We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Save
You added Island Bay Resort to your Saves list
92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed in a wonderful cozy cottage. Clean and green. The grounds are beautiful as is the bay scenery. Centrally located near upper Keys activities. You can hear the cars on US1 but don't let that deter you from staying here.

Room Tip: Middle to bay end
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    45
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
355
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My husband and I had schedule two nights here on our way to Key West. We loved it so much we stayed a third night. The rooms are very clean and there was even charcoal in the grill for us to use. Mike and Carol are great hosts, and will give you lots of suggestions on places to eat and things to do. The private beach is great. We basically had the beach to ourselves. It was a nice, quiet place to stay. The only thing I didn't like was the bed and pillows in the room we stayed the first night. I was a very hard queen size bed and the pillows weren't great. That room was booked the second night we were there and the second room we stayed in was perfect, I think it was the Key Largo room. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Even all the positive reviews I read did not adequately prepare me for the pleasant stay my wife and I had at the Island Bay Resort. Mike and Carol treat you like family, and indeed this feels like my new home away from home. It's quiet, private, comfortable, clean, well-maintained, well-run, and darn near perfect. The private beach had a great assortment of hammocks, chairs, and tiki huts, and it's always kept clean. The kayaks were fun and easy to use. Every single person we talked to who was staying there just loved it. My only complaint (which I made to Carol) was that my pillows were too hard. About ten minutes later, five new pillows showed up for my selection! Wow. We love this place and plan to return.

Room Tip: Room 10 is large and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed here the last night of our Keys vacation before heading back to Miami.
We stayed in cottage #3, flora and fauna.

The room was charming with a lot of detail. The quality of finishes and furniture was way better than anything we've seen, my husband remarked that this was almost better than a model condo that one would see in big cities. They have the prettiest photographs through the cottage. They are all pictures taken in the Keys - birds, marine life, flowers. It was beautiful.

The little signs outside on the driveway are really cute, and the comfy lounge chairs and seating under the tikis were really nice too. We watched the sunset sitting by the water.

We had a few unexpected visitors in our room that night (a spider and some house-fly type bugs) We called Carol immediately, she came by in a few minutes and took care of it. We're not sure how the bugs got in. They do ask guests to keep the doors closed at all times, given that it's the tropics there would be plenty of bugs around. Perhaps these guys got in when we went into the room with our bags et al.

Overall, this was a wonderful end to our vacation. Next time we definitely want to stay longer!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

A great place to kick off all your activities in the keys. IBR is secluded, right on the Gulf and has a great little beach. Mike and Carol can advise restaurants as well as outside activities. It's an unusual setting that is conducive to friendly interaction with other guests. You will meet some interesting, like-minded people.

Room Tip: Make your reservations months in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Like having a private mini-house in a mini beach community of 10 units. Cons is it's right off Rt. 1 so there's some traffic noise, and there's no pool, but otherwise we loved it. Rooms are cute and totally Florida-style (not modern, but comfy). The grounds are lush and well-kept, each unit has an efficiency kitchen and private porch with a BBQ, there are several hammocks, lounge chairs and tiki huts and a small private beach, with kayaks that you can take out on the water. They also have bag-o and bocce ball....it's just a super laid-back place to come back to after a day of snorkeling or to spend the whole day at sunning, reading, barbecuing and hanging out. And the owners are a joy. Great place to be if you're staying in the Tavernier/Key Largo area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

The #1 rating of this resort is SPOT ON! We stayed 1 night in the 'Sunrise' room as we only had one day to enjoy the Keys. The room was immaculate and the bed was very comfortable. The Keys do not have natural beaches so anything that remotely resembles a beach was man made. Well, the private white sand beach at Island Bay Resort is exquisite. Because the resort only allows patrons to enjoy the property, the beach is NEVER crowded. It seemed like we were the only ones on the beach when we spent time enjoying the beautiful sunset and morning sun.

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and HIGHLY recommend this resort. We have already talked about coming back next year but for a longer stay. This resort is an absolute gem and the owners should be very proud of their property.

Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.