We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel -- but not for larger groups” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13294 Telecom Drive, Temple Terrace, FL 33637   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Temple Terrace
Villa Park, IL
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice hotel -- but not for larger groups”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Stayed at the LaQuinta Inn & Suites July 10 - July 12, 2009 for a family reunion. The hotel was clean yet not prepared for the 3 large groups that were booked. We arrived at 1:00, which is their posted check in time and had to wait 20 minutes because rooms were not ready and they had OVERBOOKED the hotel. There were 3 large groups at the hotel at the same time which I'm sure made things very difficult for the travelers in the hotel who were not with either group. Things I didn't like about the hotel: 1. Sleeping rooms are on the same level and right across from the meeting rooms. We had an event scheduled to 11:00 p.m. The hotel security SHUT US DOWN at 10:00 p.m. because other hotel guest were complaining -- as they should have because again -- THERE WERE 3 LARGE GROUPS AT THE HOTEL.
2. The "dining area" where the food was being served was not large enough just for our family group. This was not good for the other hotel guests because it is directly off of the lobby of the hotel and if you were going out and coming in, you were in the same traffic pattern.
3. The pool rules changed than what was posted. Because there were SEVERAL TEENAGERS in the hotel because of the 3 large groups -- it became noisy. Again, not comfortable for the other travelers. The pool is small but the sitting area was larger than the pool. With the weather being hot in July -- the 3 groups of teenagers that were there at the same time was a disaster. This made the hotel "change" the pool policy to TRY and accommodate the other guests. THIS DIDN'T WORK! I actually saw people checking out of the hotel because of the noise level coming directly from the pool area because their rooms were on the 1st level. Not sure what they expected with that many kids and teenagers in the hotel at the same time.
Things I liked about this hotel: 1. Nice surroundings.2. Staff was very friendly and helpful. 3. Rooms were clean.
4. Morning breakfast was a good alternative.

Overall, I think they made the mistake of booking a family reunion, a football team, and another team of teenagers together. The hotel was booked SOLID with lots of teenagers -- I'm sure they outnumbered the adults.
If I was to visit the area again, I would consider staying but definitely not with a larger group.

Overall the stay was good but I would have said excellent if they had considered NOT TRYING TO MAKE ALL THE MONEY ON ROOMS and instead thought about the activities that were to take place in the hotel with the other guests that were confirmed.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    42
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
92
62
18
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ft pierce
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

all staff went over and above being nice the rooms were spacious and very clean the front desk employees were the best

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We had a wonderful (one night) stay here after our day visit to Busch Gardens. The hotel was maybe 10-15 minutes away at most from the park, and an easy entrance onto the highway when we left in the morning. The room was clean, nicely furnished, and very roomy. The free breakfast was great...bagels, waffles, biscuits sausage and gravy, cereal, muffins and pastries...juice, coffee, milk. Both our small kids (1, 3, and 6) and mom and dad were well fed and pleased! The only other ammenity we tried was the pool briefly in the morning, but it, too, was clean and great! I would most definitely recommend this hotel, as well as stay again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

I really like this hotel! It should stand as a model for the way all other LaQuinta Inn & Suite Hotels are operated. The staff (front desk, sales and management) is always very friendly and accomodating. The guestrooms and public areas are always clean. It's location on a quiet street near a corporate office park assures guests of a stay without any street noise to speak of. They have a very nice manager's reception for guests in the early evening, which I thinks goes a long way in making guests feel welcomed and appreciated. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park

Address: 13294 Telecom Drive, Temple Terrace, FL 33637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Temple Terrace
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Temple Terrace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Holiday Inn Express Tampa North provides easy access to Interstate 75 and local points of interest such as the University of South Florida, Telecom Business Park, Hidden River Business Park, Moffitt Cancer Center, VA Hospital, Busch Gardens, and much more.The Tampa hotel location offers a premium guest experience including, refreshing outdoor pool and huge Jacuzzi, fitness center, and meeting facilities. A Free upgraded Bright Side Breakfast awaits you every morning in our beautiful and spacious breakfast area with extended outdoor patio seating. Our Welcome Reception is held for our Guests Monday - Thursday from 4:30pm-6:30pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park Hotel Temple Terrace
La Quinta Tampa North
La Quinta Temple Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.