We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice place but needs some updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo to your Saves list
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 25% NOW!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
St. Thomas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value, nice place but needs some updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed at Ocean Pointe Suites with my family over Christmas for 3 nights. Overall, we were pleased with the accommodations. The 2-bedroom suite was a good size with 2 bathrooms, the view from building 3 was good, though the balcony was rather small and could only squeeze 2 people on it at a time. My mother spent most of her time at the small beach on the property which was also nice. On Christmas day, most of the restaurants in Key Largo were closed, so we ended up having breakfast at the cafe on the property. Because it was crowded, it took a long time to get served, but the food was good and the prices were good. The location of the property was also good, within convenient driving distance to stores, restaurants, and dive shops in Key Largo and Islamorada.

While the room was very clean and neat, my parents felt that it was "severely dated" and in need of upgrade. Also, the bedroom that my sister and I shared abutted the outside walkway, so we could hear whenever anybody walked by and it was very loud at night. We could also hear the people next door through the walls. Our room had 2 twin beds, so the room would not be convenient for 2 couples staying in one suite. I am not sure if some suites have queen or king beds in both bedrooms. An additional negative point is that there was no free wifi and it cost $7 a day per device for internet access. So if you stay here with multiple people who have their own laptops, expect to pay a lot of money for internet access. There is a computer in the lobby, but this is even more ridiculous, at $8 for each 15 minutes that you use the internet.

Overall, we felt our room at Ocean Pointe Suites was fine for the few nights we stayed there. However, if we were staying for a full week, we definitely would have wanted a renovated room.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room for more luxury. Building 3 had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    518
    302
    169
    115
See reviews for
657
488
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were trying to book our honeymoon here. The staff at the hotel REFUSED to honor our travel voucher that we paid for from Living Social and tried to tell us that it was only valid for a certain time. On the voucher, it states that the value we paid for DOES NOT EXPIRE and he still refused to even work with us on it. Obviously they have no concern for paying customers or for "deals" that they put online. Even after I read the voucher to him over the phone, the host, Tom, disagreed with me that I had read the correct one, and was very contradictory about any solution to our problem. After another call to Ocean Pointe Suites, we asked Sam if he would talk to Livingsocial to get their information right, but Sam told us WE can call to ask Livingsocial to fix their info. If you're looking for any hospitality, don't look at Ocean Pointe Suites. They obviously don't want your patronage.

Room Tip: don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Large clean rooms, one point of contention I requested the same room we had last year was told "will see what we can do" upon arrival I stated same request was told "couldnt guarantee, let me check" and after coming back stated entire building five was closed for construction. Now I understand that but I should have been told when booking that bldg five would not be available. Throughout the course of our stay we noticed several families in bulilding five not sure what was up with that. Will probably stay again and would recommend to anyone. Rooms are large and roomy, pretty good view of the ocean. Some improvement could be made to the bar/restaurant area as far as hours, choices and service could be a bit better. Room layout of lastyears room was a bit better too. Master bedroom opened to balcony as well as living room opened to balcony. Room this year has only one tiny, tiny balcony that was off of living room room for two small chairs and a tiny table.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view. Building five is best, four not too terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. Our rooms are not blocked in advance due to occupancy and arrivals and departures, so we can not guarantee a specific room number. We were anticipating a later date for the repairs of building five. As you know we are a condo hotel and have owners that reside here year round henceforth the families you noticed were owners. Otherwise the building was blocked as out of order for the times of the repair. The noise was intolerable and to better accommodate our guests we did not block any arrivals into building five. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The five buildings comprising this resort started being built in the early 90's. Each unit is privately owned, and therefore the managing company had little to say about decor. I had rented a two-bedroom unit in Bldg3 from December 10th through the 15th, 2012.
The grounds and the staff were top-notched and very clean, however the unit I rented was not updated since being built. And that was the only thing wrong I could find. It was clean, but well worn out.
There is a great swimming pool (outdoors) on the premisess, and there were not many people around, so to say I had the whole pool to my self for a week would be true. A nice, but small marina is attached as well as a well -lit boat ramp.
This is deefinitely going to be my place to go while in the Upper Keys.

Room Tip: I peekd into a few other rooms during y stay, and it is all owner dependent. Some were shabby and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Found this place online and was worried about it being so inexpensive. It was actually really nice. It's a condo development with numerous rentals. Our 2-bedroom overlooked the ocean and was nicely decorated, clean and better than expected. Suite was on the fourth floor, elevator and parking were well lit and conveniently located. Security guard gate was on duty during the day, but oddly enough, not in the evening and the gate was wide open when we returned from dinner. We would stay there again. Things they had that we didn't have time to use; pool, hot tub, beach, laundry in the condo, full kitchen and more. They also have Internet for a daily fee of about 7-dollars. So, bring your air card. No wifi here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We took a 6 days reservation to explore the Everglades and Key West as well. So we decided to rent at Ocean Pointe. The place was very easy to find and checkin was done within a few minutes. Our unit was on top floor and had a great ocean view. Everything was fine with the condo : clean, quiet, well equipped. It has a washer/dryer which is very convenient. The pool is nice and we had it almost to ourselves most of the times. The beach is tiny and the water brownish like it was at most of the keys beaches this week, so it was fun to be able to enjoy the pool. Fully recommend the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Two bedroom units with full kitchens a big plus. Absolutely stunning views to the Atlantic. Needed a little updating, but it looked like this was going in the building next door. Enjoyed the beach area and pier. Nice big heated pool with plenty of lounges. We loved the little cafe and thought the staff great especially Carlton. Whle it did not have a great variety of food it was great for a quick bite. Location is great as not too a drive from South Florida cities such as Miami and West Palm. Easy acess to fabulous restaurants in the area. One niggle is that I would have loved to have a big enough outside patio for a table and chairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor (4th is the top) and one recently updated..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.