We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“creekside inn motel tavernier the Keys,formerly the Keys motel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Creekside Inn Islamorada

Save Saved
You added Creekside Inn Islamorada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Creekside Inn Islamorada
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   90611 Old Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33036 (Formerly Keys Resort & Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Tavernier
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“creekside inn motel tavernier the Keys,formerly the Keys motel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

ive stayed a lot there ,im an avid scubadiver and its great located for that.But it was really getting rundown worse and worse untill the point i stopped going there,last time about 2/3 years ago.Im
done,how low can ya go,well,not that low lol.Back then it was called the Keys Motel. Friends organised a dive weekend in March and said we are going to creekside,i said ok,lets dive,so
i drove there and punched it in my gps,thinking nothing of it:-),so after 5 hour drive,drove in there parking lot and i scratched my head...hmm...i know this place...but dont really recognize it.Well,
hotel got sold and new owners poored in money and did a full rehab.And i loved it,maybe not still highend enough for some,but i loved it and so did my GF and 4 year old daughter,nice pool,nice patio where used to be an old building.Right on the inlet where the diveboat passes.Restaurant was updated also and also the old buildings next to the motel.Yep a nice surprise and ill be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German F, Owner at Creekside Inn Islamorada, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Your review means a great deal to us, considering the work we have put into the hotel as new owners to make each guest's stay as accommodating as possible, we are very appreciative of your positive praise. Also, we are very happy to know the transition of our hotel has not gone unnoticed. We have improved a great deal, but are always striving to better the hotel even more. We hope you will continue to stay with us and experience our growth as we develop and progress further. We are looking forward to any potential business we may have the opportunity of having with you in the future. Thank you for your valued opinion, and for choosing The Creekside Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    42
    19
    8
    15
See reviews for
28
32
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The room was decent, it had a fridge and microwave which was nice. But, the floors were tile which wasn't very inviting and the bathroom had shutter "doors", like the kind that would be on a closet. So it didn't really leave much room for privacy. The bed wasn't super comfortable, but it wasn't horrible either. It was clean, but I wouldn't stay here again if I could avoid it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German F, Owner at Creekside Inn Islamorada, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, we always appreciate helpful opinions as we are always striving to better our hotel in every aspect. We take all criticism to a constructive degree. We are doing some current renovations regarding the sliding bathroom doors in some of our rooms and working to make each of our rooms as cozy and comfortable as possible. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope after we make some more improvements on our hotel that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is located in a good location, with easy access to Islamorada or Key Largo. It's set a little back from the main road, so traffic noises did not bother us. The room is large and very nicely decorated. The unique decorations on the wall create an authentic island feel.The bed we were given was a queen, even though we reserved a king sized. The comfort of the bed was average, but the sheets were stained and we slept on top of the covers. Also, the towels were threadbare and harsh.

The receptionist was friendly and tried hard to help us. However, this hotel has some very strange requirements. When we checked in, we had a reservation which was completely pre-paid. The receptionist told us they put a $100 hold on our credit card in case of incidentals. This was not a problem. However, she then presented us with a receipt to sign for $100 charge on the credit card. We questioned this (we've had holds on the card before without having a sign for an actual charge) and asked her to show us this explanation in the pages of hotel policies we had to sign for check in, but it was not there. She stated we could not check in without signing this $100 charge receipt and if we refused and left, we would still be charged the full pre-payment for the room. We felt trapped and agreed to sign the slip.

The receptionist did try to help the situation, offering to give us a receipt stating the full refund in the morning when we checked out. This would have been very reassuring, however the front office closes at 7 pm and doesn't reopen until 8 am. We had to leave before that so she offered to email us the receipt. She did send us the receipt later that day and hopefully everything will show up correctly on the credit card.

So while the front desk staff did her best to help our situation, I do not feel this inn is worth the hassle. There are many other choices in the area and we will pick a different one if we travel in the area again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stay a weekend, or stay a week. Creekside Inn has a great location. I had a last minute trip to the Keys a few months ago and had the great pleasure of finding this gem. The location is perfect. Right in the heart of fishing and diving. The rooms are tastefully decorated, comfortable and very clean. I loved the little surprise when after my late arrival I opened the back door onto the beautiful waterway! I slept very well in the comfortable bed. I was gratefule for the mini fridge for my leftover dinner. I enjoyed this property so much that, I am going back to spend easter weekend with my whole family and bringing friends along.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German F, Owner at Creekside Inn Islamorada, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! The opinions of our guests are very important to us, it delights us to hear we could accommodate you. We are looking forward to seeing you and your family and friends for future visits. The more, the merrier! We dearly appreciate your positive praise, and thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Creek Side Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My family and I had the pleasure of a having a complete weekend off and drawn by the beautiful weather outlook, we decided what better way to spend such a joyous weekend but in the Florida Keys! We, of course, without hesitation promptly booked a reservation at our preferred lodging location - The Creekside Inn, located on the water in beautiful Islamorada. We made the reservation with ease, and with very little notice to boot, and headed south to our beautiful destination. We actually arrived rather late this visit, due to unforeseen circumstances at my job (emergency patients have the most inconvenient timing!) but upon our arrival, all was in order and we quickly settled into the comforts of our usual reserved room. We awoke the next morning to a beautiful blue sky and bright shining sun and enjoyed a delicious breakfast at Made 2 Order, located adjacent to the hotel’s property. After dining on some morning fare, we returned to our lodging to discover that some wonderful new additions had been placed since our last visit. Now, overlooking the waterfront canal, is a tropical paradise adorned with tiki huts, chaise lounges and a fire pit! Where are marshmallows and graham crackers when you need them? So, needless to say, my husband and I lounged blissfully atop the beachside amenities while our 5-year-old daughter played amongst the sand and with the tropical lotus flowers. It was absolutely perfect! The weekend was short but the weather was beautiful and our time well spent. Certainly worth the trip! We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German F, Owner at Creekside Inn Islamorada, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Your review is dearly appreciated. We are delighted to hear such positive remarks regarding your stay with us. As with all of our customers, we are infinitely happy to meet your needs and to have you end your stay satisfied with the quality of our hotel that we maintain. We hope you will stay with us in the future and have no doubts that we will meet your needs once more. Looking forward to your future endeavors with us and thank you, again, for staying at The Creekside Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here while diving with Conch Republic Divers in early March of 2013. The rooms are not luxurious - this place seems to have been here for quite a while, and appears to have been built in the 60's or possibly earlier. All outside entrances, but a good option in an area (close to Islamorada and Key Largo, right at Tavernier Creek) where conventional hotels are a bit pricey. The front of the hotel faces the main road, the back is on the water and they have dock space available for fishermen or others who want to be close to their boat.

It is right across the street from Conch Republic, so it was very convenient for us. There was a microwave, small fridge, and flat screen TV (which I never turned on in the 4 nights I stayed here. The front desk closes at 8PM, but they called to let me know that they would leave a realtor's key safe on the door to our room and gave me the combination, so I could let myself in since I arrived late. They were very accommodating and helpful - I was planning to be on a dive boat the next morning before the office opened, so they said to just stop in and do the paperwork of checking in after I got back. Very nice!

Bed was a bit creaky, but comfortable. The room was well-cared for overall and though showing a few signs of age, it still was perfect for what I needed and I would stay there again. A coffeemaker in the room provided hot water for our thermos of tea that went with us on the dive boat (it was unseasonably cold for diving and hot tea was a welcome luxury when climbing back on the boat after a dive).

If you need room service and the idea of an older hotel with outside entrances (covered by a large awning, providing lots of protection from sun and rain) isn't your thing, you can try the Marriott Courtyard in Key Largo, but you will pay double for it.

I was comfortable and happy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side facing the water would probably be more picturesque and quieter. (Less road n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German F, Owner at Creekside Inn Islamorada, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review!! We appreciate our customers input since the Creekside Inn Islamorada is a work in progress. Though nothing extremely fancy, our rooms are clean, large and well equipped. We have just added a waterfall, tiki huts and music to one of the pools and a large sandy lounge area with a floating dock on the canal for all our guests who are not planning on fishing or diving. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have stayed here twice before and was pleasantly surprised to find much of the hotel newly renovated. The best part of our stay was meeting the new friendly and hardworking owners. We will be back next year for sure. Special discount for divers diving with the Florida Keys Dive Shop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German F, Owner at Creekside Inn Islamorada, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
It was very nice meeting you too!! Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you and your family here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Creekside Inn Islamorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Inn Islamorada

Address: 90611 Old Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33036 (Formerly Keys Resort & Marina)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Creekside Inn Islamorada 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creekside Inn Islamorada located in Islamorada in the heart of the Florida Keys along 1,000ft of unique canal front with prime dockage and deep water access, minutes from the Ocean and the Florida Bay. We are a moderately priced small hotel with Old Florida values who welcomes fishermen, boaters, divers, families and business traveling people who are looking to stay for a couple of days or weeks in our spacious, newly remodeled rooms, with prime dockage and complimentary WiFi, while caring about their budget and convenience. We have a casual canal front restaurant call "Made 2 Order" loved by the locals were to have breakfast or lunch, also Tavernier Creek Marina, the largest indoor storage Marina in the Keys, is just across the street, with all your fishing and boating needs. (Gas, REC Fuel, tackle, dive shop, Boat Rentals) Come and visit us! We are the Creekside Inn Islamorada and welcome you to the beautiful Florida Keys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Creekside Inn Islamorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keys Resort & Marina Hotel Tavernier
Keys Resort And Marina
Keys Hotel Tavernier
Keys Motel
Creekside Inn Islamorada Key Largo/Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creekside Inn Islamorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.