinds. I would like to address what I consider your major concern, the smoke detectors.
All of our detectors are hard wired and interconnected, with battery back ups.
After you voiced your concern I personally changed out the detectors with brand new ones simply as a safety precaution. The issue was rectified within 20 minutes. FYI - We run monthly tests on all of our detectors. Jimmy Dean, General Manager...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg, pa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was a great place to stay. It had a laundry room, pool and the rooms were great. Huge, affordable and clean!! The owners were nice and the staff was too. Only a block walk to the beautiful beach! We grilled out each night since there weren't that many places to eat with little ones in the area. Tried to eat at the country club and the people were so mean and rude, we walked out. Don't go there!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westwinds Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwinds Waterfront Resort

Address: 10265 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706 (Formerly Westwinds of Treasure Island)
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#2 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#2 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwinds Waterfront Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snuggled between the Gulf of Mexico and Boca Ciega Bay in beautiful Treasure Island, Florida this bayfront resort offers affordable luxurious condominiums with coastal beach elegance.Just minutes from world class shopping, dining and entertainment this resort features fully furnished accommodations that offers all the comforts of home. Guests can cook a delicious meal in the fully equipped kitchen, barbecue and dine outside in the picnic area or just relax at the waterfront heated pool. If catching dinner sounds fun there is a boat dock for on-site fishing.Near recreational facilities, downtown Saint Petersburg and the world famous John’s Pass Village this resort is where you will want to be.Access to the Club at Treasure Island is provided to all guests where they can enjoy tennis, a fitness center, junior Olympic pool, tiki bar, and fine dining.This vacation paradise offers unparralled sophistication and style that is hard to find elsewhere. Make plans for your vacation your way at Westwinds Waterfront Resort.“Where the Beach meets the Bay” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Westwinds Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwinds Waterfront Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westwinds Waterfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.