We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not family-friendly - needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Save Saved
You added Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Tavernier
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not family-friendly - needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Big complex of condo/hotel-style units with 1 or 2 bedrooms. Good sized space if you want to bring the family but beware - it's not child friendly. The hot tub is restricted to 16 years and over and the resident condo ladies patrol it like the world will end if your 10 year old joins you for a dip. Huge pool makes up for it and the restaurant is beautiful inside. Food is bland and not worth the price. Don't expect to walk many places from the resort. As I write this, I don't think i'd stay again. The beds are from 1990. Horrible beds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    417
    435
    249
    139
    101
See reviews for
570
397
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My firend bought this on living social so I was a little skeptical but the property was much larger than what it looks like online. The room we had was a big two bedroom apartment fully furnished. The pool area was clean and neat. Although the beach is small it is great...surrounded by mangroves. Small restaurant and bar on site. We only had breakfast but it was very good. It is a great location to start your trip to the keys...keep heading south each day and you can have a new adventure day trip...key west is about 90 minutes away.

Room Tip: Great for families, look at a map of the property to make certain you get a room in the area you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I'm so happy every time that I see the sunrise, hungry pelicans diving all day as a part of my view, or the beautiful frigates flying. The hotel is perfect! I read some of the JOKES in here and I can't believe that I'm in the same place. I been using OP for last 2 years and this place is the best on upper keys!. I feel home, clean apartments, very nice amenities, washer and dryer is A plus if you are diving or snorkeling.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just stayed here for 2 nights Jan 2013

Place is bigger than it looks in the photos - there are about 7 large blocks of buildings
Room was ok - really felt like renting an apartment rather than a hotel room - tins of paint in the wardrobe etc . Room was clean - defo needs a re vamp

We stayed with a baby - they charged us USD 7 per night plus &USD for a pack and play which is the same thing as a really cheap cot - they guy who delivered it would not even set it up for us - he must hate tips ! First time we have been charged for this in the US and we travel a good bit

I had never been to the keys before so was dissapointed with the area - not a lot in Key Largo unless you have a boat . It is the road to Key west with a few shops on the way .

The resort has security the gate which was good and it is about 1/2 mile to the main road - there was a tiny bar that we never saw anyone at.

Also - we got a deal with hotels.com that was supposed to give us a free gas voucher - I assumed it was from the hotel - they were quick to point out that it had nothing to do with them and that I would need to go back to hotels.com who gave me the run around and still have had no word . If they are going to get business from a promotion that hotels/expedia are going to do they need to take some type of responsibility

Wont be back as the area did not work for us - hotel was very average..

p.s - a lot of construction going on under one of the buildings - looks like it might last a while - we were up at 7am thanks to the baby - but watch out if you like a sleep in !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo. We take pride in our property and strive to exceed guest expectations. When we fall short we share your disappointment. On behalf of our staff please accept our sincerest apologies. We have brought your concerns to the attention of the appropriate department manager and assure you we will follow up with them in addressing all your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We recently spent a week at Ocean Pointe Suites. This is an older, owner owned condo complex that is showing its age. While it was nice having a two bedroom condo with kitchen when traveling with a family...our condo was dated and poorly stocked. A half roll of paper towels for the week. No dish washing detergent provided or other basic essentials. Beautiful view of the ocean, however, the patio barely fits one person on it. Not having free Wi-Fi was a negative too. The property does feature a lovely, beach area which is hard to find in the Keys. Our kids did enjoy the large pool, however, it not in a very scenic area of the property. Check in was a long process....the staff was nice and tried to accommodate the best they could. Overall, an acceptable place to stay...but if your looking for a resort feel and service this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Top floor, end units have more windows, some are bay windows providing nice views. Updated rooms pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Clean comfortable property but a time share not a hotel mindset. No daily housekeeping and no basic provisions like garbage bags or dishwasher detergent. One roll of paper towels for the week. Keep in mind that since these are individually owned, beds might differ, but our king bed was perfect! Walls are paper thin so bring ear plugs. Sweet little private beach. Perfect for young kids since it is shaded and sheltered from surf. Loved watching the pelicans fish!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We apologize as our property has mid week services, one cleaning per week of stay, although if you run out of any items we are more than happy to replenish them. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed three nights at the Ocean Point Suites over New Year's and was disappointed with our stay. These are individual condos that are rented so the quality and appearance of the rooms can vary quite a bit from the photos provided. We had requested a newly renovated room, but I think I should have asked them to qualify the meaning of "newly". It was sorely outdated and only 1 of the 3 burners of the stove in the unit worked, which made even basic meal preparation challenging (I called about this on our first night and was told they would send maintenance to check on it, but no one ever came). They do not provide maid services unless you stay for more than a week. I paid $14 for two days of wifi but could only get a connection in one corner of the bedroom, which really defeated the purpose. The few good things to note were the pool and tennis courts were well maintained on the property and our unit in building three had quite a nice view of the ocean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo. We take pride in our property and strive to exceed guest expectations. When we fall short we share your disappointment. On behalf of our staff please accept our sincerest apologies. We have brought your concerns to the attention of the appropriate department manager and assure you we will follow up with them in addressing all your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.