We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near FKDC - No Complaints” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Creekside Inn Islamorada

Save Saved
You added Creekside Inn Islamorada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Creekside Inn Islamorada
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   90611 Old Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33036 (Formerly Keys Resort & Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Sausalito, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Near FKDC - No Complaints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at Creekside Inn for four nights in August while diving with Florida Keys Dive Center. The purpose of our trip was diving and the hotel is located very close to the dive shop (walking distance). The hotel was as advertised and as expected - this is not a luxury hotel or resort, but it was clean and well priced. We did not experience the issues as the previous reviewers (and I too have travelled all over the world). It worked for our purposes and was convenient. No issues with the service - the receptionist was quite pleasant - no complaints. Can't beat the location if diving with Florida Keys Dive Center.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex - it was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German F, Owner at Creekside Inn Islamorada, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We enjoyed your company at The Creekside Inn, we hope to see you again soon- whether it be FKDC associated or simply for a visit. Your review is immensely appreciated, we are constanly striving to improve our hotel in every aspect, hence we greatly value the opinions of our loyal customers. Thank you, again, for choosing The Creekside Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    44
    20
    8
    15
See reviews for
28
35
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very bad attitude lady. Accused us of something we did not do. Did not even have the decency to apologize. Not worth going through all this drama on your vacation. The lady went to the extent of telling me there was a police report with my name on it. I had absolutely no encounter with any policeman. I was enjoying my vacation with my visitors and she showed up to accuse me of all these things, she called me a liar several times during the conversation, and when I tried to explain I was the wrong person, she would not listen!!! After she left I was furious. Then, I guess she found out she was wrong, and told the poor receptionist girl to call me, of course I did not have my phone on me. Listened to a message much later. She was not even capable of apologizing herself, nor show up in person like she did earlier. Turned out she was the one lying, what police report? With my name on it? How dear you accuse me of something I didn’t do!! Did not see her again. I’m still waiting for a formal apology.
IF YOU CAN AVOID THIS HOTEL DO!!! There are plenty more around it, much classier.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German F, Manager at Creekside Inn Islamorada, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
On behalf of The Creekside Inn, we are deeply apologetic your experience was not satisfactory. We are sorry for the miscommunication on our end regarding whose name was on the police report. However, several of the rooms who filed noise complaints confirmed that the room you were staying in was part of the havoc that was taking place at approximately 2am. We pride our hotel on our calm, relaxing nature and we do not condone any noise levels that disturb our other guests. Pertaining to any accusations that were made towards you: we respectfully rebuff. The manager who was on duty at the time had simply gone to your room to request politely that you keep the noise down, without any involvement of the police report that we had mistakenly thought had been made concerning your name. However, because of the confusion we decided to waive the damage that had been inflicted on the room (as well as the abundant amount of visitors seen in your room) when an industrial strength fryer had been plugged into your room, causing the fuse to blow and consequently leading to us having to call an electrician to repair the damaged outlets In the room you had stayed in. We are an economically friendly hotel and in the policies every guest signs on arrival it states that the guest can only plug a particular degree of wattage into the outlets due to this. Involving the apology made by our "poor" receptionist; the misunderstanding was made on all of our parts, we do not like to hold one person accountable for a confusion among several employees. As for the accusations on your end regarding an employee of ours supposedly lying to you, no one was lying. Our staff was simply trying to get to the bottom of a situation involving guests who were being inconsiderate. As for your formal apology, consider this response just that. From all of us here at the Creekside Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Close to the overpass. The room was clean, and not smokey.. Huge plus! Just lacked a little of the niceties... Soft bed for one. But the only reason this gets a 3 instead of a 4. Is they charged an extra hundred on the card as the deposit and credited it after. Thought that was....different.. When you're on a trip watching your pennies it tough. Though better than being out of iit forever.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German F, Owner at Creekside Inn Islamorada, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your helpful review, we appreciate all opinions due to the constant desire to better our establishment. As fellow travelers, we know an extra $100 is not ideal to spare for simply incidentals. However, for the security of our hotel it is a necessity and is strongly enforced by many other hotels of our stature. Just as a clarification, at the time of check-in we run your card just to ensure that it is valid and the $100 is only a hold as a precaution for any damages that may occur to the room. So long as the room is in the same condition is was when the customer arrived, the $100 is then released to your account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Crrekside Inn was a very pleasant surprise. Clean, quaint and a charm all its own. Valeria, the owner/manager was pleasant and helpful. It was perfect for our needs and we are already planning another trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German F, Owner at Creekside Inn Islamorada, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your positive remarks! We enjoyed having you as a guest, as we do with all our friendly customers. We hope to see you again soon, so we can make your experience just as accommodating as the last, if not better! Thank you, again, for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you want to be near Islamorada and all the great dive sites, then this is the place for you. It has a nice creek in the back and the Florida Dive Keys Center is a few blocks down the way and uses the same creek to get out to the sea. Conch Republic Divers is also across the street on the other side of the highway. I dived with both outfits and have no complaints.

Manager was fantastic in dealing with customer problems. I asked for a larger room and was promptly upgraded to a the double deluxe room which is great. Very spacious with two beds and better kitchenette than the standard. Had a door in the front and back and you can walk outside to the pool and the BBQ grill (a big one with a custom mini-keg smoker attached) area with shaded chairs and a hammock. Would recommend as a conveniently located motel that is both comfortable and relaxing.

This place is very close to Islamorada restaurants (Island Grill, Morada Bay, Wahoo's, Lorelei, Boardwalk Pizza, etc.), which are plentiful. Winn Dixie up the street about 5 minutes. Also not too far from the History of Diving Museum and other attractions in Islamorada.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German F, Owner at Creekside Inn Islamorada, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your immaculate review! We are ecstatic to have met your needs. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, we hope you will be back to make more memories at our establishment. As you have experienced, our guests' satisfaction is our top priority and we will go to great lengths to ensure their comfort. We greatly appreciate you expressing the devotion we apply to making our customers happy. We anticipate your next stay with us, and hope it will be soon! Thank you, again, for staying at Creekside Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

ive stayed a lot there ,im an avid scubadiver and its great located for that.But it was really getting rundown worse and worse untill the point i stopped going there,last time about 2/3 years ago.Im
done,how low can ya go,well,not that low lol.Back then it was called the Keys Motel. Friends organised a dive weekend in March and said we are going to creekside,i said ok,lets dive,so
i drove there and punched it in my gps,thinking nothing of it:-),so after 5 hour drive,drove in there parking lot and i scratched my head...hmm...i know this place...but dont really recognize it.Well,
hotel got sold and new owners poored in money and did a full rehab.And i loved it,maybe not still highend enough for some,but i loved it and so did my GF and 4 year old daughter,nice pool,nice patio where used to be an old building.Right on the inlet where the diveboat passes.Restaurant was updated also and also the old buildings next to the motel.Yep a nice surprise and ill be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German F, Owner at Creekside Inn Islamorada, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Your review means a great deal to us, considering the work we have put into the hotel as new owners to make each guest's stay as accommodating as possible, we are very appreciative of your positive praise. Also, we are very happy to know the transition of our hotel has not gone unnoticed. We have improved a great deal, but are always striving to better the hotel even more. We hope you will continue to stay with us and experience our growth as we develop and progress further. We are looking forward to any potential business we may have the opportunity of having with you in the future. Thank you for your valued opinion, and for choosing The Creekside Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The room was decent, it had a fridge and microwave which was nice. But, the floors were tile which wasn't very inviting and the bathroom had shutter "doors", like the kind that would be on a closet. So it didn't really leave much room for privacy. The bed wasn't super comfortable, but it wasn't horrible either. It was clean, but I wouldn't stay here again if I could avoid it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German F, Owner at Creekside Inn Islamorada, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, we always appreciate helpful opinions as we are always striving to better our hotel in every aspect. We take all criticism to a constructive degree. We are doing some current renovations regarding the sliding bathroom doors in some of our rooms and working to make each of our rooms as cozy and comfortable as possible. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope after we make some more improvements on our hotel that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Creekside Inn Islamorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Inn Islamorada

Address: 90611 Old Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33036 (Formerly Keys Resort & Marina)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Creekside Inn Islamorada 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creekside Inn Islamorada located in Islamorada in the heart of the Florida Keys along 1,000ft of unique canal front with prime dockage and deep water access, minutes from the Ocean and the Florida Bay. We are a moderately priced small hotel with Old Florida values who welcomes fishermen, boaters, divers, families and business traveling people who are looking to stay for a couple of days or weeks in our spacious, newly remodeled rooms, with prime dockage and complimentary WiFi, while caring about their budget and convenience. We have a casual canal front restaurant call "Made 2 Order" loved by the locals were to have breakfast or lunch, also Tavernier Creek Marina, the largest indoor storage Marina in the Keys, is just across the street, with all your fishing and boating needs. (Gas, REC Fuel, tackle, dive shop, Boat Rentals) Come and visit us! We are the Creekside Inn Islamorada and welcome you to the beautiful Florida Keys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Creekside Inn Islamorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keys Resort & Marina Hotel Tavernier
Keys Resort And Marina
Keys Hotel Tavernier
Keys Motel
Creekside Inn Islamorada Key Largo/Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creekside Inn Islamorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.