We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Keys HideAway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Tavernier
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A Keys HideAway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My inclination is to trash the Island Bay Resort in the upper Keys. That way no one will go there and we can stop in any time and know there will be plenty of accommodations. Much like the Tween Waters Inn in the 70's Sanibel, this little slice of Keys heaven is head and shoulders above any "resort" we have found on the Overseas Highway.
It is small; it is private; it is clean; it is fun; it is family; it is couples; it is retirees; it is honeymooners.....the proprietors apparently only deal in "perfect" and it's ez to see why they have a significant repeat customer base.
The individual cottages are all keys themed...but each differently. For instance we stayed in Sunset and the entire cottage had whimsical, yet appropriate SUN accessories and art. Our cottage had a full kitchen (some do not) and a lovely sitting area with full sized LED digital tv, and a sizable bedroom with plentiful closet space. Cars are parked directly across from each cottage.
There are three elderly cats on the property, each with quite a different personality.....all fit the landscape perfectly at Island Bay

Families intent on diving or couples intent on unwinding....there's plenty of space. Out the front door on the patio are comfy deck chairs under an umbrella, a weber grill, and plenty of places to hang swim suits and towels to dry in the sun.

The private beach is a short walk down the row of cottages. Hammocks are perfectly located under giant Malayan Palms along the shore. Chickee huts with sofas and lounge chairs accommodate those who aren't full time sun worshipers. The lounge chairs facing Florida Bay are easy to move and generally fallasleepable. The dock leads out to accommodate any mid size boats or sloops. The several days we were there, the proprietor, Mike and friends boated into the Bay for fish---which are plentiful in that area. We saw two dive boats come in to drop off Island Bay guests as well. The beach is pristine sand and the water not deep out to the end of the dock.

Island Bay is perfectly located for restaurant options and Florida Upper Keys recreation and sight seeing. Mike and Carol know the area top to bottom and can direct newbies or veterans to their desired food/activity.
There are supermarkets nearby.....movie theaters, and drug stores.
But at the resort you'd never know it. It's a little like Brigadoon in its charm. As you reluctantly drive out to US 1 and return to civilization...when you look back......it might just vanish into the Keys ether. If you go, and find it as wonderful as we did.......please don't tell anyone.....

Room Tip: If you plan to do your own cooking......be sure and ask if one of the cottages with full kitchen is...
See more room tips
Green Features: This resort is the optimum in following and focusing on environmental compliance.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    367
    40
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
302
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was my second year in a row at Island Bay and the resort was as pleasant as could be hoped for. I can't imagine a more relaxing place to spend my vacation than this charming place. Not for those looking for loud parties, this resort is monitored pleasantly by its owners who are always available to answer any questions. Rooms are clean and well appointed with kitchen and utensils. The grounds are spotless. A nearby store provides all food and drink needs and there's even a Dairy Queen across the street for ice cream. The lounge chairs are quite comfortable with excellent sunset views each night. I look forward to my next stay with great anticipation! Thanks Mike and Carol!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

From the moment we turned into the stone drive we knew this place was different. Every inch of this resort shows the attention to detail and loving care that Mike and Carol have put into it. Starting with our greeter 'Wahoo' the crooked tail cat, to the flowers, music and soft lighting in our room, to the perfectly arranged beach furniture, and beautifully manicured grounds. We were blown away, our only regret is not staying on the resort very much as we had so much planned in the Keys. We will be back to enjoy 'just the resort'. Mike and Carol had great suggestions for all requests including a wonderful masseuse that came to me on there private beach. Cudos to Mike and Carol..great job!!!!

Room Tip: Lower numbered rooms closer to water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We booked our honeymoon stay based on the reviews here on TripAdvisor. Our goal was to visit the Keys from one end to the other, which we did. But always, every night, we wished we could be watching the sunset at the pier at Island Bay Resort. As others have said, Mike and Carol have created a slice of paradise that leaves you feeling relaxed, content, and grateful to have found such a wonderful spot. There are other guests staying there, but you feel it is your special bungalow in beautiful south Florida. You could say it was the cleanliness, the friendliness, the ambiance, the simplicity,; and it is all of that- but more. The resort is an expression of love by the owners, and it shows. They offer the amenities for you to have your own getaway, from the decor to the wonderful beach area. Just fantastic!

Room Tip: plan to watch the sunset from the beach- it is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed in the Conch Key cottage which is a beautiful two room suite with a spacious bedroom and living room/kitchenette. It was perfectly decorated for a true "Keys ambience." Everything in it contributed to a feeling of peace and tranquility. And, it was outfitted with anything you might need.
The grounds are a small tropical paradise, and the private beach is picture postcard perfect and the best place to watch the amazing sunsets---sitting in comfortable Adirondak chairs, sipping a drink and chatting with new found friends.
Mike and Carol are the best. They have created this little tropical haven and maintain it beautifully. And, they are so helpful with suggestions for eating places and sight-seeing. By the way, Mike is a true photographer and much of his work adorns the walls of the cottages. This was our first visit to the Keys, and we can't wait to return and stay here again!

Room Tip: All are close to the beach, but a couple of them are right on the beach.
See more room tips
Green Features: A small "recycling center" is easy to access. Shower light/fan is on a motion sensor.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

we came her to dive the wrecks on the keys, which are worth doing. however, the water was colder than we thought so had to by some extra neoprene. island Bay is charming, almost quaint. cottages are comfortable with necessary amenities, the beach are is quiet and relaxing with plenty of shaded areas. location is fine, two very good restaurants within a couple of miles: Snappers and Marker 88. supermarket is a mile south and has all one needs. we used Conch Divers, which is also one mile south, very friendly and efficient dive operation, but not guided unless required.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Each cottage has it's own unique interior decorations....we stayed in the Conch unit which featured shells and wall mounted pix of Conch Key. Each room has a TV and the desk space in the bedroom was an added bonus ....
Our hosts couldn't have been more helpful....on arrival they provided us with a sheet of recommended restaurants, etc. that were "spot on".
The kitchen is completely furnished with everything you could possibly need right down to skewers and matches for the Weber grill outside..
The evening sunsets were enjoyed in the Adirondak style chairs near the dock for a perfect, unobstructed view...can't wait untill we return in the future...

Green Features: Noticed was a fan/light in the shower that turned off automatically via a motion sensor and recycle cans are available for glass, plastic bottles and aluminum cans.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a total "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, boating and beach sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort’s beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Island Bay Resort to your Saves list