We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay as usual” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Save Saved
You added Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Pickerington, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay as usual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Large clean rooms, one point of contention I requested the same room we had last year was told "will see what we can do" upon arrival I stated same request was told "couldnt guarantee, let me check" and after coming back stated entire building five was closed for construction. Now I understand that but I should have been told when booking that bldg five would not be available. Throughout the course of our stay we noticed several families in bulilding five not sure what was up with that. Will probably stay again and would recommend to anyone. Rooms are large and roomy, pretty good view of the ocean. Some improvement could be made to the bar/restaurant area as far as hours, choices and service could be a bit better. Room layout of lastyears room was a bit better too. Master bedroom opened to balcony as well as living room opened to balcony. Room this year has only one tiny, tiny balcony that was off of living room room for two small chairs and a tiny table.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view. Building five is best, four not too terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. Our rooms are not blocked in advance due to occupancy and arrivals and departures, so we can not guarantee a specific room number. We were anticipating a later date for the repairs of building five. As you know we are a condo hotel and have owners that reside here year round henceforth the families you noticed were owners. Otherwise the building was blocked as out of order for the times of the repair. The noise was intolerable and to better accommodate our guests we did not block any arrivals into building five. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    443
    251
    141
    103
See reviews for
583
401
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clyde, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The five buildings comprising this resort started being built in the early 90's. Each unit is privately owned, and therefore the managing company had little to say about decor. I had rented a two-bedroom unit in Bldg3 from December 10th through the 15th, 2012.
The grounds and the staff were top-notched and very clean, however the unit I rented was not updated since being built. And that was the only thing wrong I could find. It was clean, but well worn out.
There is a great swimming pool (outdoors) on the premisess, and there were not many people around, so to say I had the whole pool to my self for a week would be true. A nice, but small marina is attached as well as a well -lit boat ramp.
This is deefinitely going to be my place to go while in the Upper Keys.

Room Tip: I peekd into a few other rooms during y stay, and it is all owner dependent. Some were shabby and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Found this place online and was worried about it being so inexpensive. It was actually really nice. It's a condo development with numerous rentals. Our 2-bedroom overlooked the ocean and was nicely decorated, clean and better than expected. Suite was on the fourth floor, elevator and parking were well lit and conveniently located. Security guard gate was on duty during the day, but oddly enough, not in the evening and the gate was wide open when we returned from dinner. We would stay there again. Things they had that we didn't have time to use; pool, hot tub, beach, laundry in the condo, full kitchen and more. They also have Internet for a daily fee of about 7-dollars. So, bring your air card. No wifi here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We took a 6 days reservation to explore the Everglades and Key West as well. So we decided to rent at Ocean Pointe. The place was very easy to find and checkin was done within a few minutes. Our unit was on top floor and had a great ocean view. Everything was fine with the condo : clean, quiet, well equipped. It has a washer/dryer which is very convenient. The pool is nice and we had it almost to ourselves most of the times. The beach is tiny and the water brownish like it was at most of the keys beaches this week, so it was fun to be able to enjoy the pool. Fully recommend the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Two bedroom units with full kitchens a big plus. Absolutely stunning views to the Atlantic. Needed a little updating, but it looked like this was going in the building next door. Enjoyed the beach area and pier. Nice big heated pool with plenty of lounges. We loved the little cafe and thought the staff great especially Carlton. Whle it did not have a great variety of food it was great for a quick bite. Location is great as not too a drive from South Florida cities such as Miami and West Palm. Easy acess to fabulous restaurants in the area. One niggle is that I would have loved to have a big enough outside patio for a table and chairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor (4th is the top) and one recently updated..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Mills, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Nice but not anything exceptional! Supposed to have gotten a king size bedroom but I believe it was a queen. Balcony extremely small but overall a quiet and relaxing place to stay. We stayed in Building #3 but if I stayed again I would probably ask for Building #5 overlooking a small beach area. Room was nice but had an issue with the garbage disposal. Kitchen is not overly stocked with necessities so you might want to take some things from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel offers large condos with fully equiped kitchen and all the amenities you may need in your 1 bedroom unit. However, there is no cleaning service if you stay less than a full week. The location is excellent if you are there for diving or fishing. Florida Keys Dive Center is just a few minutes by car and offer a discount to the hotel passengers. There are many other dive operators close by to choose among. The hotel has a small bar/cafe that offer simple meals too, though I did not try it as we made all our meals at the condo. There is a big Winn-Dixie supermarket close by to buy all you may need for your stay. The hotel has a small beach and a marina for fishing boats. There is also a big swimming pool and tenis court. All in all, it was a good place to stay though a bit on the expensive side. You can reach Key West in about an hour drive from there.

Room Tip: There ocean view rooms are quite far away from shore and there are mangroves in between. try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.