We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very attentive staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13294 Telecom Drive, Temple Terrace, FL 33637   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Temple Terrace
Havelock, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very attentive staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is very quiet and clean! The staff is very nice, and very attentive! The breakfast is always good (just wish we had waffles!), and the hostess is wonderful! Yasmin is always very friendly, very helpful, and keeps a spotless area. The food is great---and coffee really good! We always look forward to seeing her, as she is most helpful, and caring! Holiday Inn Express Tampa Telecom Park is lucky to have her, and we are blessed to know her. We definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The floors are quiet, despite children in the hotels. If you had a problem, they no doubt would work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGERHIX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you Carolyn for the awesome review of our hotel here at the Holiday Inn Express Tampa North. We really appreciate such a high praise and recommendation, and are so glad you took the time out to recognize one of our best employees in Yasmin. She has been here for long time and really takes pride in what she does, and is one of the major keys to our success. I am glad that she seemed to make a great impression on you. Thank you again Carolyn and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Tampa.

Scot - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    40
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
92
62
18
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Upon arrival we were greeted with a big smile and a warm welcome, we went to our room to find it spotless clean! :) Later that night we had had some questions and went to the front desk employee Robert, he was very helpful and had a huge smile with a awesome personality. My only downer is when I called to make reservations the night auditor told me you were located within 15-20 minuets from the beach, not true! It's an hour to Clearwater beach. Overall we had a wonderful stay and enjoyed ourselves. Definitely will be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGERHIX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you Jondavis95 for the great review of our property. Robert is really going to get a kick out of seeing his name mentioned on Tripadvisor, he is great at what he does and we are so glad you were able to recognize him. As for Clearwater beach, I apologize that you received some misinformation as you mentioned it being an hour away. Again thank you very much for the review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Scot - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had a four day mini vacation with our kids and grandchildren. Pool and hot tub were great. We stayed in the King suites which suited our needs. Rooms were very clean and all the staff was extremely efficient and pleasant. We have stayed at this site before and we will certainly stay again in the future.
Breakfast was enjoyed by all. The little ones loved the yogurt and the cinnamon rolls were yummy!

Room Tip: We decided on the king suites as we had 2 adults and 2 kids in each room. These rooms had 2 tv'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGERHIX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you Maryanne B for the review of our property. I see that you have stayed with us multiple times so you already knew what room type was best for you. The staff has worked very hard to be more efficient to go along with their great customer service skills, so it's great you were able to recognize it. Of course if you are going to stay at a Holiday Inn Express you have to have a Cinnamon Roll, so it seems you were able to take advantage of the whole experience. We will see you next time you’re in Tampa.

Scot - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We have been in your hotel since May 19,2014 to current due to a family member being in Moffat cancer center. Not only have your staff been accommodating but they ask us everyday how thongs were at the hospital today and were we ok. We especially would like to point out two people who have been exceptional. One is asking in the breakfast room. Every morning she greets us with a smile on her face and a good morning,how are you! She also keeps the dining room spotless and completely stocked. It's truly nice to have someone like her to start off our morning when the rest of the day you know will be trying. Then there is Charles at the front desk who always greets us with a smile knowing we've had a trying day. He has been a blessing to know and is truly dedicated to his clients. I will always reccommend holiday inn express north to all my friends and business associates. The entire staff is dedicated and truly appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGERHIX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Wow sassyjan, Thank you so much for the great review of our property. At the Holiday Inn Express Tampa North we understand the sensitive nature of our Moffitt guests staying with us and we try our best to make you feel welcome as many guests are here for extended periods of time. I am so glad you were able to recognize two employees who have gone above and beyond during your stay in Yasmin and Charles, they will really appreciate the mention. We hope that after your stay with us this time that next time you can come for leisure and enjoy our hotel without the unfortunate circumstances. Again thank you very much for the review and we hope to see you in the future.

Scot - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed on what is most likely the busiest weekend of the year, which may or may not be fair for this review, but it's my experience and I need to write what went right and what went wrong.

It began when we first checked in just after 3PM, they assigned us a first floor. They didn't have a record of our request for a 1st floor, even though we always ask for a 2nd floor or higher. Instead of attempting to accommodate us, or at the very least apologize, they only said they are all booked and there was nothing they could do. Needless to say the first night's sleep was almost non-existent as I'm a light sleeper because of light and of course our room was near one of the outside lights. Also, even though they have choices of firm or soft pillows for each guest, they were soft and softer. I asked the next day if I could get a firm pillow and was told that's all they had.

The first morning, we went for breakfast and of course, with a fully booked hotel there were no seats and the server couldn't keep up with the demand of food. In my opinion, the hotel should've been able to get someone to help, particularly because one table was taken by an employee who works overnight and another table was taken by two people from corporate. That's right - a totally booked hotel, a busy weekend, at the height of the breakfast rush and two tables are taken by other than paying guests and they were all enjoying breakfast! My husband had to ask for biscuits three times, they were ready the next morning.

The next part is not entirely the hotels fault, but there was a very bad storm in the area that lingered for about 2 hours. We were basically stuck in our hotel room because it was raining so hard we couldn't go out. There were no seats because everyone else was also sitting around. The roads were blocked because of the heavy rains, so we were all "trapped". My husband and I were particularly trapped because of the lack of seats around the lobby and the breakfast room, the business center being busy and the fitness room busy, we stayed in our room except for the few times we left the room to make phone calls because neither of our cell phones worked in the room. And because we were on the first floor, we kept the curtains closed so we could have some privacy. The storm totally knocked out the already extraordinarily slow internet and basically left us nothing to do while we just waited for the storm to pass.

The pool was pretty to look at, but the first time we went out, we got locked out of the hotel. You need your key to access the door, but the lock wasn't working. We learned to leave a rock in the door, so that it didn't happen again - this was true even during the day.

On our second day, we got up for breakfast and faced the crowd once again. The big whigs were gone, but still, the server had a hard time keeping up. We were afforded the luxury of using thermos' of milk and half and half for coffee the day before instead of those annoying little cups. When we asked the server if she had the thermos', she replied she didn't have them. We mentioned that we used them the day before. She replied that was out for the inspection. (Hmmmmmm)

To be fair, it's a lot of little things that forces me to give this stay such a poor rating. Our room was clean and decorated nicely and it was a good rate. But the staff was rude and dismissive, the breakfasts were poorly stocked and attended to and of course with hotel staff taking our place, just irks me. The location is a good one for anyone staying for a visit to USF.

Tip: Try the gelato place in the shopping center - it was magnificent. Shame on the Holiday Inn for not allowing them to advertise - they share the same parking lot. Also, for the adventurer's with a bit of time - take a trip to Lettuce Lake (a nature preserve) just on the other side of the highway.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor or higher. There are landscaping lights everywhere on the outside and no privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGERHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you NorJon713 for the review of our property here at the Holiday Inn Express Tampa North. First off you are exactly right you stayed with us on the busiest time of the year here during USF graduation, not only that we were also going through our IHG corporate Inspection at the same time. There were a lot of things going on here that are not usually part of the norm and it seems we fell short of your expectations in some ways, as for the request to be on a specific floor this is something that we should have been able to accommodate or at the very least explain why we could not as you said and I would like to apologize for this confusion. The pillows are in fact the only two types that we have and are the IHG requirement for the "firm & soft" pillows here at the hotel.

The breakfast area is something that we usually do not face many issues with as if we need to we can use our Meeting Room as extra seating but it was actually occupied during this specific date. As for an employee & two members of corporate being in the breakfast area, I believe this is in reference to myself who was sitting with the IHG Inspector which is also part of the requirements.

As for our staff being "rude" this is something that I have never heard them described as since I have been present at this hotel. On this specific day there was a lot of things going on causing the atmosphere to be a little frantic but as for hotel staff being in breakfast that was only me and the IHG representative going over our standards to better serve our guests in the future.

The Gelato place next to us is only been open a few weeks and did not have any collateral for us to promote their facility with at the time, as we have this information now.

Overall, I wish there was a way I could have spoken to you regarding these issues during your stay and came up with a plan to improve the quality of your stay but I am glad you could find some positives including our rate and cleanliness and hopefully that will led to you giving us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Good hotel to stay if you have a tight budget. Located near busch gardens but far away from tampa bay and malls. Average staff attention. Clean rooms with good size but needs to be updated. Enough parking available and brochures of the main attractions available.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGERHIX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you alvaropb for the review of the Holiday Inn Express Tampa North. I appreciate the acknowledgement of our fairly priced hotel and that our rooms were clean and staff was attentive. Being located in North Tampa is somewhat detrimental for some of the malls and shops for Tampa but at the same time it is nice to be located in a quite area away from all the noisy downtown areas. Again thank you for taking some time out to give a review of our property here.

Scot - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I am not sure how this hotel gets a high rating. Upon arrival it is connected to a strip shopping center that almost vacant. The hotel grounds are unkept and the area distance but very quiet.

I checked in and the room quality was pretty poor. Stains in the carpet and lots of stains in the sofa. The headboard bolted to the wall was loose and the bed was not that comfortable.

The bathroom has peeling and really bad patched wallpaper. The sink stopper was broken and just placed in place by the housekeeper. Crumbs on the floor around the bed and sofa. I picked this hotel because of the TripAdvisor score but it just does not match. Front Desk staff was nice but no one else in the hotel seem to speak english.

Room Tip: The location is not near restaurants so get your dinner before checking in or you will have to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGERHIX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear OurExtendedStay, I appreciate your review of our property and I want to first apologize that we failed to meet your standards. The Holiday Inn Express Tampa North has had an incredible online reputation for a long time and we want to keep it that way. We pride ourselves in providing great customer service and cleanliness in our hotel and as it seems we did a good job with customer service we missed that mark in the cleanliness department. I don't believe that your recent trip to stay with us truly does us justice as you can see many of our past reviews have been very satisfying. If you would like to contact me here at the hotel maybe we can have you come stay with us in the future and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park

Address: 13294 Telecom Drive, Temple Terrace, FL 33637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Temple Terrace
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Temple Terrace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Holiday Inn Express Tampa North provides easy access to Interstate 75 and local points of interest such as the University of South Florida, Telecom Business Park, Hidden River Business Park, Moffitt Cancer Center, VA Hospital, Busch Gardens, and much more.The Tampa hotel location offers a premium guest experience including, refreshing outdoor pool and huge Jacuzzi, fitness center, and meeting facilities. A Free upgraded Bright Side Breakfast awaits you every morning in our beautiful and spacious breakfast area with extended outdoor patio seating. Our Welcome Reception is held for our Guests Monday - Thursday from 4:30pm-6:30pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park Hotel Temple Terrace
La Quinta Tampa North
La Quinta Temple Terrace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.