We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie's Charters

Charlie's Charters
3400 Pasadena Ave South, Treasure Island, FL 33707
(727) 417-8837
Website
Improve this listing
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
STL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

If I were to go back to Treasure Island I would definitely go to Charlie's Charters. They were great and knowledgeable about just about any question we asked. This is a part of my trip to Treasure Island that I will always remember. They made it fun and made easy to open up and have a great time, it felt like the strangers on our boat were close friends by the end of the trip. They will also come and pick you up from your hotel as well, which makes it very convenient. Thank guys!!!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valdosta ga
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Inexpensive way to experience snorkeling w/ young children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This was a no brainer for us. We wanted our 10 yr old son to try snorkeling and we all love to explore ruins and islands so for $35 per adult and $15 per child we booked this little excursion. We chose the Egmont Key trip which is a 1 hr boat ride to the key island, 45 minutes to explore the island and fort and then about an hour to snorkel off one end of the key with an hour trip back to Treasure Island. There are lots of shells on the island and if you have good eyes you might find a petrified shark's tooth! They give you a grocery bag to collect your treasures. The snorkeling is alright. They provide masks, snorkels, flns and noodles, but they restrict you to a small area between a rocky outcropping and the island. There were lots of other charter boats and private boats in the tiny area and people jumping off the rocks above us, making the water a little murky. We did see a sea urchin on one of the rocks, lots of big sheepshead fish, and a few other fish. Our 10 yr brought his nice Speedo goggles which was a good call. It fit his face well. The masks are for adults. He also decided to forgo the fins and snorkel and just free dive. He loved it so much. My husband and I have snorkeled in the keys w/ Nemo & friends so no comparison to that. Our captain and first mate were very knowledgeable and we saw LOTS of dolphins on the way out and back. They swam right beside the boat. We packed a lunch in a cooler and ate on the way back. They do provide bottled water and fresh orange slices. The boat is not fancy at all. Seating is on wooden benches and not very comfortable. The bathroom below deck has a clear shower curtain for a door and is in full view of the one driving the boat so not private at all! Unfortunately, I had to use it! This is a one and done trip for us - but now we know our son would really love snorkeling in the Keys.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“FAVORITE DAY OF MY VACATION!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We decided to go on the snorkling/shell/ dophin trip for 4 hours, BEST $ spent on our entire trip to Florida! Capt. Dennis and First mate Chris were very knowledgeable about the area and very entertaining. Saw a bunch of dolphins and snorkled for the first time. Will definately do this again! Best value attraction in all of Florida!

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“We loved Charlie's Charters...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The captain and the tour guide were very helpful. The location where we met the boat was easy to find. Egmont Key is fascinating and the boat ride is a lot of fun. I recommend that you visit Egmont Key and that when you do you travel with Charlie's Charters!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odin, IL
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best money spent on our vacation! Great time for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We took the "all day tour", which was actually 2 separate trips. The first day we went to Shell Island, during the ride to the island we were able to get very close to SEVERAL dolphins. Many had their calves with them and they came very close to the boat! Shell Island is just what they say it is. We were able to find many beautiful shells. More than we needed! On the second day we took the trip to Egmont Island. During this ride we had a special treat! Not only did we see many more dophins, but we also saw 2 large manta rays! They were on the surface of the water "playing". We were able to get several pictures and a video! We sailed with Captain Dennis and First Mate Chris. They were very good with information, jokes, music and just made it fun for everyone! Thank you to Captain Dennis and First Mate Chris! You two really made the trip fun and we learned a little something too! A definite must if you are in Treasure Island, FL!! I am already looking forward to going back next year!
P.S. - Sailors don't like bridges!! Take the tour, you will learn!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Charters also viewed

 

Been to Charlie's Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie's Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.