We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Palms Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Palms Beach Resort to your Saves list
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11605 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Treasure Island
Orlando, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is across the street from Treasure Island Beach. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit on the 4th floor. The room was huge, it fit our family's needs perfectly. The master bedroom faces the gulf and has access to the balcony, as does the living room.

First the positives: very spacious room, fully functional kitchen (including pots, pans, silverware and dishes), beautiful bathrooms. The unit is very stylish (although not my style, but still lovely) and offers flat screen TV's with cable in both bedrooms, as well as the living room. The front desk staff and housekeepers were friendly and accommodating, the location of the hotel is perfect. Plenty of restaurants and activities within a 10 minute drive. The pool and grounds were immaculate, kept in pristine condition. The hotel is very quiet, elevators always at the ready, nice under-building parking which keeps the vehicle much cooler than sitting in the FL sunshine all day. All lights, appliances, remotes were fully functional in the room (a big plus!).

The only negatives are small: the WiFi was terrible, continually lost signal and kicked me off the server (had to re-enter access password about 5 times a day). The hot tub was drained and not functional during our stay (no problem, because the pool was beautiful). We had a missing balcony chair.

And some small logistical notices (not the hotel's option to improve): while the hotel is directly across the street from beach access, be advised it is a LONG walk, especially carrying a baby as we were... bring a wagon! Also, the set up of the room windows and balconies is beautiful... but offers very little privacy. When you sit on the balcony, you can be seen and heard by every other hotel guest on his balcony. You can also be seen in your room by other guests if you leave the shades open (and who doesn't want to see that view?) But overall, these issues are minor because the positives far outweigh them.

This hotel was an excellent value for the spacious rooms, full kitchen, and cleanliness of the grounds and unit. We would absolutely stay here again, my family hated to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    93
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
216
181
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
monroe, ct
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We happened to find out about the Crystal Palms Beach Resort while researching hotels and suites in the Tampa Bay area. Our main purpose was to have a place to stay while we were settling in our son (a college freshman) into his new school and dorm. We had never stayed there before, but it is now the only place we will stay when in Treasure Island! Who could ask for anything more...gorgeous, clean and spacious suites - beautifully landscaped property, stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico and close proximity to shops, dining and beaches. We often took advantage of the well-maintained pool and jacuzzi which was lined with tropical palm trees. Amazing! Our 2-bedroom suite had everything we thought we would have needed and so much more - the dinnerware, utensils, glasses, toaster, etc. and even a bottle opener. A true gem!! The comfortable beds, the flat screen TV's, the in-room washer/dryer, the personal parking spot and large balcony was an added bonus. But what made our stay most memorable was the staff. We have never met such accommodating, helpful and friendly people. We had a pretty large box of our son's belongings that we needed to ship from home. Not only was the front desk willing to accept this package, but offered to store it in a secure location until our arrival days later. Thank you Ryan!!! Words can't describe how much we appreciated your assistance. You absolutely made what was only supposed to be a "moving into college" event for us, into a truly exceptional stay and our best vacation ever!! We also sincerely appreciated all of the help we received from Don, Randy and the rest of the staff. We thank you all for making our experience at the Crystal Palms such an enjoyable one! We'll be back in a matter of weeks and can't wait to go back to our "home away from home!" See you soon!

Phil & Lauren
Monroe, CT

Monroe, CT

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I had a glorious weekend in a two bed suite on the 6th floor of this all suite hotel. The beds were super comfortable, the place was very clean, the staff pleasant and accommodating. This hotel is not on the beach side of Gulf Blvd., however, we had a large balcony with loungers, a table and chairs with an uninterrupted view of the gulf.
We will certainly be back to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, England
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed as a family here for two weeks and the accommodation in the penthouse was fantastic. The master suite was massive. It was great having a full size balcony with view across the Gulf. All in all the room was faultless. Housekeeping were very good. Any minor problems were sorted out quickly and efficiently. The pool and hot tub were clean and perfect for the size of the hotel. Yes, the hotel is next to the road, like pretty much all of Treasure Island but is only an issue if you want it to be one. The pool is shielded from the road by palms. Towels to use by the pool are plentiful and we, like other guests, donated our beach stuff ( chairs and umbrella) to the communal area for other guests when we left. The beach is a two minute walk away and is great. My only minor criticisms are that the Internet connection in the penthouse isn't great and it would have been nice to have a safe in the room. Stay again? Would go tomorrow.

Room Tip: 601 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just returned to the dark and dingy shores of the UK after a great 15 night holiday in Florida.

The first 4 nights were spent in Treasure Island on the Gulf Coast, I did a lot of research on Treasure Island and the choice of accommodation was between Crystal Palms or Sunset Vistas, in the end I plumped for Crystal Palms - obviously! And I am so glad we did, it is a fabulous place to stay and I cant wait to return.

We secured a really good rate through a third party booking site and I emailed the hotel beforehand to enquire about a few things and also to request a high floored room so we could get an Ocean view. They answered all of my queries promptly and also said they would try to honour my room request.

We arrived on a dark and rainy Sunday night, check in was a breeze and we were allocated our parking space and given a corner room on the 4th floor.

We legged it up there to check out our room and all I can say is WOW. Our 2 bedroomed apartment was great. Everything was super clean and the furnishings were in good order. The kitchen was fairly well equipped to prepare basic meals. Everything worked well in the bathrooms and it was spotlessly clean, with plenty of towels were provided.

The bedrooms had plenty of storage space and the beds were amazingly comfortable and we slept like logs throughout our stay. This was aided by the quiet and efficient air conditioning unit and ceiling fans.

In the morning we work up to see our Ocean view and from our 4th floor apartment we could see the Ocean clearly over the biuldings across the road, we also had a great corner balcony with furniture.

The wifi was fast and worked first time on the numerous devices my kids and I connected to it, we just had to login when first connecting each time.

We spent a few hours by the pool during our time and there were plenty of pool towels provided and plenty of sunbeds, umbrellas, tables and chairs. The pool was very clean and warm - the kids loved it. Crystal Palms also provide some communual pool toys and floats, etc.

I have read reports of difficulty getting to the beach and its distance. But the pedestration crossing is at the front of the hotel and once across the road it is less than 5 minutes walk to the Ocean. So all in all, about a 7 minute trip from the hotel to the Ocean - not far in my book.

Be warned - apparently you can be ticketed for crossing the road and not using a crossing, so make sure you use the crossing on the hotel's doorstep. There are also communual chairs and other water toys that are left out in the garage that can be taken to the Ocean and used.

I did not try the gym or health club that is offered to Crystal Palms visitors.

The only downside I could maybe see is the lack of eating and drinking options that were really close. It would of been nice to get a drink to have by the poolside without preplanning or visiting the expensive nearby Publix.

I loved this place, in fact my whole family loved this place and we think it is a great place to stay in Treasure Island.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floored room (4th or higher) to get that all important view of the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We were amazed at the size and fittings/furnishings of this two bedroomed suite. Everything was tastefully decorated and contained all modern conveniences. It was the perfect place to end our vacation and we were happy to have a quiet air con unit. Although the building is on a busy road we couldn't hear any traffic and we were on the first floor. All in all I would highly recommend Crystal Palms to anyone wishing to stay at Treasure Island.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This 2 bedroom suite is actually a Condo and they are selling some units. It was actually better than I thought it would be. We were on the fifth floor with a great panoramic view. And the front desk employees were very helpful. But when I was booking the hotel, I saw the beach and mistakenly thought it was on the beach.

The only drawback is that the beach is across A VERY BUSY STREET. We had lived in Tampa for 15 years (8 years ago) and went to Treasure Island several times, but it is more developed now. Since I am 70 years old and my husband is 73, it was a real project to cross the street. And once there, it was quite a distance to get to the water. We live on the Cape Haze Peninsula now between Sarasota and Port Charlotte and is more appropriate for retirees.

Room Tip: You would have a great view of the ocean on a higher floor, like the 5th floor we were on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Palms Beach Resort

Address: 11605 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Palms Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crystal Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Palms Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Hotel Crystal Palms Beach
Crystal Palms Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Palms Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.