We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra-Relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Save
You added Island Bay Resort to your Saves list
92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
GreenLeadersSilver level
NW Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ultra-Relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

W just had a wonderful stay at Island Bay Resort over Thanksgiving. A very comfortable room (we traveled with two young kids, so we had connecting rooms 9 & 10 which worked out perfectly). A short stroll down to the private beach was heavenly, as were watching the beautiful sunsets each night! Mike and Carol are wonderful hosts, always willing to help with suggestions of any kind. We also enjoyed taking one of their kayaks out to explore the bay. Overall, just a wonderful experience at a wonderful place!

Room Tip: The lower the room number, the closer to the beach. However, the higher room numbers are larger roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    46
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
364
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
205 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

There are huge resorts you can stay in on the Keys, and at the other and better end of the spectrum there is tiny and beautiful Island Bay Resort.
It's simple really, nine or so little cottage rooms with little kitchens, very nicely furnished and all with sitting out/eating al-fresco space. At the end a lovely little private beach complete with pet cats and iguanas and from time-to-time a passing egret. Kayaks you can use for free. Loads of loungers and easy chairs.
We were only there two nights, so the first night we stocked up at the market down the road, and ate out. But that was it, after that we didn't stir out of the grounds until we had to check out.
The owners were friendly and helpful when we checked in, and then left us to our own devices unless we approached them with a question or request. Great.
It was November, but the sun shone and the water was warm enough for a quick swim (me) or a long snorkle (other half).
Loved it.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end right by the beach - good place to be (but only one like that).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We took a chance at this resort after seeing the reviews and are SO glad we did. We prefer to stay in smaller, unique hotels and this was one of the best we have found. The rooms are spotless, the grounds well manicured, and the personal service is superior. Several reviewers cited road noise as an issue, but we did not find it distracting at all. We explored the Keys on day trips and by day's end we were looking forward to heading back to watch the gorgeous sunset and enjoy the peace and tranquility of Island Bay. This is exactly what we were looking for - - total relaxation in a little slice of paradise! We're already making plans for next year.

Room Tip: lower number rooms are a bit farther from the highway, thus quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Spent a few days here this month and we all wished we could stay longer. Well-appointed rooms, thoughtfully decorated. So many clever touches both in the rooms and on the grounds. Lots of great seating areas to enjoy the quiet setting and the gorgeous bay views. This is not the place for someone looking for big hotel amenities or nightlife. We found it perfectly charming and hope to return

Room Tip: We were travelling with another couple and rented both parts of a cottage. The smaller of the two r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We loved the little cottage which like the rest of the property is absolutely faultless in terms of it's maintenance a d it's very friendly owner/managers. The whole place is a world away from the busy brash highway and large impersonal resorts and the sunset facing dock is a magical spot to sit with a drink prepared yourself in your own little kitchen. We choose this resort as a break from large resort style hotels with elevators long corridors etc as stayed here in the middle of a 10 night trip which included that type of hotel and eating out every night in restaurants. The idea of cooking for ourselves in our own deck was great, but remember to buy your charcoal as it's not available at the resort which is a little bit inconvenient.
I hate having to bring attention to the major negative for us about the resort because it's something totally out of the owners control- the road noise from the highway which runs literally feet from the deck area of our cottage.
We stayed in coral reef no 9 which is the nearest to the road and therefore gets the most road noise and really impacted on our plans to eat our own BBQ outside. We did eat out there but just the once we had to eat out as we had to shout to make our selves heard to each other. It was like sitting on the shoulder of a freeway and not relaxing for us. I would say if you have a choice pick the lowest number available as it went much quieter the nearer the water you got. On the beach you don't hear anything and it's lovely there. The noise kept us awake at night too, but the owners did everything they could to help resolve, even offering us the chance to leave without penalty which was generous. The only other negative for us was that the water clarity and weed in the bay, again not controllable by the owners. I must say that this was not restricted to just this property , I was dissapointed in general with the water in the keys , even in the state parks the water was the same a bit muddy looking and weedy, not inviting at all. As a previous reviewer said more like a duck pond or river, when you are used to clear sparkling sea that you find in med it was quite a shock.

Room Tip: As near the water as possible to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is an incredible place! You will probably drive by it more than once, but once you find it, you will never want to leave! It is a little secret right off the road on the gulf side.
Very,very clean, and nice. Not a cobweb,or sign of rust anywhere!
There is road noise from time to time, but nothing that was a deal breaker.
The cottages are just addorable,and very private. So nice having a little kitchen, and
the little Weber for each unit was great also. We cooked steaks and sat at the table on
our porch, with a view of the water, and enjoyed a wonderful meal.
I did have to share my lounge chair with one of the local Iguana's one day, but he
was quite friendly, and totally harmless. Also, visited with the local cat, and found a
hermit crab crawling across my frount porch.
The restaurant suggestions were all amazing. Alabama Jacks was super great!
I really think I could live there forever! Mike and Carol are very lucky people, and very kind to share their Island paradise with everyone.
We will return as often as possible. Can't wait till next time.
My review is showing swimming pool and restaurant rating--but there is no pool or restaurant

Room Tip: Room #1 is closest to the beach, and has wonderful porches. We stayed in #2 and thought it was just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anmdj
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a peaceful getaway this is it! Spotless rooms, affordable, BBQ's, private beach and super friendly staff. I can't wait to go back and would never dream of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#2 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,244 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#3 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
1.6 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#3 of 4 in Tavernier
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#9 of 17 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 stars 2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.