We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Customer Care” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13305 Tampa Oaks Boulevard, Temple Terrace, FL 33637   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Temple Terrace
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“First Class Customer Care”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed at this property while visiting my son. They rolled out the red carpet for us. The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful. The location is very near USF and Busch Gardens and has easy access to I75 and I4. We wanted to rent a movie and they offered us a free rental (I do have diamond status so this helps).

The breakfast is fairly good but didn't ever have lunch or dinner.

I will stay at this property again and again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We very much appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel! We want all of our guests to have a first class experience while staying with us and to feel like we have “rolled out the red carpet
for them, and we are all very happy that this was your experience.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Tampa and will be sure to provide you with another great experience!

Sarah Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    104
    60
    25
    18
See reviews for
149
79
20
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I have been traveling back and forth for 2 years from Tallahassee, Florida to Tampa, Florida to Moffitt Cancer Center. We love staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North. It is in a perfect location. It is close to Moffitt Cancer Center and Busch Gardens. Also, we always get great service and the staff is wonderful! They are professional, friendly and caring. We have formed special friendships with Sara Bates, the General Manager, Katie, Ann, Tarah and Tracy, who go above and beyond to make us feel welcomed. What we really love about these ladies is their positive, up beat attitudes and they are so much fun!

Room Tip: We have liked all of the rooms we have stayed in. What is so great for Moffitt patients is that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I can safely speak for the entire team when I say we enjoyed having you here as much as you enjoyed staying here. We all very much enjoyed our chats with you, and taking you both to see all the neat things Tampa has to offer. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Tampa, we can swap notes about Ikea!

Sarah Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Treated like family. Great staff smiling and seeing I was relaxed and happy. Woud recommend to anyone wanting a great friendly quiet environment. Fast service. Food excellent. Felt safe there. Near USF and Busch Gardens and inter state.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! Our team works extremely hard to ensure each and every one of our guests has an outstanding stay with us, and we are all very pleased that this was your experience. We hope you get the chance to stay with us again next time you are in Tampa!
Thank you again!

Sarah Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I echo "John G.'s" review, along with others who seem to indicate the same issues...unlike the other surprising "5 star reviews". Have not only stayed at other Hilton Garden Inns before, with absolutely NO issues and on the contrary, always exceptional...but have also stayed at this hotel itself in the distant. However, seems the hotel has really taken a downturn since our last stay. Chose this hotel over others with lower rates, because I know the normally quality stay in a Hilton property. Unfortunately for me, however, this did not turn out to be the case this time. Started out with an issue from moment of check-in. Despite a quite empty hotel (seemed as though they had quite a bit of vacancy available), we were given a room that the moment we walked in, had CLEARLY been a very "smoking friendly" room, to say the least. The smell was absolutely horrible and "hit you in the face" the moment you walked into the room. The hallway outside was no better...had a smell that we could only describe as a "dirty diaper". Besides the smell, we immediately noticed the bedspread had several clear and mysterious "stains" on it. We immediately went back to the front desk and were given another room, however to our disappointment, not so much as even an apology for the other room or inconvenience was given. We then got to the second room, which didn't smell nearly as bad as the first, however still was not up to the standards of what we know Hilton to have. At this point we needed to get ourselves going to Busch Gardens, which was what our trip was for. However, upon our return in the evening, just moments after returning, we used the bathroom to wash up for bed, only to attempt to wipe our faces with dirty towels. One towel had several hairs in it, and two others clearly had been used to wipe mouths from toothpaste, as it was clearly left on the towel. Needless to say, this was quite disgusting. We then pulled the bedding back, and that too appeared as though it had not been changed from the previous guests. To add even more, we then went to retrieve our waters out of the refrigerator, only to find that the refrigerator was not even working. It was simply one situation after another since arrival. At this point it was late and we were quite tired. I called down and explained the situation with the refrigerator in particular and we were told they would "get someone on it right away". A short time after, a gentleman appeared at the door, came in and did a quick turn of the refrigerator dial only to say that it was simply not working. Then, instead of even attempting to change it out, etc, instead, this gentleman came clearly prepared to move us to another room, as he came with other room keys. That to me seemed to indicate one of two things...they new the refrigerator was already broken or even if they were unaware, knew they weren't going to even try to bother fixing or replacing it, rather it would be US to be inconvenienced late at night. (Mind you at no point again were any apologies even given for our inconvenience) We then moved rooms yet again, having to move all our belongings late at night and when we were already dressed for bed and tired. We again went to the front desk to explain what had occurred and of our extreme disgust and disappointment. We had already planned another night stay in the area but were going to go to another local hotel. The woman at the front desk however, offered another night at no cost after what occurred, along with breakfast coupons for the following morning. So that night we went to bed as we were very tired and already disgusted with the issues since arrival. We woke early and went down to breakfast, which unfortunately I have to say was also not what you expect of Hilton standards. Many of the items were stale and the service left much to be desired. We also both had stomach issues after that breakfast. We spent the day at the park and upon arrival back, our first issue was that our room key had "expired" from what we were told, and did not work. So yet again, another trip to the front desk. Upon entering the room, we realized that the temperature in the room did not seem the setting we had left it. We again were tired and also quite disgusted with having to consistently go to the front desk and complain, that we hoped that we could change the temperature and it would gradually adjust itself. This never happened unfortunately, and we went from being both extremely warm at times during the night...causing us to sweat...to literally freezing. There was simply no way to regulate the temperature correctly. To add to this, since we were so tired the night before after being moved yet again to this, the third room, we didn't take notice as to why we were so uncomfortable sleeping in the bed. Although the pillows are VERY flat, it turned out it was a much broader issue. The "dial" for the "adjustable" mattress was broken and the bed instead literally had "holes" your body would slump down into while sleeping, since it was "deflated". We did complain yet again to the front desk, but were told to contact the manager "Sarah" for further help. I have done so as of yesterday, and have yet to receive a return call. Just overall an extremely disappointing stay to say the least. We will definitely NOT return to this hotel upon our return, which we happen to have passes and go to the parks on a frequent basis. I feel ANY amount paid was unfair for the standard of "quality" we received. Truly, truly disappointing.

Room Tip: Want a good room...stay at another local hotel like the Embassy Suites or Comfort Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I understand how disappointed you must feel regarding the cleanliness and maintenance issues you encountered. I sincerely apologize for this. As we utilize reviews to assess our guest needs, this is one of the areas that we want to be very vigilant in to ensure comfort and satisfaction for our guests. I'm so sorry that we were unable to meet expectations and based upon your review and other's like Jon G, I am actively participating with our housekeeping and maintenance teams to ensure these problems do not happen again. I hope that if you travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us again. I am glad we were able to provide you with a complementary night stay with us as well as breakfast for your family.
Thank you again, I appreciate your honest feedback and please feel free to contact me if you have additional comments. While I did not get your phone message, I did receive a message on Monday that was quite long, but was pure static, and I could not make out anything the person was saying, I was hopeful they would call back so that I could connect with them, could that possibly have been you?

Kind regards,

Sarah Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very convenient to school and restaurants, entertainment. We have stayed here in the past and always return because we have had such great service, pleasant, courteous staff. The hotel and rooms are always clean, bright and well kept.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay with us! I am so pleased you continue to have great visits with us and we work very hard to ensure all of your visits are first class! We have some exciting upgraded and improvements coming in 2013 and we cannot wait to share them with you!

Sarah Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I do quite a bit of business in Temple Terrace and I always stay at this HGI. The hotel is right off of I75 so it is pretty easy to get to. Its a standard HGI, but the staff makes the stays here very pleasant, which is why I keep staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! We have a pretty amazing team here who really know how to take excellent care of our guests and we are always pleased when our efforts pay off. We hope you get the chance to stay with us again very soon!

Thank you again!
Sarah Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My third stay in the last year, room not clean, carpet worn, mildew in bathroom and tv picture is not clear. Property needs a renovation. Food was almost not edible, quality ok but cook needs some lessons

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to convey your experience with us. We use each and every guest comment as a tool to further improve our services. I cannot apologize enough for the cleanliness and conditional issue in your room during your recent stay with us. This is not the standard at our hotel, and rest assured we are working with maintenance and housekeeping to ensure nothing like this happens again.
We hope you will give our property another chance during your next visit to the Tampa area and allow us the opportunity to provide you with the level of service and cleanliness we are known for.
Thank you,
Sarah Schmidt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North

Address: 13305 Tampa Oaks Boulevard, Temple Terrace, FL 33637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Temple Terrace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Temple Terrace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North and enjoy everything you need for a relaxing stay. The hotel is ideally located in a tranquil nature preserve, yet just minutes from popular Florida attractions.Relax in your comfy guest room at the Hilton Garden Tampa North, where everything you need is within easy access. Unwind on a patented auto adjustable Garden Sleep System® bed or get to work at the large desk and ergonomic Herman Miller Mirra® chair. Begin your day with a delicious cooked breakfast at the Great American Grill® and choose from the a la carte menu at lunch and dinner. Do business in the 24-hour Business Center, refresh in the fitness center or enjoy a revitalizing swim in the tropical outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North Hotel Temple Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Temple Terrace
Hilton Temple Terrace
Temple Terrace Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.