We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot to relax in Key Largo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Save
You added Island Bay Resort to your Saves list
92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to relax in Key Largo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

This was the perfect spot for a trip to Key Largo. The owners are great and very helpful with food and activities. Very clean rooms with a personal touch. The owners go out of the way to make sure your stay is perfect. This is very hard to find at many other hotels. The conch key room also had a kitchenette which was great. They have a great view of the bay that is very relaxing (chairs, hammock, tables). Keep up the good work Mike!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    46
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
369
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

If you are looking for a quiet and relaxed few days, Island Bay Resort is a great place to go. A beautiful spot with its own little beach, nearby snorkeling and scuba diving. Mike and Carol are great hosts and have done a tremendous job transforming their little resort into a little piece of paradise. We spent several lovely days there and will be happy to go again any time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

This was a backup plan when our initial accomadations was horrible. When we stepped in our room we were blown away - everything decorated to a theme, even island music on the radio! the beds and pillows were very comfy, and it was very quiet the 3 days we were there. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My wife LOVED it so what else is there. Rooms are small but very efficient. Everything you need. It's quiet, private and peaceful. Private waterfront is great....especially the hammocks. Resident cats are like a piece of home. Although we do not plan to visit Florida or the Keys again, we may just to,stay here again. Carol and Mike were the best. Walk to restaurants, convenience store and Dairy Queen across the street.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We’ve stayed at Island Bay twice, once 6 years ago, and then again recently. Both stays were great and were an incredible value. It’s a small 10 room resort with a few different room options, we’ve stayed in an efficiency and a 1 bedroom, both were nicely furnished with a few nice “extras” (i.e. a digital picture frame with beautiful pictures in it), clean, and had everything we needed, but the extra space in the 1 bedroom was really nice. I love having a kitchenette so we can eat in for breakfast and lunch and they have everything we needed including a few items you don’t always get like a grill outside, wine glasses, small cooler, etc.

The beach is nice and clean and feels very private since there are short walls separating it from the neighboring properties and I’ve never seen anyone out at those properties anyways. The beach has lots of nice lounge chairs, a good amount of shade, and is a great place to watch the sunset (although there is an island in the way which prevents any hopes of seeing a green flash). They also have a corn hole set on the beach, free kayaks, lockers for dive equipment, and more. The owners are really friendly, great at providing suggestions, and are the kind of people I’m happy to support by staying there. I feel the prices went up more than I expected over the years but being a great place to stay and getting lots of positive reviews will allow you to do that and it’s still a great value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

The Island Bay Resort was a beautiful, relaxing stop on our way to Key West. We only could stay one night, but wish we could stay more! The grounds are beautiful with gorgeous trees, flowers, and plants all around. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. We loved our private deck-every room has one. Every room has their own charcoal grill, which we didn't use. The owners and staff are great, friendly people.

The best part of the resort was the beautiful private beach. And I mean private--only one other couple (also guests) were on the beach. It is small, but adequate and clean. Beach chairs and lounges are available to use. Take a walk out on the dock and you will spot many fish in the calm, warm water. My husband and I took advantage of the kayaks available for use to check out the surrounding area by water. Snorkel gear is also available to use.

For dinner and breakfast the following morning we ate at Chad's--a very short walk away. Excellent food and service.

Don't miss the Island Bay Resort in Tavernier. So worth a stop for even a night. If you are driving south towards key west it is right across from the Dairy Queen--if you miss it turn around! We loved it there.

Room Tip: All rooms seem nice. We were in the middle at the Bahia Honda room. Perfectly quiet and not far from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We spent the last days of our holiday in this location for a bit of peaceful relaxation and sunshine

It bills itself as paradise and that is not too far from the truth

We had a 2 room cottage and it was immaculate, clean tidy and tastefully decorated and is only a few paces from the beach which is well stocked with lovely comfy wooden sun loungers.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#3 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,298 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#2 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#3 of 4 in Tavernier
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
11.2 mi away
Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#9 of 18 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 stars 2,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.