We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep away - awful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo to your Saves list
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 25% NOW!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Lincolnshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Keep away - awful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

From the moment we arrived I had a bad feeling about this place, the staff are rude and totally un-helpful, the apartments are privately owned and not kept clean. The beach is tiny, the pool is basic and full of chemicals.

We arrived at 11pm having driven down from Orlando we were met with a sulky receptionist, at 6am the next morning the place was a building site with workmen hamering away with no consideration for guests.

You cant hire a boat, you can't jetski, you cant even swin in the sea the place is surrounded by Jelly Fish!!!!!!! but worst of all this place is remote with a good 10 minute drive to get anything decent to eat, don't bother with Ocean Pointe's so called cafe-Bar as it's laughable!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The Pool
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    518
    301
    169
    115
See reviews for
657
486
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

We booked over the internet and regreted it when we read reviews. However, when we arrived we were met by decent staff and our rooms (altogether we had three rooms) were fine. My daughter and her husband had a fabulous room, which was clean and well maintained, my husband and I had a good room with a fabulous view and my son and his fiance had a good room, but in their room the furniture was worn and needed updating, but they had no major concerns.

The suites are situated in a fabulous location, picturesque and lovely. The beach is a bit of a let down though, though pretty to look at.

We traveled up through the Keys to Key West and were disapointed on the whole, most of the beaches are not swimable from the shore because of 'bacteria' and the smell of untreated swereage is really strong intermittently throughout the Keys. Snorkelling is good though as they take you beyound the polluted zones. When snorkelling my son swam alongside a Manatee - amazing.

In Key Largo itself the John Penaspeke National Park is well worth a visit, you can dive, snorkel, take a glass bottom, kyake and take a number of walks.

On the whole although we were glad we visited the Keys, we would not go back. Bad smells, nice beaches but polluted coastal waters.

  • Liked — It location
  • Disliked — Nothing bad really, just the Keys in general, although it was worth visiting
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

This is a very nice place indeed. The two of us got a huge place - bigger than the first flat I lived in! 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, huge kitchen and lounge area. All nicely decorated. Note that we were at the end of a block of rooms, so not all the rooms are this size - we got lucky.

The pool is nice too - it is a lane pool with a bulge on one end, so that the kids can play there and the adults can swim laps if they want. The beach is small but nice.

I liked it very much here. There was no internet access in the room, but in the cafe area there was free wireless access, so that was fine.
If you dont want to stay in a hotel on the Keys, stay here. Even if you do want to stay in a hotel, stay here anyway and go out to eat. It is very nice!

  • Liked — The huge suite
  • Disliked — no in room internet access
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

We stayed in building 4 in a one bedroom suite.
The first room the front desk person gave us upon checking in was the only smoking room in the building, despite the fact that he very well saw that I was pregnant. The suite was the stinkiest I've ever smelt. We asked for an other one and we moved our stuff over there by ourselves.
The window of the bedroom faces the foyer which made it very noise because of people coming and going until late night. The balcony is ridiculously small and uncomfortable. There were a few dead and one huge live cockroach on the kitchen floor. When we got to the pool, there were no towels on the rack so we called for some which arrived half and hour later, and they brought only about 10 towels which were gone in 10 seconds again.
We only stayed here one night, I would never stay here again (even if they paid for it) and would not recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The siute itself, the service, the pool
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham, england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

We have stayed at Ocean Pointe two years running now and it really is in a beautiful setting at the beginning of the Keys. The facilities include a swimming pool, 2 tennis courts, small beach area and dock which are very well maintained and you are able to use the pool and tennis well into the evening allowing for some relaxation or activity after a day out somewhere else in the area.
The apartments need to be inspected before accepting since last year the allocated one smelt strongly of smoke and was quite run down, we were offered and accepted a much nicer apartment and this year I remembered to ask for a non-smoking place. However, this year the equipment in the apartment was a problem with the dryer not working for our whole week and with 4 adults, some of whom were fishing every day this was quite an issue. Housekeeping did the washing and drying but it was an inconvenience for both of us, staff were as helpful as they could be although they were unable to solve the problem.
Those were our only complaints though and we thought the price was excellent for the standard of accomodation and facilities.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

Ocean Pointe is located in Tavernier and if you are looking for a lot of action this is not the place for you. The complex is large and peaceful.
What to do ?: There is a pool, a small beach ideal for kids. When we were there was a lot of sea weed on some days. Don't expect the beach to be Miami beach style. The complex is surrounded by nature, there are a few trees on the beach. You can sit right close to the water on the lounge chairs available on the beach…. A few trees close to the water provide nice shade... The beach is fantastic for kids. Calm water and not deep. There are also canoes available, not sure if there is a charge for use. There are a few tables on the beach area and right close is the restaurant building which has a large area with tables, chairs and lounge chairs on the ground floor. You can have drinks there or eat (even bring your own food) or simply sit there to enjoy the breeze and the view. The bar/restaurant is located on the 2nd floor and has restrooms (clean !).
Although we didn't go there, the pool looked nice. We spent our time primarily on the beach as the kids liked it.
There is a nature trail as well.
If you own a boat this place is ideal as there is a marina, not large but looks nice. Can't comment much on that aspect of the complex. You are very close to the Harry Harris park and within +/ - 6 to 8 miles from the John Pennekamp park. For eating out you must drive.

The apartment :
The apartments are apparently privately owned. The one were we stayed was in building 4 (#4314) and it had great views of the ocean and a nearby key. Right in front is a nature trail. The apartment has 2bedroom - the master bedroom faces the ocean , has king bed and TV and small balcony. Great lighting in the room. The smaller bedroom has a double bed. Each bedroom with own bathroom. There is a kitchen and small living room with balcony. The kitchen was stocked with necessary kitchen utensils and appliances. There is a sofa bed in the living room. This apartment is large enough for 6 or 7 with child.
Overall it was clean and comfy. Great views and one can walk to pool and beach area. Only minor things like the kitchen cabinet doors seemed like they needed a coat of paint or to be cleaned thoroughly. The TV is big enough but I think it is old as the sound is not that great at certain volume, the blinds in the living room seem like they are falling apart as you close them. Nonetheless the rest the furniture looks fine and the minor points I mentioned were no big deal to us.
Free parking.
It was a nice stay for us, peaceful and enjoyable. We would stay there again.

  • Liked — comfort of the apartment
  • Disliked — the sea weed, but obviously out of control of the apartment complex !
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

Beautiful property, specifically the gardens. Well kept exterior and view of Atlantic keys good from Building #3. Room is large enough for two couples. Everything we tried functioned properly, and the accommodation was clean and quiet.. The property is not a hotel as many have pointed out, and as a result the furnishings may be dated and worn, as was the case in our unit- 3408. But, all in all, I would return. Staff good too.
Must have a car. Restaurants on US #1 are plentiful and good. Shopping for sea food was unexpectedly good at the nearby Winn Dixie, if you want to prepare your own meals.
Recommend nearby Penecamp State Park for glass bottom coral reef boat trip. Far beach a good place to swim afterwards.

Gary, Port Perry, Ontario

  • Liked — better than a motel
  • Disliked — dated furnishings
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.