We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time here with the family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort De Soto Park

Fort De Soto Park
3500 Pinellas Bayway, Tierra Verde, FL 33715
727-582-2267
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Birdwatching, Picnicking, Camping, Fishing
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Windermere, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Had a great time here with the family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Visited on 7/26/2012 with 2 year old and 4 year old, and we had a great time! Kids ran around the fort and then we headed for the beach. Visited on a weekday in the summer and there was ample parking in all lots, and not crowded. Also, at the area we stopped there was a small snack stand and gift shop (with the normal tourist gear). Bathrooms were average beach variety, and fresh water showers located steps from the sand. They have a dog area to take your best friend on the beach, next time we will bring Fido. Also, $5 entry fee per vehicle, which I felt is a small price to pay for a great day. BUT this is a no alcohol beach, so leave your beer at home (Hubby was a little sad by this)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    172
    36
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fort De Soto not impressive, but the Park is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Went to the park to see a fort. As it turns out the fort was built in 1898, so it's not too much to look at.
The park is impressive and the beach pristine in appearance and very clean. Looks like a lot of pride goes into this area.
If you're looking for a beach, this area is vast. It has at least a dozen pavilions and areas to have fun. Check it out when down near Treasure Island or St. Pete Beach.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

if u like primitive no sky scrapers or hotels
limited facility's and pristine beach this is for u
for me i love city so was a little out of sorts
was a family day
so made best of it
but if it rains watch for the mosquitoes they come out fast and furious

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful park-Rated one of the tops beaches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Very scenic park-it's a special place. They also have covered shelters with bbq pits, bathrooms, and water fountains. You can reserve and rent these shelters-contact park services to arrange this.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“the fort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We take our grandkids here to bike and play at the fort. Great bike trails and beach. Hot in summer but otherwise a very relaxing place to read a book.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort De Soto Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort De Soto Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort De Soto Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.