We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aaaahhhh!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Save Saved
You added Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Tavernier
BRENTWOOD
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Aaaahhhh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our suite was very lovely, with a fantastic view of the water. The lanai was a bit small, altho you could still sit there. Overall, we enjoyed it and would have loved to stay longer. We had just a short walk to where the marina was located. There really isn't a beach to speak of, but we found the location to be very relaxing, hence the aaaahhh.

And don't forget to feed the feral cats which come out of the scrub brush......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    426
    230
    128
    89
See reviews for
510
369
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rouen, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Starting with the good things: the place is quiet, and the swimming pool is big and pleasant, with music and bar. You can forget the private beach, small and with jelly fish in the water.
BUT... the rooms are dark, with tiny terraces. So yes, you can prepare lunch or dinner in the room, but you will not eating overlooking the sea. I wonder what the architect was thinking about when he designed this place. To top it all, there is no charm at all, neither in the drab outside building design, nor in the interior design (our room had disgusting paintings of fish). You can also feel that the hotel culture is stingy: you have to pay for wifi, and the hotel will make a count of your beach towels to make sure you do not lose (steal?) any.
In conclusion, why go there at all?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tavernier hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We absolutely LOVED this place, we were looking for a wonderful and QUIET place to share with another couple and this was PERFECT. We reserved a 2BR Suite and it also had 2 bathrooms. It was clean, cozy, gorgeous and perfect location. Very pleasantly surprised! would DEFINITELY stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

About every other year, I need a getaway to the Florida Keys so I can re-connect to that unique way of life... it somehow puts the insanity of my day-to-day existence into some kind of perspective I can better process. And on many of these trips, I return to this very nice, but not chi-chi, condo complex. It sits well back off the road, with great views of the ocean, but not ON the ocean. There's a little marina and boat ramp, a great little clubhouse, pool and hot tub. Staff is always friendly, rooms well appointed, and the the little private sand beach and waterfront gazebo gives me all the amenities I require. Try it; I think you'll be very please.

Room Tip: I like the ocean-view rooms in building 3 the best, but I think all have great merit for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were there in February, 2013. We stayed in the building #5 near the maria and cafe (but all buildings of the complex are near marina and the ocean, no worries). The condo was just perfect! Nice, bright, fully equipped (we found even a monopoly game there and a beach chair!)
we were with a baby of 5 months - in our case everything was great! the dishwasher, washer, dryer, balcony, the possibility to set your own temperature in AC - everything was convenient.
The location of the complex is nice, too. There are chairs at the beach, a tennis court, couple places for outside BBQ. We found a big grocery store 5 min from the complex, and many nice restaurants nearby. The pool is clean, warm, and not very busy. The place is just really good, and we plan to return there.
One thing to keep in mind: mostly it is a place for families with kids, or for people older than 50, or for those who bring his own boat. I am afraid it would be a little bit boring for young single people.

Room Tip: All roomplans are the same, room equipment depends on the owner. We stay at the room 5022
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is the third time we've stayed here and we love it! The grounds are very well kept up and so are the hotels. It's very nice to have a place with a kitchen and washer and dryer. Every time we've been here its been a great experience!

Room Tip: There all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a condo-resort where the owners rent out unused periods. All units have a balcony, and full kitchen. I understand that units vary in decoration, but ours was quite nice. Room was just steps from the marina and the nice little beach. There are places to fish, a little restaurant, and a very large pool/jacuzzi with a brand new bar. Location is excellent at 92.5 and lots of places to dine in the area.

Room Tip: Pay a few extra dollars and get an oceanfront. The sunset is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. Thank you for your reference to our new pool concession/bar as well. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier
Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, Venere, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.