We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Save
You added Island Bay Resort to your Saves list
92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Thanks to TripAdvisor for helping us find this place. Mike and Carol have a beautiful little resort where you feel like you are staying at a friends house. They gave us a ton of good recommendations for things to see and places to eat. The beach was very comfortable with a great view of the sunset. We went for a fun kayak trip and had a quick snorkel right off their dock. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone staying in the upper Keys.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    42
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
319
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My wife and I just got back from our seventh annual stay at Island Bay...we would NEVER think of staying anywhere else in the Keys. Mike and Carol are the consumate hosts and very knowledgable about the area. The grounds are immaculate...Mike is always working on something. (He's so hardworking I actually end up feeling a bit guilty for being on vacation!) The cottages are very clean and quiet, despite being just off of US 1. The way Mike and Carol have landscaped the property gives a real feeling of seclusion. The cottages are not only well-decorated, each has an individual theme. The efficiency kitchen and (especially) the deck with a grill are a real plus...nothin' like getting a good steak from the nearby Winn-Dixie and firing up the Weber. And their beach has great sunsets! We've only been home two days and I'm already missing Island Bay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Island Bay Resort, and we loved every minute of it. The decor, landscaping and rooms were adorable. The entire atmosphere was tranquil, calm, relaxing, and welcoming. We loved all the chairs, hammocks, and tiki huts on the property. The entire place, including the rooms are well furnished, clean, and extremely well taken care of.

We stayed in the Key Largo Cottage - #10. We loved having a little extra space, but all of the cottages appeared just as accommodating and cute. The waterfront room was nice, as the deck sat right on the beach, but all of the rooms were super easy to access the beach from.

My husband and I dozed off in one of the hammocks one evening around 10pm for about an hour. I woke up thinking "this is just absolutely the life"!!! It is the perfect place to renew your spirit and enjoy all the Keys have to offer. You can enjoy the resort and do absolutely nothing, but yet is close to many attractions and restaurants if you want to get out and explore.

I highly recommend the Island Bay Resort - we stay in chain hotels all the time when travelling with our kids, and were so happy we chose something different and unique to give us the complete Keys experience. We hope to come back again real soon!!

Oh - and the Key Lime white chocolate that is left for you is out of this world - we stopped in Key Largo at the place where they make them to buy more!! Had to fight my husband for it!! :)

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms that will be a little bigger, but any of the rooms are cute and very close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Just got back from a week in the keys. The Island Bay Resort is perfect if you are looking for a quiet relaxing getaway! The little villlas reminded me of the carribean. Clean, nicely decorated and all the amenities you need. The landscaping and detail to the property is very charming. Mike and Carol are great and all of their restaurant and snorkeling tips are right on! It was the perfect place for our 20th anniversary and we hope to make it back there someday!!!

Room Tip: We were in one of the larger villas and enjoyed having the space to spread out a little!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This resort is small but that is the beauty of it. If you like peace and quiet then this place is for you. Mike and Carol are the owners and are awesome people. They are very friendly and will tell you all the good places to go around there. The location is close to shoping and dinning. They have Kayaks that are free to use, just sign the release first. There are nine cabins on the property and they have a little kitchen in them. There is a picnic area outside each one and a grill too!! The gorunds and the rooms are very nice and very clean! They have a little beach area set up and you can watch the sunset every night you are there. It is truely a beautiful place. We would definately go back!!! Oh and if you have some free time, try playing Bocce Ball! It's fun and in a shaded area too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights-- I wish we could have stayed for more!! Our cortage is small, but clean, comfortable, and well decorated--very nice bathroom too. We got an "efficiency" room, so there are bigger units here if you want something more roomy. The grounds are maticulously kept, with lots of beautiful palm trees, flowers, and shrubbery. The private beach is also amazing- high quality beach furniture ( wooden cushioned chairs, nice umbrellas, and tables...not the cheesy plastic stuff)! There's also hammocks, tiki hits ( we used the huts to play cards), outdoor shower, and games to play like bocci and bean bag toss. They also have kayaks and snorkel gear for guests to use. At night, the beach area is romantically lit, and perfect for sitting outside ( we sat out until 11:00 pm)! The bonus is that the beach faces due west and you get a perfect view of the sunset. This place is a must!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

As soon as we arrived everything looked great , The property is clean very well maintained and beautiful! The rooms are clean and look great with their own themes , the beach area is organized clean and inviting do not miss the sunsets they are fantastic! Also My wife and I went kayaking , Do Not leave with out taking your own adventure we went two days observed jellyfish, an old boat wreck, numerous fish, birds , and a Manatee!! The owners Carol and Mike are always willing to give advice and are dedicated to your great stay! Thank you both! If you are in the Tavernier area this is a must stay!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a total "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, boating and beach sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort’s beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.