We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Save
You added Island Bay Resort to your Saves list
92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were here for a long weekend. The owners were extremely helpful, pleasant and made you feel like you we're the only ones there. The cottages were nicely decorated. The grounds were beautiful. You felt like you drove off the overseas highway into paradise. We wanted to stay for the week. The owners were ready to offer suggestions of things to do. We would return there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    46
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
370
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

To Mike and Carol,(Owners & great hosts) Thank you for literally the best resort stay of my life. You have a paradise within paradise. You and your wife are the most accommodating,charming and warm people my wife and I have met. The cottage was perfect! (Islamorada) The individually themed cottages are fantastic,super comfortable and the beds are a dream to sleep on. Of the many amenities your resort provides, I loved the kayaking. Your three four legged public relation's cats' are the best. I Hope I did not spoil her too much for you. Your recommendations on places to eat and places of interest were great. Snapper's is awesome! My only regret is I did not stay longer. I will NOT make that mistake again. My wife and I will be back as soon as we can.
Warmest Regards,
Scott & Tacha

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

As Kenny Chesney sings, "everybody has to break free from reality" and Island Bay Resort is the place to do it. My bestfriend and I escaped our reality here (me from frozen NJ and she from a cold Alabama) for 4 great days recently. From the second you turn into the property you are in a small piece of paradise. Mike and Carol are so accommodating and you can see the love they have for their property. Everything was perfect - from our accommodations down to the perfect beach chaise lounge chairs and sunsets. We will be back. Hopefully very soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I loved this cozy resort. Mike and Carol have lavished much love and care on the property. The grounds are beautiful with great details such as upscale lounge chairs and umbrellas, Tiki hut with upholstered furniture, solar-powered Tiki torches, cut-out details on the pergolas; the cottages were amazingly clean, with comfy bed, and chairs and table on your own front porch. The resort feels like a secluded garden but is intimate enough to make new friends with the other guests if you're feeling sociable. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We love this small resort! Mike and Carol (the owners) have a love affair with their property and it shows. From the welcoming drive through the property to the carefully decorated and maintained rooms to the places for people to gather, the Island Bay Resort is top notch. This very comfortable, welcoming motel is a must if you are visiting the Keys.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked the first half of our Keys vacation here (second half in Key West) and we don't want to leave! The rooms/cottages are very cute and comfortable. The resort grounds are beautiful and well maintained. You can tell the owners take a great deal of pride in their property. We spent most of our days on the beach at the resort, which is swimable; and most of our evenings on the deck of our cottage, enjoying the breeze and some drinks. If you prefer to cook your own meals, there is a grocery store 1.5 miles away. We had a great sandwich from Chad's Deli, which is only a block away. When we come back to the Keys in the future, this will be the only place we look to stay!

Room Tip: The lower the room number, the closer you are to the water. Also, there are only ten units, so rese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The cottages are cute & very teeny & this place is cool with kayaks you can borrow & a bocce court...The owner's photos are gorgeous and you will see a lot of them in your room... BUT after heading south & north again and having visited the Keys a fair few times over the years - (camped on Bahia Honda (gorgeous) rented houses & stayed in other hotels -) This place is for a select crowd ... Its little & very simple - & for another 60-70 bucks you can get a two bedroom unit with a full kitchen & a pool down the keys -
I liked the place, I just think its over priced. The cameras everywhere (guess b/c its off the highway & there's no one there after 6pm) made me uneasy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#3 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,307 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#2 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#3 of 4 in Tavernier
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
11.2 mi away
Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#9 of 18 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 stars 2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.