We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome potato pancakes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Forest Cottage

Black Forest Cottage
1120 Pinellas Bayway S. # 113 & 114, Tierra Verde, FL (Formerly German Crepes House)
727 867 5800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Tierra Verde
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Awesome potato pancakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Interesting to read some of the reviews before. They do not serve hash browns - they serve potato pancakes - very german and very good. A LOT more labor intensive and high quality then McDonald's hash browns. The outstanding potato pancakes are the main reason we go here aside from it being a block from our place. Husband is the cook and wife is the server - you are not going to get "southern hospitality"….she is a little curt in her greeting/service, he is very nice and busy in the kitchen. Breakfast is good - the eggs are cooked to perfection. We have also tried the german wurst breakfast - very good. I have had a savory crepe there and it was just too big for one to eat and not that special. It is always clean and they have added on to the back with a deck now. We have never made it there for dinner, but it is on the list. They have a lot of german trinkets and candy in the space with ice cream.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Aging ungracefully”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

If you want to waste away a morning breakfast or noon lunch, this is the place to go.
Although their menu has expanded, and the fair is above average, the service is atrocious. We have finally decided to avoid this place, after dining there 4 or 5 times, hoping the service would improve.
The husband is the cook, while the wife "slooowly" waits the tables, more concerned with doing miscellaneous chores first.
The last time we went there for breakfast, the place had 1 customer at a table, yet it took her 5 minutes to acknowledge we were there. She sat us (2) and disappeared. Meanwhile, four women walked in and took a table, and were ignored as well. After 10 minutes of being in limbo, we got up and walked out. We walked over to the Island Grill, got seated immediately, and ordered and ate 15 minutes later. A much better place in a much better venue, less than a block away. Those four women are probably still there!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a great breakfast here! The restaurant is small, but very quaint. Very good service. We are very glad we stopped here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delightful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The owners are there waiting on you and doing the cooking.
Food is delicious and creative, the atmosphere is very pleasant, you want to spend more time there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the second time we visited this restaurant. I found that the quality went down and the prices went up. It was Sunday morning and the place was empty. Their signature product, the crepes. seemed to me cooked in advance and were highly overpriced. The egg dishes were served with
Hash brown patties, we could have gotten them at McDonalds a lot cheaper. What disappointed me was that they can do a better job but they seem to be getting greedy and taking short cuts.

On the other hand the service was friendly and the decor is interesting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Forest Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Forest Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.