We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been 5 stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo to your Saves list
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Philadelphia,PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Could have been 5 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I believe this property is a time share that rents out the unused space. In fact when we opened the door we said wow. The overall living space was great. Large living room with sofa, chairs, dining table, eat at kitchen bar, etc. So far so good. A convience store was half mile down the road. We used the store as a landmark to make the turn onto Burton Rd. Got in rather late so we bought dinner and breakfast supplies at the store. Used the kitchen and utensils with no problem. Still 5 stars. Then we went to bed. The king mattress was well worn. You would roll towards the middle. Had a good nights sleep however. Half a point taken off. Internet available, yes at a cost. I'll be lenient another half point. Now for the big disappointment. The large walk in shower in the master suite had NO pressure to take a shower. We had to use the tub shower in the other bathroom. This was not a new complaint. The owners of the proberty have a comment book asking about your stay. The no pressure comment was there a month before. You are renting a very large space for only a night or two. This a property of five, five story buildings with a lot of boats. There is a small beach with a warning of jelly fish posted. When chking in you are given a sticker that allows you throught the gate. The guards see you coming and raise the gate. We would have preferred to stay in a regular hotel for the short time we were there.Unless you are a boater or t to rent a fishing boat I would have a tough time recommanding Ocean Pointe.

Room Tip: End unit seemed to be the largest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    467
    265
    148
    103
See reviews for
603
437
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Although the units have a kitchen, the supplies are very limited. We found missing a cookie sheet, a bowl big enough to make a salad, pot holders and diswashing detergent. The coffee pot is too small, more for like 2 people than 6. Had to make several pots in the mornings and the coffee provided for this is not enough. Glad I had brought my own. Just make sure you bring what you will need and don't count on the supply that is provided.
I found and disposed of 3 german roaches in the utensil drawer.
The dryer did not work properly and it took a very long time to dry towels.
For the good things - the beds were comfortable and view awesome. a Nice size pool and the staff was friendly and responsive. Despite the negatives, our family had a great time hanging out by the pool and fishing. We stopped at John Pennekamp on the way home and took the snorkeling trip. If your down that way you don't want to miss that. The reef was beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe. Please check your messages for further correspondence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

These beautiful suites are more apartment than hotel suite. What an excellent value! I know of no other place in the Keys that you can get a one or two bedroom (apartment) suite with an ocean view and balconies in both the living room and master bedroom for the price. A full kitchen - not just a kitchenette. Our bartender, Dana, was awesome, serving as both bartender and chef. Very gracious and attentive even while handling both roles and numerous customers. The shower pressure in our unit was great, remotes worked fine, fans were quiet. Any problem we had was addressed promptly by the staff. There are many wonderful restaurants nearby. Key Largo is near the beginning of the Keys. An hour from Ft. Lauderdale and 2 hours to Key West, it was the perfect stopping point after our overnight flight before driving on to Key West. This would be a wonderful place for a long stay. Feels like you're off the beaten path while close to town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Under Lyme
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at these suites for three nights 24-27May 2013. The suite we had was a two bedroom one overlooking the ocean. The suits was very clean and well presented. The master bedroom had king bed with ensuite and the second had queen bed with access to the main bathroom.
The kitchen / living area was a good space with dishwasher, large fridge freezer, microwave and full cooker. Also included waher and dryer.
There was a 42 inch TV and sofa and chair, the sofa also converted into a queen size bed. There was four adults in the suits and this was comfortable, any more and i think it would be a squeeze

The loction is great and the grounds and kept spotless. The pool area is also very good. The beach is small, did not use it so can not comment. We also did not use the clubhouse, but what we saw it looked very good.
Overall the suites are very good and would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone.

We the suite we stayed in was in building 4, but can not remember the room number, but it was right at the end on your right.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Pretty good suite for the money. However, I found it to be a little off the beaten path for my tastes. It also turned out to be a good 2 hour drive to Key West from here. I was a little disappointed that they charge 6.95 per device per day to connect to the Internet though. We had two of our kids with us and they both had their laptops and wanted to get on the Internet. I ended up using my phone as a mobile hotspot for them instead of connecting to the Hotel's wireless. They have DVD players in the rooms but no place to rent DVDs unless you drive up to the store (too far to walk in the heat) and use the Redbox machine. We also only had a single role of TP in the suite when we arrived and no room service. So unless you ask, no refills. The furniture is older and the balcony furniture is cheap cheesy plastic stuff. The balcony was barely wide enough to stand on.

The locks on the door are manual deadbolts that came with house keys. No electronic locks here! Lastly, the first night we were in the room, my wife caught someone peeping through the window into the bedroom. She screamed and the person left. I'm not sure what to say about this place. I was expecting more than I got I guess.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for three nights and our visit was nice. The rooms are clean with full kitchen and all employees were very Helpful. There is a pool, tennis court, volleyball sand court, grills, boat docking,small snack-full bar and a man made beach. I believe every room has a water view with a very small balcony. Everything one could want on a trip to the keys.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW BEDFORD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed last week for just over $100/nt and at that price it was a great value. They upgraded us to a beautiful two bedroom suite with an ocean view. The facilities are outstanding, private beach, pool, great restaurant, pier overlooking the water, gated entry. I don't know what more we could have asked for if it is peace and quiet you are seeking. We had a beautiful from both of our balconies.
The only tiny bit of trouble we had was with the wireless internet that has a fee of $7/day and we were disconnected most of the time. They did credit our account for one of the connections.
If you have any interest in sport fishing you have struck gold with this area and Ocean Point is a great base to operate from.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.