We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointed with front desk” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13305 Tampa Oaks Boulevard, Temple Terrace, FL 33637   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Temple Terrace
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dissappointed with front desk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

We stayed at this hotel so that we could visit our grandparents as well as go to Red Sox Spring Training with another couple. The location was good, very easy to find. We checked in a day earlier than the other couple we were traveling with, and let them know that the other couple would be requiring a late check-in the next day, as their flight didn't get in until midnight. The front desk clerk noted this and we thought we were all set. We got in around 1am after picking up the couple from the airport and the front desk clerk (a different person) told us that there were no rooms left and that our friends would have to stay the night in another hotel down the street. We were upset, but only had one car, so we told them we would all have to go to this other hotel, even though we already had a room. They told us if we left, we would have to pay for rooms in both hotels, since we already had a room there and that we would have to come back to the Hilton Garden Inn in Temple Terrace the next night. I told them that we would not be coming back and forth for our 3 day vacation, as it was a huge inconvenience and magically, they found a room for our friends at the hotel.
There were no other issues with the hotel, but everything was overshadowed by this experience. I would never stay here again and I would not recommend the hotel to anyone else.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Experience with Front Desk Staff
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    104
    60
    25
    18
See reviews for
149
79
20
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

I highly reccomend this hotel. All of the staff I came into contact with from the housekeepers to the front desk clerks were very friendly and helpful. I had originally booked 2 rooms both with king beds, non smoking with a connecting door. (was traveling with family) I called the hotel after booking the reservation to make sure I would be able to get the connecting room. The woman I spoke with was very helpful in making sure they put the info in the computer about the connecting rooms and changing my room types. (The king room connects to a room with 2 beds)

We arrived at the hotel kind of late (almost midnight) and every request I had made was honored. This is something that rarely happens at hotels anymore, especially when arriving late. The hotel common areas and the rooms were very clean and everything was in good condition / working order.

After checking out, we had discovered we had left something behind. We went back to the hotel to check the room. The housekeepers were in the hallway and went out of their way to help us look for the item.

The hotel is only about 10 or so minutes away from Busch Gardens and USF. There are several restaurants on the hotels exit and the exit after that (heading South). Also, the hotel is very close to I-75 and about 10 minutes away from I-275 which was very convenient when driving into downtown Tampa.

  • Liked — all of the staff and the room
  • Disliked — nothing. everthing was good
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goastryter
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2007

If you are looking for a nice place to stay with a reasonable price near Busch Gardens, this is it! It is in a good part of town, the place is really nice, the staff very nice and my room was spit shined, comfortable and classy. Have to say it was better than some $200 per night rooms I have been in. Each room also comes with free high speed internet and HDTV for cryin out loud! Stay there, it's great!

  • Stayed January 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2006

The joys of staying at your Hotel ...

1 - Dec. 11th....first of all finding this hotel....the driving instructions are not correct on the web site

2 - When we finally arrived there was no one to help with bags - the front staff could not help but notice us struggling with our luggage but, there is no offer to help.

3 - When we got to our room:

a) urine in the toilet - hey, that's ok as I flushed and cleaned it myself.

b) hair on the floor - BLACK hair - we have light brown and grey hair

c) the fridge had been turned off and defrosted - leaving a tray of water to clean up

d) bath towel was stained

4 - No shuttle to Busch Gardens - all the other hotels (less expensive) in this area do

5 - Waited for shuttle for over 30 minutes and had front desk call again.

6 - When the shuttle arrived the wife or girlfriend or friend(?) was in the front passenger seat.

7 - While driving, the driver answered the cell phone and continued to have a lengthy conversation.

8 - After the first night advised the front desk that the room was not very clean, hair on floor and hole in one of the sheets - was assured that this would be attended to - upon returning late that afternoon found that nothing had been done. - in fact, the hair was still on the floor and the sheet (complete with hole) was still there.

9 - When returning from Busch Gardens, asked the shuttle driver what the rate from the Hotel to the Airport would be to confirm what I had been advised by Hilton Hotels (head office) which was $55 for a taxi and $35 for a shuttle - the driver advised that the shuttle fee was $35 for one person and $55 for two - well, the reservation had been made for Mr & Mrs .. what part of this am I missing?
On the other 2 trips we made with the shuttle the driver as well was answering his cell....and no it was not a hands free one.
I realize the shuttle does not belong to the hotel but it is up to the hotel to set the guidelines.

Not so much as a "thank you for staying with us", "have a good day" ... or whatever, as the front desk watched us struggle with our luggage on the way out ...
not very likely to stay there again!
.......and that's why it's not a 4 star ....shouldn't even be a 3

  • Liked — popcorn available in the lobby
  • Disliked — just about everything
  • Tips/Secrets — chek hotels closer to Busch Gardens and the airport
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City,Okla
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

If you are going to Busch gardens, take my advice stay at this hotel. It may be 4-5 miles further to the park but the hotels in this area are not ran down. This place is great, clean rooms, managers reception a typical Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

If you stay in Tampa, FL you must stay here. The hotel is very nice. I stayed here for 2 nights at like $75 a night and the hotel was great. When you walk in the hotel the lobby is so nicely decorated. It really feels like an regurlar fancy Hilton and what a bargain. There is always a treat at the counter. One day there were fresh apples in a huge bowl filled with ice water and the other day I had soft cholate chip cookie. Checking in and checkin out is a breeze. When you checkout you can use the phone in the room which is so fast and you can then just leave your keys. Everything is close to this hotel. There is a Walmart, Busch Gardens, and some shopping and nice restaraunts nearby within 5 minutes. I must tell you about the best restaraunt that I went to when I was there. It is called Remington's Steakhouse has the best sirloin steak I had ever had and the biggest baked potato was as big as a mini football i swear. My wife had the tastiest strawberry daquari ever. Vist [--], there are 3 locations in Tampa, FL. You wont be disappointed.

  • Disliked — I did see a bug that I think was a cockroach but a small one. There is a marsh behind hotel so there will be a lot of bugs back there.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights at $62/night (AAA rate). Every staff member we came in contact with was pleasant, helpful and provided excellent customer service. The hotel lobby and restaurant were clean and very well-maintained. The breakfast buffet was great! Our room/bathroom were also very clean and comfortable (in addition to the bed it included a microwave, fridge, desk and comfortable chair/ottoman). Parking was never a problem.

It's a great place to stay if you are planning on going to Busch Gardens which is just a few miles away. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North

Address: 13305 Tampa Oaks Boulevard, Temple Terrace, FL 33637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Temple Terrace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Temple Terrace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North and enjoy everything you need for a relaxing stay. The hotel is ideally located in a tranquil nature preserve, yet just minutes from popular Florida attractions.Relax in your comfy guest room at the Hilton Garden Tampa North, where everything you need is within easy access. Unwind on a patented auto adjustable Garden Sleep System® bed or get to work at the large desk and ergonomic Herman Miller Mirra® chair. Begin your day with a delicious cooked breakfast at the Great American Grill® and choose from the a la carte menu at lunch and dinner. Do business in the 24-hour Business Center, refresh in the fitness center or enjoy a revitalizing swim in the tropical outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North Hotel Temple Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Temple Terrace
Hilton Temple Terrace
Temple Terrace Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.