We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Slice of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Save
You added Island Bay Resort to your Saves list
92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Just got back from a week in the keys. The Island Bay Resort is perfect if you are looking for a quiet relaxing getaway! The little villlas reminded me of the carribean. Clean, nicely decorated and all the amenities you need. The landscaping and detail to the property is very charming. Mike and Carol are great and all of their restaurant and snorkeling tips are right on! It was the perfect place for our 20th anniversary and we hope to make it back there someday!!!

Room Tip: We were in one of the larger villas and enjoyed having the space to spread out a little!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    45
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
339
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This resort is small but that is the beauty of it. If you like peace and quiet then this place is for you. Mike and Carol are the owners and are awesome people. They are very friendly and will tell you all the good places to go around there. The location is close to shoping and dinning. They have Kayaks that are free to use, just sign the release first. There are nine cabins on the property and they have a little kitchen in them. There is a picnic area outside each one and a grill too!! The gorunds and the rooms are very nice and very clean! They have a little beach area set up and you can watch the sunset every night you are there. It is truely a beautiful place. We would definately go back!!! Oh and if you have some free time, try playing Bocce Ball! It's fun and in a shaded area too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights-- I wish we could have stayed for more!! Our cortage is small, but clean, comfortable, and well decorated--very nice bathroom too. We got an "efficiency" room, so there are bigger units here if you want something more roomy. The grounds are maticulously kept, with lots of beautiful palm trees, flowers, and shrubbery. The private beach is also amazing- high quality beach furniture ( wooden cushioned chairs, nice umbrellas, and tables...not the cheesy plastic stuff)! There's also hammocks, tiki hits ( we used the huts to play cards), outdoor shower, and games to play like bocci and bean bag toss. They also have kayaks and snorkel gear for guests to use. At night, the beach area is romantically lit, and perfect for sitting outside ( we sat out until 11:00 pm)! The bonus is that the beach faces due west and you get a perfect view of the sunset. This place is a must!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

As soon as we arrived everything looked great , The property is clean very well maintained and beautiful! The rooms are clean and look great with their own themes , the beach area is organized clean and inviting do not miss the sunsets they are fantastic! Also My wife and I went kayaking , Do Not leave with out taking your own adventure we went two days observed jellyfish, an old boat wreck, numerous fish, birds , and a Manatee!! The owners Carol and Mike are always willing to give advice and are dedicated to your great stay! Thank you both! If you are in the Tavernier area this is a must stay!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Lovely tropical getaway for 3 too-short nights over spring break! My almost teenaged daughter and I enjoyed the unique setting with friendly hosts, including the 3 resident cats. Clean, comfortable, nicely outfitted, and a beautiful setting. Worth the top rating for the Keys for a small, quiet, and charming stay.

Room Tip: #4 Bridges was in the middle of everything--although nothing is far away!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Been going to this little gem for about 6 years, it truly provides the "keys experience" as it completely removes you from the "corporate environment" and provides a relaxing atmosphere with personal service. The sunset views from the waterfront are second to none on the keys, it is however much more personal than what you experience at Mallory Square in Key West (which is fun but definately different!). We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This was a relaxing, easy going place to stay in the Keys. Our cottage #7 was decorated with charm, comfort and function in mind. The bedroom had a King size bed, love seat, vanity, and convenient closet and shelves to put all our stuff. Quite lovely with fans and quiet air conditioning. Bathroom was small but well appointed.

Living room had comfortable sofa, chair and Pub table. Kitchenette with sink, fridge, and range was clean but sparingly supplied. Dishes were adequate but we did grill 2 nights and really could have used additional plates, pots and especially a pan or cookie sheet or something larger than a dinner plate to work with. This is the only reason I didn't give this place 5 stars.

On the beach there were chaises, tiki huts and chairs and tables. Great pier to sit and watch the sunset. 2 kayaks for the use of guests were also provided.

The owners were very nice and helpful providing good information of area activities, sights, and great restaurant recommendations. Lots of places with good food in the area.

Not luxury, but more than comfortable. Pretty landscaping and well maintained. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.