We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo to your Saves list
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This address didn't display on our GPS and we were arriving quite late. When I called at a late hour for directions, no one answered the main phone despite being told the front desk was open 24 hrs. We stopped at a local grocery store whose personnel told us to look for the mile marker listed on our reservation ("MM"), which helped immensely. When we arrived, the clerk said she was watching the basketball playoffs, which explains why no one answered the phone. This location is quiet and a little out of the way. It is clean but a little worn looking. For the price, we hoped for more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pattit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo. We take pride in our property and strive to exceed guest expectations. When we fall short we share your disappointment. On behalf of our staff please accept our sincerest apologies. We have brought your concerns to the attention of the appropriate department manager and assure you we will follow up with them in addressing all your concerns. Please check your messages for further correspondence. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

not a bad little spot for overnight-accommodating and perfect location. Room was clean and service was good. Quiet and layed back. If you are traveling with children or alone it has the best of both worlds.Would do over.

Room Tip: Take the suite-its roomy and it has a home away from home feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chichilliamonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
352 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Half an hour south of Mainland Florida on the Overseas Highway is the wildest part of the Florida Keys. As you drive further south it becomes more built up until you reach the party city of Key West. If restaurants, bars and general weirdness is your thing drive all the way to Key West. But if you want nature and quiet and the Keys as they were 100 years ago, try Ocean Pointe, at Tavernier, Key Largo in the Upper Keys. This is a large condo property with rentals. There is nice landscaping, a good pool, boating facilities, fishing dock and a man made sandy beach. Just north and south is the traditional Mangrove Habitat. The units are older but well maintained and very clean. They have both one and two bedroom units available and ground floor to fourth floor. The kitchens are well equipped with full size fridge and stove and all the dishes you need to cook for the family. Grocery stores and limited shopping is very nearby and all the things you could imagine are just twenty minutes south on Islamorada. There is a great store called Sandal Outlet/T Shirt Outlet that has good prices and a great selection. Explore the local flora and fauna. Feed Tarpon. Swim with Dolphins. Try world class fishing or snorkeling. Eat at the Cracked Conch restaurant. Or just bring a book and relax at the resort. If you're interested in the Keys but not necessarily the continuous party of Key West, try Ocean Pointe.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms have the best view of the Mangrove Habitat and Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfarlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was there for a couple nights the price was ok i would of liked it to be a little bit more for what i paid for i guess thats how the keys are, the room i stayed it was clean, i would of liked it to be more updated... customer service was great the front desk was very nice the houskeeping supervisor fànteni was very atentive to my needs... I would very well reserve their again just based on service and location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosely3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

For a family with kids, it's perfect. You have access to grocery stores, shopping and adventure for all ages. The condo was spacious and clean. It was home away from home. Pool for the kids and fishing for the husbands.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aharchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horton, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here as part of a Spirit Package purchase. The resort does not look at all like the pictures. I had to upgrade to a 2 bedroom unit to get a king size bed but they discounted the upgrade for us. The condo was "worn". Baseboards scuffed, dirty and marked, doors crooked, screen doors that wouldn't slide, blinds that were crooked and wouldn't close, carpet that is unraveled and tiles that were stained. Mirrors on the walls in the main room chiped. Overall just run down. A little investment could turn it into a nice condo but as it is it reminded me of a 1970's condo with no upkeep. The first impression was to run away but we stayed as it was prepaid and din't have any other choice. Not something I would return to. We stayed in room 4406.

The pool was very nice, clean and plenty of lounge chairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjkennedy079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo. We take pride in our property and strive to exceed guest expectations. When we fall short we share your disappointment. On behalf of our staff please accept our sincerest apologies. We care about your observations and have brought your concerns to the attention of the appropriate department managers. Our website states on the pictures and in the accommodations "individually styled" or "individually styled suites". We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tavernier hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Roach in room checked out early. T Ward Cincinnati, Ohio the location was hard to find after dark.i I drove around on the property fo twenty minutes trying to find the office to check in.the person that checked me in was very nice and the guy that checked me out a day early was nice also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlin D, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#4 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,579 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#2 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 17 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,163 reviews
2.3 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#3 of 4 in Tavernier
3.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
12.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing