We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Save Saved
You added Island Bay Resort to your Saves list
92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

My husband and I just returned from 9 days in the Florida Keys. We spent 4 nights at the Island Bay Resort. Mike and Carol have created an absolutey beautiful resort. The rooms are quaint the grounds incredible. They a very helpful and can make recommendations for your stay. The rooms are all equipped with well stocked kitchens which is nice. I only have two complaints. The first, is there is an envelope that suggests that tips be given to housekeeping staff. I made our bed everyday and we were given towels for both the room and the beach, however if you left the dishes for the housekeeping staff to clean you would be charged $10.00. If you are offering housecleaning services then I feel you shouldnt be charged extra for that service. My other complaints was the bed. It was very hard and uncomfortable. Luckily enough for us we were so tired when we got back to the room we feel asleep quickly but woke up sore.Otherwise the resort was perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Key West room. It is on the end and closet to the beach. It is also the smallest bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    41
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
311
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

super clean. nice little beach. watched the sunset. owners are nice people.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My wife and i recently went on a long needed vacation to Key Largo Florida. We really did not want the hustle and bustle of Key West and just wanted a relaxing few days to decompress. We were lucky enough to stumble upon Island Bay Resort on Trip Advisor and booked a 5 day stay. My wife and i are in the tourism industry and we truly understand all that it takes to run a great operation and Mike & Carol truly have created a slice of heaven. We stayed in the room right on the water and spent hours reading on our deck and taking in the stunning sunsets. Our room had all the essential amenities, a fridge, stove, blender for making drinks, wireless internet, cable TV etc.... But what makes this place special is Mike & Carol. They truly care about their guests and do everything they can to provide folks with a wonderful vacation. They hooked us up with a great snorkeling company at the last minute and gave us a bunch of fantastic restaurant suggestions. One evening while walking to our car to go for dinner we ran into them sitting outside with a guest that had been coming there for over 15 years. We stopped to say hello and little did we know we would not be going for dinner but instead would sit for 4 hours with them drinking wine and sharing stories. It was a wonderful evening and within minutes we felt like we were in the company of friends. They run a very welcoming, clean, relaxing establishment and we really felt at home their.

If you are looking for a fancy, resort type of experience this might not be the place for you. They don't serve dinner or breakfast on site but you can choose from numerous great places to eat nearby some even in walking distance. This is where you go if you want a truly relaxing vacation in a beautiful environment with awesome people. Thank you Mike & Carol for taking care of us and making us feel at home in your beautiful oasis. Your place is really one of the best kept secrets in the Keys.

Luke & Amber

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Mike and Carol are great hosts. They treat the property and their guests like family. Property is very well maintained. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Kayaks and snorkel gear are available free of charge. Good snorkeling under their dock (much better than Pennekamp). We saw lots of fish, crabs, lobster, and a manatee. Evening ritual is to watch the sunset over the bay. We were there six nights and wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Room 1 (Key West Room) is the only room that faces the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Spotless Clean Room! No hassles whatsover, peaceful, and quiet. The two person kayak was awesome, and the private beach had great snorkeling. We just loved it here. My only complaint was that I could only book it for two nights, as they were booked solid the entire month of May.

Room Tip: All are good, room #9 is furthest from the water, with #1 being closest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We booked one night on the way to Key West in cottage 1 (waterfront). As soon as we pulled in just before sunset, we wished we were staying longer. The grounds are beautiful, and the cottage interior was charming. We enjoyed the big waterfront chaise lounges as the sun set and a the dark settled I'm with warm breezes and birds calling. Next time we'll stay for several days to take advantage of the kayaks they provide to go out on the the crystal clear bay and to check out some other upper keys attractions.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of having a small vacation, sans children, thanks to the generosity of our parents. I wanted to choose a place that I had never stayed at before but close to where we usually stay when we visit the Keys. I read about Island Bay Resort being in the Top list of resorts for the area so I decided to check it out. The resort is small, with only about ten cottages, but quaintly laid out. When we turned off of the Overseas Highway down the small driveway, I felt as though as I was transported to a private island getaway. It was a wonderful atmosphere and offered a beautiful view of the bayside. The accommodations were very comfortable and suiting for the tropical setting. We only had the opportunity to stay a short while but we cherished every moment. Tavernier is a smaller, less known area of the Keys but it has so much to offer. It has wonderful breakfast cafes and waterside restaurants which offer fare appealing to all. It has a little town center, including a movie theater which is small but quite comfortable. And as always, we enjoyed the water. We went snorkeling with our usual, Tavernier Cruises, and thoroughly enjoyed our cruise. The captain is very friendly and a wonderful narrator. I am so happy that I had the opportunity to experience all that this tiny island has to offer. What another lovely trip!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a total "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, boating and beach sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort’s beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.