We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Tavernier
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fayetteville, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little slice of paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We took a chance at this resort after seeing the reviews and are SO glad we did. We prefer to stay in smaller, unique hotels and this was one of the best we have found. The rooms are spotless, the grounds well manicured, and the personal service is superior. Several reviewers cited road noise as an issue, but we did not find it distracting at all. We explored the Keys on day trips and by day's end we were looking forward to heading back to watch the gorgeous sunset and enjoy the peace and tranquility of Island Bay. This is exactly what we were looking for - - total relaxation in a little slice of paradise! We're already making plans for next year.

Room Tip: lower number rooms are a bit farther from the highway, thus quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    40
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
301
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Spent a few days here this month and we all wished we could stay longer. Well-appointed rooms, thoughtfully decorated. So many clever touches both in the rooms and on the grounds. Lots of great seating areas to enjoy the quiet setting and the gorgeous bay views. This is not the place for someone looking for big hotel amenities or nightlife. We found it perfectly charming and hope to return

Room Tip: We were travelling with another couple and rented both parts of a cottage. The smaller of the two r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We loved the little cottage which like the rest of the property is absolutely faultless in terms of it's maintenance a d it's very friendly owner/managers. The whole place is a world away from the busy brash highway and large impersonal resorts and the sunset facing dock is a magical spot to sit with a drink prepared yourself in your own little kitchen. We choose this resort as a break from large resort style hotels with elevators long corridors etc as stayed here in the middle of a 10 night trip which included that type of hotel and eating out every night in restaurants. The idea of cooking for ourselves in our own deck was great, but remember to buy your charcoal as it's not available at the resort which is a little bit inconvenient.
I hate having to bring attention to the major negative for us about the resort because it's something totally out of the owners control- the road noise from the highway which runs literally feet from the deck area of our cottage.
We stayed in coral reef no 9 which is the nearest to the road and therefore gets the most road noise and really impacted on our plans to eat our own BBQ outside. We did eat out there but just the once we had to eat out as we had to shout to make our selves heard to each other. It was like sitting on the shoulder of a freeway and not relaxing for us. I would say if you have a choice pick the lowest number available as it went much quieter the nearer the water you got. On the beach you don't hear anything and it's lovely there. The noise kept us awake at night too, but the owners did everything they could to help resolve, even offering us the chance to leave without penalty which was generous. The only other negative for us was that the water clarity and weed in the bay, again not controllable by the owners. I must say that this was not restricted to just this property , I was dissapointed in general with the water in the keys , even in the state parks the water was the same a bit muddy looking and weedy, not inviting at all. As a previous reviewer said more like a duck pond or river, when you are used to clear sparkling sea that you find in med it was quite a shock.

Room Tip: As near the water as possible to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is an incredible place! You will probably drive by it more than once, but once you find it, you will never want to leave! It is a little secret right off the road on the gulf side.
Very,very clean, and nice. Not a cobweb,or sign of rust anywhere!
There is road noise from time to time, but nothing that was a deal breaker.
The cottages are just addorable,and very private. So nice having a little kitchen, and
the little Weber for each unit was great also. We cooked steaks and sat at the table on
our porch, with a view of the water, and enjoyed a wonderful meal.
I did have to share my lounge chair with one of the local Iguana's one day, but he
was quite friendly, and totally harmless. Also, visited with the local cat, and found a
hermit crab crawling across my frount porch.
The restaurant suggestions were all amazing. Alabama Jacks was super great!
I really think I could live there forever! Mike and Carol are very lucky people, and very kind to share their Island paradise with everyone.
We will return as often as possible. Can't wait till next time.
My review is showing swimming pool and restaurant rating--but there is no pool or restaurant

Room Tip: Room #1 is closest to the beach, and has wonderful porches. We stayed in #2 and thought it was just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anmdj
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you are looking for a peaceful getaway this is it! Spotless rooms, affordable, BBQ's, private beach and super friendly staff. I can't wait to go back and would never dream of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metamora, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

When my wife and I got engaged earlier this year, we decided that we wanted to have a private and intimate ceremony on a beach somewhere. We looked online at our options to get married on an island in the Caribbean, but decided that the logistics and expense were too much for us. After looking into the Florida Keys on TripAdvisor, it became clear that Island Bay Resort was the place for us. Being that we're from Illinois and had never been to the Keys before, we had zero experience going into this. We put our trust into the reviews we read here and our faith was rewarded with one of the best vacations of our lives.

Mike and Carol have the perfect location on a beautiful little slice of private beachfront property. When we arrived we noticed immediately that the property was immaculate. The sand, the landscaping, and the beach house were beyond well-maintained. They had set us up with their favorite wedding planner and from the moment we checked in, we felt as though we were home. As mentioned in other reviews, we opened our door to find Jimmy Buffet on the CD player and a welcome note with flowers and key lime chocolates on our bed. We stayed in the waterfront efficiency which offers a nice view of the beach and a private deck with a table and chairs for outdoor dining and entertaining. The day after we arrived, the wedding went off without a hitch. Island Bay Resort uses Keys Dream Weddings and they took care of every little detail so my bride and I had a completely stress-free private ceremony. The rest of our trip was a blur of fun and relaxation and we loved every minute of it. This was only our first trip to the resort but it won't be our last. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed three nights at this resort in cottage # 10, and felt like we had our very own beach house on the gulf side of the keys. The owners have created a quiet, well maintained spot for their guests and our spacious king sized bedroom with efficiency kitchen was a perfect Keys get-a-way spot. The beach facing the water is very quiet and we took the opportunity to kayak and snorkel ( both provided by the resort). The only negative is the water along the beach is more like a weedy lake and more suited to viewing and boating than swimming. The sunsets were amazing and every evening the guests would gather with wine to watch the show from the deck chairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a total "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, boating and beach sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort’s beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Island Bay Resort to your Saves list