We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back - perfect spot in the keys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Save
You added Island Bay Resort to your Saves list
92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back - perfect spot in the keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Oh my . . . my husband and I were looking for a quiet, romantic getaway for three days, and we certainly found it at the Island Bay Resort. Everything is top notch and so many little things are thought of by the owners, Mike and Carol. We had such a wonderful stay, even though the weather were less than desirable. Just loved their little beach with comfortable loungers watching the pelicans. All the guests, at this gem of a place, were just the ones you'd like to spend time talking to and seemed to be looking for (and found) a relaxing spot in this wild, crazy world. I highly recommend this resort to all and sundry (if looking for a wonderfully quiet, clean, romantic hideaway).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    46
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
369
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Not sure why the ratings are this high on Tripadvisor. It's a nice place, nice owners, 2 small rooms and a real small bay beach area, but there are certainly nicer places nearby for the $ (Hilton or Hampton Inn.)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

I stayed here with 3 friends on 10th feb and loved it. Run by a friendly enthusiastic couple, surprisingly quiet, right next to the sea, with some great great seafood restaurants nearby, and a diner a few minutes walk away. We snorkled and watched the huge pelicans who were as tame as pidgeons.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate my 50th birthday. I looked on-line for a cottage on the beach and warm weather. The reviews on Trip Advisor highly recommended Island Bay Resort and they were 100% correct in doing so. The room was spotless, the beach immaculate and Carol and Mike were the perfect hosts. I highly recommend this resort if you want a quiet and relaxing vacation! We can't wait to return to this little bit of paradise!!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Fla
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

We went To Key Largo to celebrate my Birthday and picked the Island Bay Resort from the recommendations from Trip Advisor. We had a wonderful stay at this lovely small resort. The cottages were small but packed with all kids of goodies and we lacked for nothing. The room was very cute with all the tropical decorations and we loved the digital picture frame, We took advantage of deck right outside our room and had fun on the bean bag shuffle board game. The place has 9 or 10 cottages that lead down to a small beach area and dock area. We enjoyed the lounges and cozy chairs that were sprinkled around the beach area. The best was the large hammock for two that we stretched out and took a well deserved nap. The sunsets were incredible and I got lots of great pictures. Mike and Carol were gracious hosts and made you feel very much welcome. We had a wonderful time and hope to stay there again on our next visit to Key Largo.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Clean and well maintained with congenial hosts. Nice beach and decks.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

My husband and I have now stayed at Island Bay Resort for the 9th time and every year it gets better. If you want to bask on a sandy beach, go fishing and kayaking, see gorgeous sunsets over Florida Bay, or just loll around in a hammock, this is the place! We have always looked forward to seeing the new improvements Mike has made all around. The owners, Carol and Mike, could not be more friendly or helpful. Fortunately, the BP oil spill never reached this area and the sand for the Island Bay beach is as white as ever. The place is extremely clean, well decorated in Keys motif, and the beds are great! I would not go elsewhere south of Miami. This is best described as a "hidden gem".

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#3 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,296 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#2 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#3 of 4 in Tavernier
3.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
11.2 mi away
Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#9 of 18 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 stars 2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.