We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bicycle Riding on Trail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flatwoods Wilderness Park

Flatwoods Wilderness Park
14302 Morris Bridge Rd, Thonotosassa, FL 33592
813-987-6211
Improve this listing
Type: Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located outside of downtown Tampa, this dog-friendly park offers hiking trails and a nine mile paved bike trail.
Riverview, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bicycle Riding on Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

One of the best maintained trails I have seen. Off road dirt trails and paved trails. The paved trails have water breaks about every two miles. The Park Rangers are helpful and friendly. We used the trail to help the boys in our group earn their bicycle merits.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My #1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

When am there i feel so relaxing,its just beautyful,bike,rollerblading or walking its just fantastic.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“My favorite place to run, walk or bike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is my favorite running spot! An 11 mile loop of paved trail, and many more miles of beautiful wilderness type trails. During the summer when it's super hot and humid the trails provide nice relief from the sun. Rangers are always driving around the paved loop, bathrooms always clean, and the water is always cold at the water stops which are every 2 miles.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful park " lots of wilderness "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I love the biking trails here , is peaceful , you will see turtles, snakes , owls , different birds , so many trails, I love riding the different trails for hours is a beautiful park,

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“So pretty and peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I admit that I've not experienced the entire park but Flatwoods is beautiful. I access it from the entrance on Bruce B. Downs and typically go there to walk/run. There are mile markers along the route, which is nice if you don't want to check, or aren't using, a pedometer.

There is a paved path, about the size of a road lane, which is wonderful for bicycling, rollerblading and such. There is a "service road" along side this which is available for those who want a softer running surface. The "service road" will provide some bits and pieces of shade, depending on when one is visiting the park.

There is a $2 entrance fee and the park is well worth it.

There are also sheltered areas and water stops along the way which is wonderful if you run out of water or simply don't bring any with you.

You can see wildlife along the way and this park is huge. It is definitely geared toward bicyclists, runners/walkers and such but is still nice to visit to just wander and explore.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flatwoods Wilderness Park also viewed

 

Been to Flatwoods Wilderness Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flatwoods Wilderness Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Flatwoods Wilderness Park to your Saves list