We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldy But Goody” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nordvind

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nordvind to your Saves list
Nordvind
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   12700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Martinsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Oldy But Goody”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This isn't the newest property on the beach, but when it comes to hospitality, location and the view, you can't beat Nordvind. We have been coming to Florida for over 25 years and we stay at Nordvind at least 1-2 times per year. It is convenient to everything and the staff is friendly and helpful. It is located right on the beach with an outstanding view. If you are looking for a "hotel like" experience, this isn't for you, but if you are looking for a place to have a good time, in a great location with an outstanding view, Nordvind is it.

Room Tip: If there are only two of you, stay in the front building. If you have a family, the back building i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairborn, Ohio
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've been staying at Nordvind for 25 years and have stayed other places along this beach. This place is the Best! It is closest to the ocean, the staff sees to it that you have a good time and makes my stay very enjoyable. The room is very clean and so easy to live in. There is a balcony off the bedroom and living room and you can hear the ocean. If you like the big over crowded places with room service this place is not for you. I come here because it is quiet and the landscape is absolutely gorgeous including a pool and Jacuzzi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

GREAT LOCTION & most of the STAFF are aMAZING!!! super helpful... you can watch DOLPHINS from your BED/BALCONY!!! all the amennities you need,... cutlery,glasses, stove , fridge,, mic,
tv, dvd, storage, bring hand soap/ dissinfectant, and some face clothes.... there is laundry to use,, & soap SHOWER is AWESOME pressure! & good for ppl about 5'10...
you can hear other ppl flushing.... and sometimes smell it! :( buy some Lysol for the place! its worth the price!!
John's pass is right over the lift bridge, the beautiful sunsets, and dolfin watching, kingfishers, fishing tours, restaurants, shops,, there are endlesss great things to do within a 10- 30 min walk of this condo! :)
if you dont plan to spend much more time than sleeping/maybe cooking/ enjoying sunsets in your room/ balcony, book this great <3 room!

Room Tip: no kids activities, but a great semi private beach for great entertainment, walks, fishing, shell co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We exchanged our timeshare for 2 bedroom unit at Nordvind resort because we stayed there with our friends. Outdated kitchen and some furniture, even though I could see some signs of relatively fresh paint, flat TV and a few pieces of new furniture. Very spacious. 2 bedrooms are on the second level. Living room and kitchen, full bathroom and laundry unit are on the first floor. Two balconies. Carpet was dirty and required to be replaced. "Used and abused" kitchen stuff. Lots of random utensil. I got the impression I was renting an apartment from private owner, but not at the resort that is supposed to meet certain standards to be a part of Interval International exchange company. I would rather have white towels in the bathroom (to make sure they are clean) than dark green towels coordinated with shower curtain in one bathroom or dark brown towels in the second bathroom. Multiple additional towels were in the unit but all random colors. I washed towels before use and send my husband to buy Antibacterial spray to clean all areas and draws we were planning to use. Otherwise I did not feel comfortable to stay in the unit. Believe me, I do not suffer from OCD. Location is great, beach is wonderful, swimming pool and jacuzzi were clean.My sense was that place is forgotten by owners.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Fl
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We've owned, at the Nordvind, for about 10 years. The Bridge replacement is over. Beach is a stone throw away. Basically private, compared to property to the south of us. We own the beach, to average high tide. We are on the N.W. tip of Treasure Island. I love watching the boats travel thru John's Pass. Walk over the Bridge to John's Pass Village. Fishing trips, Dolphin trips, Wave runners for rent. Restaurants, Gift shops & various shops. Boardwalk with more shops. Bubba Gumps, Hooters and others. Across from the Village is Gators Bar and Restaurant. Charter fishing boats available on that side Access to Casino Boats from there. This is a real good tourist spot, Maderia Beach and Treasure Island. Now, The Nordvind plus's: great view of the Gulf. Good Pool and Jacuzzi/hot tub. Shaded tables by the pool. Picnic on Wed (at noon), Hot dogs supplied and guest's bring a dish to share.
Bar-B-Que grills on site. The main bldg faces the Gulf. All units have balconys. The hide-a-bad couchs are fairly new. All rooms have flat screen TV's DVD players available. Beds are being replaced with worst ones first. My bed was comfortable, last May,2012. All appliances, dish washer, etc should be fine. The rooms are not huge. We slept 5 people last May. The only real negative is the Jacuzzi bath tub. It is real short. Can't stretch your legs. Shower-ing is better. The rooms are cleaned on Saturdays. You might see some sheets etc, in the elevator. Not a big deal to me. The Mgr, Steve, is very friendly. As is the office staff. You can ask for a roll-away bed, if needed.

Room Tip: Some rooms are above the pool. Good if you have kids. They are 201 & 202, up to 501 & 502...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lkld
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Beautiful access to the beach and is not crowded at all. I read several of the comments below and all the gripes about updating. Where else can you stay w/these prices, all rooms have full kitchens, all rooms have beach view access. And how much time do you spend in the room??

You came to the beach, enjoy the beach and its surroundings. I love staying here and have since 1988. Steve and staff are the best!!!

Room Tip: Come have a fun time at the beach and enjoy John's Pass too. Lots of places to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Not the grandest resort but that's it's charm.Right on the beach near lovely new bridge where you can watch boats and dolphins,and sunsets.Easy walking to  bars and restaurants at John's pass.We spent many hours sitting in the pretty garden reading and swimming in the pool.We had interesting chats to many americans who had returned for  years who were great fans of Steve and Nordvind.The resort is small and very friendly---don't be put off if you don't like brown!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nordvind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordvind

Address: 12700 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nordvind 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Nordvind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordvind Hotel Treasure Island
Nordvind Treasure Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nordvind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.